Posting your rating...
Gustoso Aguardiente rum

Gustoso Aguardiente

Mexico | Agricole

6.7/10
8 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
1
1

Rate Gustoso Aguardiente

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 Gustoso Aguardiente ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by CSG from United States with 32 ratings

This is my first high ester rum and it’s not like anything I’ve tried before. The funk is very strong, and it also exhibits subtle characteristics of traditional molasses rum, some oak, and some dryer sugar cane style. It was like a party in my mouth with popping complexity, but it went down heavily. Definitely only a sipper, just difficult to have a lot in one sitting, and doesn’t pair well with anything besides itself.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Had to have this as a daiquiri. It is very hot doing it neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by williamsprokkereef from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Gustoso has two rums. One being the white rum, which this rating is about. A nice rum, but unfortunately not so good as the Gustoso rum which is dark and is very close to the Don Papa rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Rum tasting in Amsterdam continued with Gustoso Aguardiente. Nice old school bottle and label design. Light golden color. Strong grassy and floral notes mixed with caramel to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong but sweet burn at the end. Unique Rhum Agricole styled Rum hailing from Mexico.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Very unbridled flavours here. Spicy notes on the nose and instantly wash the tongue accenting deep banana flavours. Bold, raw taste. Phenomenal flavour. Doesn't try to overdo itself. Love it

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bob from United States with 1 rating

I'm not a rum expert or anything, but I really enjoyed this rum! It mixed so well, that I tried it straight and wasn't disappointed. You won't be either.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

First tried it as the Occidental Lounge and was pleasantly surprised. I subsequently purchased a bottle and am still enjoying it. I've tried it on the rocks and mixed, and both work for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

This rum hails from Michoacan. Very smooth and easy-drinking (well, it is 40%). A little too smooth, with very familiar rum-caramel flavors. Would have liked some more bite or character, but it’s inoffensive. With time to breathe, the sweetness intensifies and liquid thickens, and beading up on the inside of the glass rather suspiciously after each sip. After awhile it tastes distinctly like toasted marshmallows!

The only information available online leads me to believe this is a rum brand that is more marketing than substance (the bottle boasts that this is "100% distilled cane rum"... which is pretty much the definition of "rum," so... and their website claims that this rum is "a must for serious rum aficionados..." exactly the kind of advice you seek from the brand's website, I'm sure). I’d wager this has been doctored at some point. It’s no Diplomatico (thank goodness), but if sweet’s your thing, this is a reasonable effort, and it will mix or sip without breaking the bank. Just feels like a lot of wasted potential here.

6+, 7-