Posting your rating...
Single Cane Estate Worthy Park rum

Single Cane Estate Worthy Park

Puerto Rico | Aged

4.6/10
22 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
10
2
1
1

Rate Single Cane Estate Worthy Park

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

22 Single Cane Estate Worthy Park ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

This caught my eye in the Airport duty free shop. Am a fan of what Worthy Park are doing and costing around 30 Euros for 1 litre bottle thought pretty good value.

A bit of googling found that in 2015 Bacardi launched a collection of premium aged rums known as Single Cane Estate Rums. Currently there are 2 rums in this collection with each is crafted entirely at a single source. This one is from Jamaica's Worthy Park Estate in St. Catherine.

From Bacardi "As the world leader in rum, Bacardi has a unique ability to drive rum category premiumisation, the credibility to deliver new perceptions of the rum experience, and the insight and innovation to create new categories within rum."

To me clearly marketing tosh and it's more like Bacardi wants a slice of the independent bottling markets pie.

Worthy Park has a long history. Established in 1670 with commercial production of cane & sugar starting in 1720 Forced to cease rum production by the Jamaican government in 1962 due to an oversupply of Jamaican rum. In 2005 Rum production started again distilling in the traditional Jamaican Pot Still method. Worthy Park has been released by independent bottlers but they sell using their own label "Rum-Bar" .

Bacardi's version of Worthy Park comes in a nice modern presented bottle with embossed lettering. Aged between 2-5 years in white oak casks. Bottled at 40% abv. Color is a dull dark amber (added colouring). Recogniseable Worthy Park Jamaican funk aroma. Taste quiet oaky and a spicy kick with a dry finish. I can't really make out the subtle notes that I have experienced from other Worthy Park releases. Everything appears to be muted. Like listening to music with earplugs in.

To me this is a “dumb” down version of Worthy Park. It’s a decent rum and good value for money especially if you want to get into a Jamaican style rum. Knowing what Worthy Park themselves put on the market and what other independent bottlers are doing with Worthy Parks liquid I”m just a bit disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

40% ABV.

Ok, ok. I, fortunately, was not duped by the sneaky faux-premium branding. And while I tend to avoid Bacardi at all costs, I do love me some WP, so I was still interested in trying it out.

And you know what? It's not half bad! It's nowhere near the best WP has to offer—it's been over-diluted and over-sweetened—but it's still pretty darn tasty. I've said it before and I'll say it again: Worthy Park don't make no bad rum. I may not love all of it, but it's all solid. And if you have your heart set on bringing home a hard-to-find bottle from the Duty Free, there's a very good chance this will be the best you can do. You might pay more than it's worth (ok, you're likely to get hosed unless it's on sale), but again, it's really not as bad as everyone says it is. If other, non-Bacardi WPs are available to you, then by all means, get those instead. If not, this is a great one to start with and enjoy however you want.

7+

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tivadar from Hungary with 5 ratings

Terrible drink, don't call it rum, because there's nothing like it ...
Adhesive scent, tart flavor ...
Choose any other rum;)

Small 20190918 162911

Posted 6 days ago by RanDanTBC (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Recently started drinking rums, and this was my first one...maybe my taste has developed since but I really enjoyed this, which you can't seem to get anymore. I like a sweeter rum so maybe suits my taste and this got me started.

Small 9bc0c73d 0d6c 46c0 a6a6 e4d6ef43c27e

Posted 25 days ago by Corneliusl from Norway with 17 ratings

This tasted like paint remover. I tried this on a drunken night tasting other low rated rums, so don’t take my words for law.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 424 ratings

Imagine good typical jamaican 60% ester rum. Now mix it with water down on 40% and add some sugar to make it more "rum newbies" friendly....

Aroma is not bad, with some sters and funky jamaica style. Taste is schizophrenic sweet, bitter, fruity. Ending in not pleasant short ester aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by layolayo from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Colour is good, smell is acrid like fuel, and the taste is bloody awful - cannot even reasonably cover it up with coke

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Brad from United States with 27 ratings

Bought a bottle in the duty free shop in Grand Turk. Had heard much about Worthy Park but hadn't tried any. To say the least, was a bit disappointed. The aroma gave hints of greatness, but they disappeared when I tasted it. Lots of burn and a very off putting astringent alcohol taste. Second taste was a bit better, but still rough around the edges. This one will go up for mixer duty and we'll see if it does a bit better.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by toonstormm from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Bough from duty free at the airport without research and though i had a bargain. Landed with a litre bottle to mix was the reality. It’s ok but that’s it. Not to be repeated as was pricey for what it was. Lots of packaging to justify.

Small img 4981

Posted 11 months ago by sergiulescu from Romania with 9 ratings

Really cheap taste, no flavour and with an aftertaste of whisky...it's jus bad!