Posting your rating...
English Harbour Sherry Cask Finish rum

English Harbour Sherry Cask Finish

Antigua and Barbuda | Aged

7.1/10 (8 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
2

Rate English Harbour Sherry Cask Finish

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


8 English Harbour Sherry Cask Finish ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

This has good sherry flavor however, it is familiar to us in spanish style rums.
So for me, Port Cask Finish feels better.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

46% ABV. Aging: 5 years ex-bourbon followed by 6 months ex-sherry; I think the rep said 18% of it is actually the 10-year-old.

The flavor is full, robust, and full of sherry sweetness. It's the sweetest (and richest) of the 3 cask-finish offerings from EH, especially on the nose. Unfortunately, I'm not a big sherry guy, and I prefer a somewhat dryer style.

These finishes are interesting, but rather overpriced IMO.

8-

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 195 ratings

Sugar 4-5 GPL. This rum has a sherry look and taste to it, but it's really strong on the alcohol taste. For me the high alcohol content dominates the taste profile. I think if this was blended down to the 40% ABV range it would be a better tasting rum. Raisins, Sherry, and oak mixed with alcohol is how I see this one. Worth trying at $40 Canadian. You need ice for this one if you are drinking it straight. I think it would be a great rum in drinks calling for overproof rums. Yes, that's the ticket.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

Got a bottle from 2017 in 2020.
I think this sold not very good. But let's see.
First there is this strong sherry nose with red fruits and the gum flavour. It reminds me immediately of Quorhum 30 or in general of Oliver and Oliver rums. The gum is not that strong like in Quorhum 30, because it's much younger. But for just 5 years this is a damn good nose, very intensive.
Afer 10min the gum got weaker in the nose.

The taste is somewhat watery. This is of course not a Quorhum (but I think that's because we have no sugar inside). Overall not a bad taste but I'm disappointed because of the great nose. That's why I rate it with a 7. I would prefer Quorhum 21 for the same price.
If you like sherry finish and less sweetness you can buy it blind.

Nose: Sherry ***, red fruits ** and dry fruits *, gum ** and wet barrel/earth *, caramel *, banana *
Taste initial: Watery, sherry **, gum *,
Taste middle: red fruits,
Finish: almost no spice * at 46% (that's interesting), bitterness **, wet old barrel/earth, sherry
Aftertaste: red fruits (typical sherry finish)

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value for money (30€): 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

From Antigua, Medium light color, 40% alcohol, very nice aroma, aged in oaken casks, was distilled in copper stills. Pretty nice flavor. In about the $30 range in the store. Not bad for the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 163 ratings

English Harbour have never disappointed me. Bought me this during a vacation in Antigua, have one from batch 001 since before without have tasting it.
I also got the opportunity to get a guided tour at the distillery (ADL) and the “ageing house”, which was great.
Tested it the first time during my vacation at a local restaurant down in Falmouth Harbour, and thought it was great. Then I thought that the nose was great, but now when tested all three I’ve changed it to medium, cause the nose of the Port is fantastic.
But nevertheless this is a great rum that’s very complex and has a great afterburn.
Picture: My English Harbour shelf.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by max from Canada with 27 ratings

English Harbour small batch cask finish (sherry cask)
Origine : Antigua
46%
750ml
Nez : Toasté sur le pain grillé et le bois brûlé, après avoir laissé reposé pendant 30min on peut sentir un petit côté Bajan
Bouche : goût typique de rhum english Harbour 5 ans avec un goût de sherry sur les fruits cuits et fruits sec avec des tannins vers la fin de la gorgé.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 142 ratings

This is a small batch artisan rum not listed on their website at 46% abv (or 80 proof ? On pkg). From the LCBO there is another sticker stating 47.5% apv, confusing. It has unique reddish colour and a wonderful sherry smell with notes of fruit but strong alcohol blast. This is a 5 year oak aged rum aged for another 2 months in oloroso sherry casks. Being a non cold filtered rum ,mine had sediment and my best friend said that it even tasted waxy after adding ice. For only $40can this is a must try for rum collectors