Posting your rating...
Bacoo 12-Year rum

Rate Bacoo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Bacoo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

A mysterious new rum from the Dominican Republic. For a new brand on the market this one is my pick for Rookie of the Year. At less than $30 for a bottle it is a bargain. It comes in 5, 8, and 12 Year old versions in a stylish bottle. The version I tried was the 12 Year old and it's very good. Nice blend of vanilla, caramel, oak and traces of spice from aging in bourbon barrels. Sweet and smooth. Estimated sugar is 20 GPL. I found it to be an excellent sipping rum but it didn't last long as friends scooped it up for mixed drinks.
Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Posted about 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 36 ratings

My neighbor knows I like rum on the rocks. We stopped over to check out his new motorcycle and I got a taste. Never heard of this one but I was quite pleased. Not quite my favorite taste, but quite smooth. I like it

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

There are three Bacoo rums available...the 5-year, the 8-year, and the 12-year. Since I have a bottle of each I am going to review all three today. They have a website (http://bacoorum.com/) which contains the legend of the Bacoo along with various information concerning the company.

As with the 5-year & 8-year Bacoo rums the aroma in the snifter is quite nice. Still a bit sweet with other more noticeable complex aromas which I cannot specifically identify. The amber color is deeper than both the 5-year and 8-year rums. Just as with the 5-year and 8-year swirling it in my snifter reveals good legs.

I was expecting something better than what is delivered with this rum. The extra aging merely reveals the sugaring. It too feels a little oily on the tongue and has distinct butterscotch and vanilla flavors. As with the others is some oak flavor via tannin in the wood barrels. A mild burn in the throat but nothing harsh.

As far as rums go and at $30 a bottle I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this rum. Granted it is not a bad rum but the extra aging exposes the sugaring which detracts from the product quite a bit. For $30 there are many rums that are better.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jason from United States with 1 rating

Picked this up while on vaca in Key West, FL. Bought this one based on the bottle, which I do more often than I should admit (what can I say, i'm a sucker for packaging). 12 year, copper stills, oak aged from the DR though, not exactly shabby. All info garnered from the bottle. Relatively new, not much of an internet presence.

On the nose I was immediately excited. Sweet, but a subtlety that hinted at depth of character. Bright and sweet. Ok, not ready for another Zaya. Tell me there's more.

Initial taste had a slight burn i wasn't quite expecting. Molasses and oak. The foundation. Vanilla. Sweet yes, but not sticky, fruity sweet.

But the finish! It lingers. It builds. I expected less, it gave me more. Like a hidden bit of wasabi on my yellowtail sashimi. A sip left me satisfied for longer than I expected. One sip was satisfying, complete. But of course who would stop there?

I'm going to enjoy drinking this rum.

Posted 3 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

very mellow, nothing exciting, but easy to drink and a good price point for a sipper.

Posted 7 months ago by Slee from United States with 4 ratings

Nice sipper on ice. My wife really liked this also
Not to sweet.

Posted 7 months ago by Rotten John from United States with 3 ratings

This is becoming my favorite. I like the color in the glass and the aroma. I didn’t find it too sweet, not too much of a burn. I did find the finish and aftertastes making me want more. Pleasantly surprised given the price!

Posted 7 months ago by Jacob.cash from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth, great blend of flavors. Very enjoyable. This definitely goes on my buy again list

Posted 7 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Brought back from a visit back to the U.K as not available here in Oz. Lovely bottle and design, it took my eye. Very dark in the glass , a combination of genuine 12 year ageing in oak barrels and a ton of caramel colouring ! As with most cane juice rums theres not much on the nose.. just caramel and a hint of vanilla. Upon sipping the same two tastes dominate with some spice and wood notes. Very , very easy to drink , either straight , with an ice cube or with a good but small amount of mixer..
Yes its sweet like most spanish type rums but its not too sweet.
Plus a genuine age statement of 12 years makes a nice chance from most Dominican rums with their " Blend of rums from 5 to IOO yrs " bullshit..

