Posting your rating...
Mocambo Single Barrel 15-Year rum

Rate Mocambo Single Barrel 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Mocambo Single Barrel 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This is too smoky for a rum, heavy flavours of rum that smash the palate to pieces. For some this will be amazing however for myself it's average and too harsh after burn. Would I drink a small sample of this yes, would I but a whole bottle, god no as probably would feel like smoking 1000 cigars

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar 0-5 GPL.
As with the big brother 20 year old version, this has a great aroma. That's where the great ends and the not so great takes over. I found that as far as the taste, it has too much wood and burnt sugar. Those tastes dominate the palate and you are left with a strong after burn that reminds me of cheap bar rum. Maybe I got a bottle from a bad barrel, but I don't think so.
Mix only.

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Looks fantastic but has a strange aftertaste and is a little underwhelming

See full review at

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Posted 10 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

i found this rum over all pleasing. it's appearance suggest a strong rum, lot's of barrel or smoke maybe? but truly it's pretty mild. i found the initial palate to be nice. at first i thought it was cloying but a little water (melted ice) took care of that and let the burnt marshmallow of toasted sugar through. i honestly am enjoying this bottle. i might try the 20 year.... it could be great. it's not. but it sure as heck isn't terrible either.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

I tyried Mocambo 15 year and anejo solela 6 years same time.
6 year is better than 15 year.
This 15 year has too dry and too much wood(cask ?) flavor.It was like a oak cask juice.

Posted over 1 year ago by John Poulsen from Denmark with 15 ratings

Da jeg kun har smagt denne rom et par gange vil jeg ikke skrive så meget om den endnu men ved første møde var den super lækker men anden gang var jeg bestemt ikke begejstret

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 50 ratings

Forgot about the taste, so should try it again, but sure didnt make any impression

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. Big, caramel-y nose. A bit like a sugary sweet demerara. Very weak on the palate. Tastes of artificial watermelon, a la Jolly Rancher. Cloyingly sweet, when somehow I was expecting smoky. Thick mouthfeel. The finish is long, if sticky. Warms the throat. Further sips taste a little better. A better taster could tease out more flavors.

Boy was this a disappointment. For some reason I'd expected something more akin to a Havana Club. It's not terrible, just a waste of long aging, which always makes me sad. Also, 40%. A good introductory spirit, perhaps?

6

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

Duft ok
Sprittet
Dårlig smag
Ok eftersmag
Ikke lige mig

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I tried the Mocambo 15y and 20y back-to-back and they are both as hideous as one can imagine. The 15y tastes horrific, leaves a nasty afterburn and you will reek tobacco and stale coffee for the rest of the day. You can't even mix the 15y with Coke, it's that bad.

The top 10 worst rums I have ever tried:
1. Barbancourt 4y / 8y / 15y
2. Bounty Dark Rum from Fiji
3. Stroh 40 / 80
4. Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy
5. Villa Rica 23y
6. Mocambo 15y / 20y
7. Captain Morgan different variations
8. Don Papa 10y / 15y
9. Bacardi flavored "rums", all of them
10. Kraken rums

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This rum is an unblended, single barrel aged rum in European white oak barrels. Dark rum aged for 15 years, this rum provides some smokiness, vanilla, spice, leather and tobacco notes with some heat. Nice rum for mixing or sipping neat if you like sweet rich flavored rums with an eloquent balance of flavor and intensity.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 43 ratings

What would you expect from the land of the Tequila. sweet to the taste but not comparable to other 15yr old. Strong brown sugar taste

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Mexiko
Číslo sudu,lahve: Sud číslo 1551, lahev č.059
Aroma: Typicky rumová, hutná, koženě medová. Voní hodně sladce, s nádechem exotického koření a čokolády. (87 b)
Chuť: V chuti suchý, hořká čokoláda, koření a dřevo. Dochuť kořenitě dřevitá, hodně suchá. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno na vydařené rumové degustaci u josého v Hořicích, což byla neformální akcička domluvená na Whiskyfestivalu. Toto byl první panák ochutnávky, pro mě i první setkání s rumem z Mexika.

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Very nice rum.