Posting your rating...
Montanya Oro Dark rum

Montanya Oro Dark

United States | Gold

Montanya Oro Dark rum, a version of the base used in their Platino rum that’s aged for one year in American white oak barrels that previously only held Colorado whiskey. A small amount of caramelized Colorado wildflower honey is added before it’s bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.1/10 (14 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
3
2
2
1

Rate Montanya Oro Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Montanya Oro Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Yuichiro Shimura from Japan with 5 ratings

Tastes like young whiskey. Not bad if you do not expect aged smoothness.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Rick The Rum Runner from United States with 34 ratings

Immediately upon pulling the cork - the butterscotch is wafting up from the glass. A much more pronounced vanilla is in the air. The initial taste, vanilla for sure, a sweetness that lasts longer. Almost a honey flavor that marries with the smokiness of the Oak. This is a real sipping rum, although I can think of one or two drinks that would benefit from it as a mixer. This is not going to last long behind my bar.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

What is fascinating with this rum is that the production in Colorado which location definitely does not favour rum production.

The rum tasted of burnt charcoal and liquorice ...barrel notes due to the year but still felt like it was lacking any real depth ...

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Decent but grossly overpriced vs alteratives. Fairly balanced, not too sweet and worth a try with a cube or 2.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Bought a bottle of Montanya Oro while vacationing in San Diego. Fairly plain and cheap looking bottle and label design. Light golden color. Strong alcohol mixed with plenty of vanilla, butterscotch and oak to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Not the best artisanal rums hailing from the US.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by James Worthington from United States with 6 ratings

Recently saw that this took a medal at SF World Spirits so bought a bottle. It is not sweet, which I love. Aged 12 months with no sugar caramel to sweeten, so surprisingly smooth and complex. Love the finish of spice. All around a great American rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Hawkeye821 from United States with 17 ratings

Had a bottle and it went very fast!! Loved it and found myself getting lost in the moment while drinking. My bottle looked different so I might have had a different blend. I will be buying another bottle soon and will upload some pics.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

This rum is very interesting! (And also somewhat polarizing, based on the ratings.)

It starts with a very unusual nose. Immediately spicy, but not at all like a "spiced" rum. I really struggle to describe it... mountain spices (?), pine, red pepper, juniper. Woody despite its young age (new oak?), and slightly funky thanks to the pot-still production. All in all, very complex, with a flavor to match. Slightly bitter finish. Did I mention the spice?

Super interesting, and not at all unpleasant. This would be a fun one to share with friends. If you had access to other American craft rums (which I think tend to be on the young, oaky, and expensive side), this would be a fantastic addition to a side-by-side comparison. I have no idea how much this bottle goes for, but I think this would be very interesting to mix with, if you're one to craft your own cocktails.

As a side-note, while I was tasting this and remarking on how unusual I thought it was, there happened to be a fellow next to me who had tasted over 700 rums. Despite this great number, he remembered Montanya Oro; it's among the relatively few that left an impression. It may not be super premium, but it's certainly a stand-out.

7+ on its own, but because it's so interesting, and Montanya is really blazing their own trail, I'm upping my rating to an 8- :)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

I tried to keep an open mind for a rum from the Rockies, but like another reviewer, this one tasted like dirt to me.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kim from United States with 10 ratings

Did not pick up on a lot of flavors. Visited the restaurant and had a few cocktails. Interesting still and really nice staff.