Posting your rating...
Mocambo 20 Art Edition rum

Rate Mocambo 20 Art Edition

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


43 Mocambo 20 Art Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

I won't spend much time describing it, had a glass 2 days ago, and will never try it again...The beautiful and original bottle will look forever great on my shelf ! The taste I m trying my best to gorget about it. Nothing worked to rince it's aweful taste. Even coke tasted bitter...
The nose in the other hand was quite pleasant, sweet and without any alcohol smell....

Posted 14 days ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

To much of alcoholtaste in it. Smells disharmony...

Posted about 2 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 35 ratings

Sherry and coffee notes, not to sweet...
Smells like raisins.
But, on the weak side for a 20 yrs old rum...

Posted 8 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 250 ratings

Aroma nice with wood and raisins. Taste is drier with dates and earth. Aftertase is shorter with strange tones. Interesting to taste, but not to buy bottle.

Posted 9 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

I know Mexico is known for their Tequilas but I had to try at least one Rum produced by that country and I chose the Mocambo 20 yr Rum. Having read the reviews I kept an open mind and my first impression of this spirit was the beautiful dark colour of the spirit, followed by aromas of coffee, dark chocolate and tobacco. On my first sip the cinnamon flavour came through along with those previously mentioned and my first sample left me wondering whether I liked it or not. The more I sipped on it the more I acclimatized to the unusual flavours. This is not my typical rum but it nevertheless surprised me and the unique taste adds to my rum collection. better than I expected. Not a rum I would drink on a daily basis but a nice change from usual flavours.

Posted 12 months ago by xaveir from United States with 3 ratings

Fun bottle with a good story, but also a rich natural bourbon barrel flavor and soft mouthfeel and caramel in the nose.

Posted about 1 year ago by Aaron from United States with 6 ratings

I want to like this rum, but honestly there is nothing special about it. There are cheaper rums with more complexity to be had at a better price.

Posted about 2 years ago by Raquel from Mexico with 2 ratings

Vision
Dark amber, intense colour, with hints of red.
Rich syrupy legs.
Attractive colour.
Perfectly clean.

Olfaction
Intense and complex nose.
Nuts, caramel, dried fruits, chocolate and vanilla.
Expressive nose, well integrated alcohol and good quality of aromas.
Strong and very sugar concentration

Taste
Syrupy body with a dry minerality and a winey layer.
Powerful on palate yet elegant and dry.
Flavour reflects the nose.
Refined and well-balanced flavours, alcohol is not aggressive.

Posted about 2 years ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Don't spit it as soon as you taste it, it gets better...bitter, smoky, nasty rum...but just don't expect something extraordinery..

Posted about 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 167 ratings

Vuně velmi sladka po ochutnaní velmi řízný, lehce hrejivy. Chut dobra, ale dlouho stoji na jazyku. Chut po vinu zustava na patře.. určitě zvláštní

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Dunkles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase dominierende Holztöne mit Karamell als Begleiter.
Im Gaumen bleibt das Holz dominant, gefolgt von einem alten Karamell.
Im Abgang scharf mit einem süssen Karamell.
Ein Mexikaner der erlebt werden will. Eher für Fortgeschrittene.

Dark amber in the glass.
In the nose dominant wood tones with caramel as a companion.
On the palate, the wood remains dominant, followed by an old caramel.
In the finish sharp with a sweet caramel.
A Mexican who wants to be experienced. Rather for advanced.

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a pretty good rum from Mexico. Like most Mexican rums I've tried, this has a lot of added... 'character'.

Smells and tastes of heavy oak, leather, tobacco, coffee, dark chocolate, nougat, figs, pepper, cinnamon, and brown sugar. It's got a lot going on and is quite nice. It doesn't have a traditional rum flavor, though it's a great example of what I've come to expect from Mexican rum. Definitely worth a try!

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from United States with 25 ratings

Much better than I expected, still not amazing but it was a good buy for the price

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I have tasted over 700 aged rums over the past 15 years and I know the Mexicans can produce some amazing tequila's, but this supposedly 20 year rum tastes horrific, leaves a very bad afterburn and you will reek tobacco leaves and stale coffee for the rest of the day. You can't even mix this with Coke, it's that bad. The bottle looks artsy, but the liquid inside is pure rat poison.

The top 10 worst rums I have ever tried:
1. Barbancourt 4y / 8y / 15y
2. Bounty Dark Rum from Fiji
3. Stroh 40 / 80
4. Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy
5. Villa Rica 23y
6. Mocambo 15y / 20y
7. Captain Morgan different variations
8. Don Papa 10y / 15y
9. Bacardi flavored "rums", all of them
10. Kraken rums

Posted almost 3 years ago by Moberg from Germany with 8 ratings

I am into A.H. Riise, but sometimes I need a different taste to realize where home is....
I tried Mocambo 20 years after reading the Ratings. Smooth at the beginning, dark chocolate and cinnamon on the finish. A tiny bit of pepper perhaps. very interesting.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I love the bottle presentation and the fact that no two bottles are alike, similar to Wild Tiger Special Reserve rum from India. A single cask rum similar to its younger 15 year old sibling. Some bitterness and dryness coming from the leather, cigar leave, and woody taste. The taste is somewhat bitter and tastes like dried fruit. Would do well in a Cuba Libre or other mixed drinks.

Posted about 3 years ago by William from Canada with 8 ratings

Bon rhum provenant directement du Mexique et qui réchauffe encore la gorge malgré une soirée bien arrosée.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

Vista: Caramelo oscuro, ámbar
Olfato: Dulce con una gran intensidad de frutas secas, uva, cereza y ciruela, agradable presencia de notas de vainilla, madera húmeda, nuez y moka. Toque de caramelo
Gusto: Uva, ciruela, nuez con un toque de chocolate y café.
Final: Largo y sedoso con un toque de caramelo y ligeramente amargo

Posted over 3 years ago by Andypandy from Norway with 30 ratings

The bottle is amazing, but sadly the rum inside is not to my liking at all. I only sampled this once in a bottle shop, though.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Seems more a cachaca than a rum. Nice bottle, but disappointing flavor for the price.  Have it as a 4.5 on my chart.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Always wary when they make a fancy bottle. Middle of the road IMO. A bit of spice at the start.

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick from Canada with 30 ratings

This Rum is very nice smooth like a good scotch no after bite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar est. 5 -10 GPL
This rum has a great aroma in the glass. Vanilla, Caramel, Wood, and raisins or perhaps Port are the predominant aromas detected. In regards to taste this rum starts off very smooth and semi sweet at first, but has a harsh aftertaste that I would compare to burnt sugar or molasses mixed with old coffee and whiskey. Great start, but a disappointing finish leading towards a heartburn.
The bottle is a unique package and looks good on the shelf but that's not enough for me to buy a second bottle. but for me this rum is a mixer and not for sipping neat.

Posted over 3 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Průměrný rum, který není ničím zajímavý. Není špatný, ale to je od rumu za tu cenu málo.




#