Posting your rating...
Coloma 8-Year rum

Coloma 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.8/10 (33 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
8
12
7
2

Rate Coloma 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 Coloma 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

quite drinkable, nothing to surprise you, nothing special, but ok

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

I bought when skiing, so never a good time to buy, but I note that it is about €35 in normal places. Bought because the other Columbian rum (La Hechicera) is something I was a great fan of

The "fault". I have a feeling that this has had sugar added and a bit too much. Having said that, I don't mind rums with sugar having been added, although I do like Richard Seale's quest to label any additions (as well as liking his non-sugar added rums).

Can't quite decide whether it should be a 7 or an 8. On balance (until edited!) an 8, even if I feel there has been the addition of sugar. The American oak flavours on the nose and palate are enticing. Hints of vanilla and mocha and the merest hint of chocolate and tropical fruits. A nice burn from the spirit, which leads to a medium length which is dominated by the vanilla and oak.

Would I buy again - absolutely, hence why 8 rather than 7.

EDIT - the bottle has now opened up - a lot. The sweetness is now a little too overpowering and it reminds me a bit of the confected flavours that an Angostura 1919 has both on the nose and palate. TBH I don't mind that sweetness - its easy to drink and serves a purpose when the mood takes it. But it is expensive....far more than the 1919, hence a 6 rather than a 7.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 189 ratings

Rhum doux, arôme de orange, café (à peine) et de vanille. Veilli en fut de chêne 8 ans par 2 femmes maître du rhum. Un peu cher, je le recommande tout de même.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 18 ratings

I really enjoy this rum, and keep a bottle on my shelf. Some will say it is sweet, but I don't mind some sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Good taste, but nothing special. Expected "Columbian whiskey". Hard alcohol when you take the first sip.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Steven (PREMIUM) from France with 1 rating

Un rhum qui m'a été conseillé et dont je ne suis pas déçu.

Un rhum Colombien aux notes de café très doux et qui dur en bouche.

Je le conseille fortement.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 54 ratings

Opens up quick enough with some sweet oak, raisins, vanilla, a trace of orange and coffee. All in all not that inviting but not bad either. Drinking this there is still fruit and oak left but the coffee becomes more present and quite a bitter one at that. It goes down easily but there is no complexity and the notes are a bit like 'cut and paste' as the balance just seems to be restored by the sweeteners.

Some reviewers call this one dry or rather dry but this is sweet rum. Not 40g/l sweet but really sweet. The sweetness is a bit hidden behind the somewhat unpleasent bitterness (due to aging in coffee-liqueur casks?) but is defenitely there. Aftertaste is not much apart from a (too) long lingering bitterness (as in reheated coffee from the day before).
Drinkable but that's all; at this pricepoint there are dozens if not hundreds of nicer options.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 74 ratings

Feels like it's column still with added sugar. Good taste, but nothing special. Expected "Columbian style whiskey" instead of simple sugar.

For 70CAD there is better choice.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Ok but nothing special. .

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 75 ratings

Coloma est un rhum élevé en altitude et fini en fût de liqueur de café.
Un produit très agréable à déguster.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Nez très léger, mais un peu sec et un peu piquant.
Alcool équilibré en bouche.
Amertume apportée par un goût de chocolat noir, équilibré par le sucre.

Plutôt sympa en petite quantité.