Posting your rating...
Kaniche Perfeccion rum

Kaniche Perfeccion

Barbados | Aged

8.1/10 (46 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
3
13
20
4

Rate Kaniche Perfeccion

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


46 Kaniche Perfeccion ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This is like a deeper, richer, dryer version of the Kaniche XO, which I already thought was a great rum. Everything seems to have been tweaked just a bit in all the right ways leaving you with this absolutely masterful tropical cocktail-in-a-bottle!
Nose- That typical Kaniche core of tropical fruit (pineapple, dried mango), christmas spice and coconut. The usual molasses is replaced with a burnt toffee, giving off a darker vibe that plays nicely with the over all medicinal-ness of the nose. Definitely dryer than other Kaniche's, but still with an underlying sweetness.
Palette- This rum has all kinds of wonderful things that you never thought would go together! Coconut, orange zest, olive brine and aloe, with huge hits of christmas spice and molasses! There is a definite sweetness here, so if you think added sugars are the work of the devil, you may be upset. Then again, if you're that much of a purist, hopefully you can appreciate the rest of the quality in this work of art enough that you can look past that. The flavors all play together seamlessly and then just seem to go on and on, making it difficult to tell where the palette ends and the finish begins!
Finish- All of those great flavors from before slowly morph into even more tropical, rummy goodness, bringing out mango (tommy) peel, more baking spice, and a nice, sweet campfire smoke. The finish then sticks around for minutes, carrying a nice thick texture.
To top it all off, this rum is smooth as, without even a hint of a burn as it goes down. Though that said, it does bring that delightful warming sensation to your entire upper body.
This is just EXCELLENT rum!! I honestly cannot think of a single thing I would change. Thank you, and good on you Maison Ferrand. Good on you.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 198 ratings

Sugar: est 20 - 22 GPL. Similar to the Kaniche XO, but this version is a little smoother, just a touch less sweet, and the coconut flavour is toned down a bit.
It also has a bit more of the cognac and orange-pineapple-mango flavours in the mixture. Good balance of oak and spice as well. I would rate this one a half point above the Kaniche XO.

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 2 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 22 ratings

Smooth delicious rum. My experience left me with a pleasant numbing and tingling sensation on my tongue. Low and sustained warmth on the back of the throat as a finish. Very enjoyable! Highly recommend!!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 20 ratings

Amazingly Good! Haven't tried too many but this one is excellent.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

Ok this is an odd one for sure. The nose is almost non-existent except for a strong alcohol and pine scent. I was worried this was going to be a major disappointment despite the glowing reviews as the nose is just non-existent....then I took my first sip...and wow oh wow! An explosion of flavors hit my palate with the force of hurricane: candy, gingerbread, vanilla, butterscotch, toffee, nutmeg and more - all at gale force. I am still trying to decipher it. It is both powerful and delightful and absolutely not what I expected given the total lack of fragrance/nose on this rum. Actually this may need a little watering down because the flavors are almost too intense, so grab some ice cubes and let it mellow. Still...man...that flavor explosion is like no other rum I have sipped. I like just a touch more subtlety to my rums and that is the only thing keeping this from a 9. Still it is a solid 8 experience at least.

*Update* So coming back to this and having had more experience with it, it is a very good rum, and absolutely superb for mixing, but as a sipping rum it has lost its luster. Maybe it doesn't keep as well as others, or something, but the flavors get muddled. All those flavors I experienced when I opened it started to run together in a way that none of them stick out and thus the experience is monotonous. This doesn't occur with my other rums, except maybe Diplomatico RE so, I have to downgrade the rating on this a bit.

Nose: 5
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 8
Versatility: 9
Price: 8

Total: 7.6

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

How did a distillery make a rum this good at this price point? Drinking this rum is like feeling the wee baby Jesus tap-dancing down my throat. I put this up there with Plantation 20 and Zacapa XO.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I wasn't expecting to like this rum as much as I do because of the low price of only $39.99 (Total Wines & More 2017) and because I'm usually not a big fan of bourbon aged rums. However this also has cognac aging, which I find works better with rum than bourbon or just bourbon alone.

Smells and tastes of molasses, spice, cognac, oak, and bourbon. Nicely sweet for a bourbon aged rum.

I like this more than many more expensive rums I've tried. I give it a 9 and highly recommend it for the money! My score does NOT factor in the price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by IMtz from United States with 1 rating

This rum is amazing. Sweet aroma, Tropical fruit and spicy flavor. I had it on the rocks, but think this would go amazingly with ice made of coconut milk (what can I say, I’m Puerto Rican and love tropical fruit! 🇵🇷)

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by CigStone from United States with 3 ratings

Smooth & easy. Beautifully aged. Amazing bang for buck at $40. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 347 ratings

I chose this Panamanian Kaniche over it's younger brothers from Barbados as my first one from them. It is a decent rum, but it just does not belong up there with my favorites due to it's excessive sweetness. I flunked tasting notes, so don't ask me about that. It is best used to reduce the smokiness in rums such as Zacapa Edicion Negra. In this case, two wrongs make a right.