Posting your rating...

7.3/10
35 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
8
17
1
3

Rate Bacoo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

35 Bacoo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Ended up at a liquor store near the beach that's nicknamed "Pig Liquor" for the pig statue in front. Not expecting much, but discovered the Bacoo (along with some losing lottery tix). Strong, but a nice oak flavor. Preferred it straight to mixed. A 6.5 on my scale.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

A mysterious new rum from the Dominican Republic. For a new brand on the market this one is my pick for Rookie of the Year. At less than $30 for a bottle it is a bargain. It comes in 5, 8, and 12 Year old versions in a stylish bottle. The version I tried was the 12 Year old and it's very good. Nice blend of vanilla, caramel, oak and traces of spice from aging in bourbon barrels. Sweet and smooth. Estimated sugar is 20 GPL. I found it to be an excellent sipping rum but it didn't last long as friends scooped it up for mixed drinks.
Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

There are three Bacoo rums available...the 5-year, the 8-year, and the 12-year. Since I have a bottle of each I am going to review all three today. They have a website (http://bacoorum.com/) which contains the legend of the Bacoo along with various information concerning the company.

As with the 5-year & 8-year Bacoo rums the aroma in the snifter is quite nice. Still a bit sweet with other more noticeable complex aromas which I cannot specifically identify. The amber color is deeper than both the 5-year and 8-year rums. Just as with the 5-year and 8-year swirling it in my snifter reveals good legs.

I was expecting something better than what is delivered with this rum. The extra aging merely reveals the sugaring. It too feels a little oily on the tongue and has distinct butterscotch and vanilla flavors. As with the others is some oak flavor via tannin in the wood barrels. A mild burn in the throat but nothing harsh.

As far as rums go and at $30 a bottle I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this rum. Granted it is not a bad rum but the extra aging exposes the sugaring which detracts from the product quite a bit. For $30 there are many rums that are better.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by poosu from United States with 39 ratings

My neighbor knows I like rum on the rocks. We stopped over to check out his new motorcycle and I got a taste. Never heard of this one but I was quite pleased. Not quite my favorite taste, but quite smooth. I like it

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Cliff from United States with 5 ratings

I am giving this rum a 10 because it has a beautiful character and a wonderful flavor and mouthfeel. For an Agricole 12 year old rum at this price you can't beat it (Don't change that! Don't change that!). In addition, the rum is eco friendly and every aspect of Bacoo from growing the cane to bottling the finished product takes place in the Dominican Republic. I love that. Just discovered Bacoo, and it has instantly become my "house rum". Looking forward to trying the others.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jason from United States with 1 rating

Picked this up while on vaca in Key West, FL. Bought this one based on the bottle, which I do more often than I should admit (what can I say, i'm a sucker for packaging). 12 year, copper stills, oak aged from the DR though, not exactly shabby. All info garnered from the bottle. Relatively new, not much of an internet presence.

On the nose I was immediately excited. Sweet, but a subtlety that hinted at depth of character. Bright and sweet. Ok, not ready for another Zaya. Tell me there's more.

Initial taste had a slight burn i wasn't quite expecting. Molasses and oak. The foundation. Vanilla. Sweet yes, but not sticky, fruity sweet.

But the finish! It lingers. It builds. I expected less, it gave me more. Like a hidden bit of wasabi on my yellowtail sashimi. A sip left me satisfied for longer than I expected. One sip was satisfying, complete. But of course who would stop there?

I'm going to enjoy drinking this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Gemma from United States with 1 rating

This was an amazing rum and has quickly become
My favorite it’s great mixed and stands on its own also.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Alexblabla from Canada with 2 ratings

I bought that rum as a guess as I wanted something new and oh god i’m glad! You need to like a sweet rum with taste of vanilla but if you do like me then you won’t be desapointed. For 30$ that rum just overpast the barcello imperial, the flor the cana 12 years and the legendario mix 7 years that were among my best

Great Rum!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

They really made a good one.
5 and 8 years are nice as well but this really stands out.

Very nice for sipping, inexpensive enough to play around with in your exotic drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Robert from United States with 75 ratings

Respectable rum for the price. A decent mixer but a touch harsh to have neat in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

very mellow, nothing exciting, but easy to drink and a good price point for a sipper.