Posted 8 months ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Very surprised at how good this is. Mildly complex but not over the top. For the price I thought it would be a cheap and thus sweet selection but it is not.

Posted 11 months ago by youwill from Canada with 13 ratings

this is a nice rhum if you love sugar toffee but just enought not to much i resly enjoy it found it in nort carolina

Posted about 1 year ago by Potpie from United States with 6 ratings

I'm a sucker for a cool bottle in any case, but this one lives up to its packaging. I picked this one up for around $35 and for that range it's very impressive. Heavy caramel character, maybe a hint of banana, overall a great flavor though not as complex as, say, the Diplomatico Reserva. Very smooth!

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Complex nose starts out strong but ends nicely. A bit harsh as a sipped but a great mixer as all the complexity comes out. Very good with cola and nice with citrus. Won't be my go-to but may keep it in my bar for a change.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

I've heard good reviews, but once I tried it, it wasn't as good as I read. Decent tasting flavor of vanilla and caramel. The finish was a bit harsh. Nice oakey finish but strong alcohol finish.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dave from United States with 8 ratings

Anytime I see a 12 year old rum for

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 299 ratings

I finally got up the courage to buy a bottle of this rum after not having success with it's younger brother, their 8 year old. The aroma on this one is rather nondescript and so are the flavors on my tongue. The after taste is where it goes wrong. It is rather bitter and woody. Imagine when you soak wood chips in a bowl of water the day before you plan to use those wet chips on the meat smoker. Now imagine tasting some of that brown water the next day. This gives you an idea of the unpleasant after taste of this one. I will hand it to this one that there is no Bacoo banana taste or extra sweetening. This could be used to tone down some of those sugar bombs. I paid $27 for my bottle, but I won't be buying this one again.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stokespeter from United States with 7 ratings

I bought this because I had never seen it and it was affordable. What a happy accident! This is a delicious dark caramel rum. I tend to drink mine straight so I don’t have any mixing recommendations for it. I drink it room temperature and straight up. I really can’t believe the flavor for the price. A superior Rum for my taste. Good vanilla and hints of spice.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Ended up at a liquor store near the beach that's nicknamed "Pig Liquor" for the pig statue in front. Not expecting much, but discovered the Bacoo (along with some losing lottery tix). Strong, but a nice oak flavor. Preferred it straight to mixed. A 6.5 on my scale.

Posted about 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

N: brown sugar, wood... and meringue! That's a new one! Some chocolate comes out later too!
P: Soft, but not weak! All the flavors from your usual Dominican profile are there, along with a definite sweetness.
F: Wood, normal rumminess, and a little fruit coming out too.
In a lot of ways this is a really normal, good rum, but with just enough of it's own character here and there to bump it into the "really nice" category! Solid rum, certainly no complaints here!

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It is hard to beat a 12 yr. agricole for under $30, $26.99 to be precise. It taste like a quality spirit, with a dark color and decent finish. It's not overly sweet like el dorado or diplomatico or super dry like seale's and mount gay. My only criticism is there is a little rum funkiness. Maybe a 7 but definitely an 8 considering the price.

Posted over 2 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

This really is a great rum to nose in the glass. Oak and wood spices provide a nice backdrop for the sweet baking spices (vanilla, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves) and rich molasses that rises into the breezes above the glass. There are hints of spicy orange peel, and fresh citrus fruit which appear and disappear within the aroma.

Deep dark brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, cloves and hints of orange peel and citrus fruit lay upon a foundation of oak and wood spices. Rich tobacco accents the flavour and some luscious dark fruit. The overall flavour is sweet but not overwhelmingly so, and a soft nuttiness lies under the other flavours giving the rum just a hint of bitterness which offsets that sweetness nicely.
Good stuff ...I’ve not seen it very often but it’s tasty and well worth having in a collection of quality rum

What I truly love about this rum is how I seem to like it just a little more every time I pour another glass. The flavours remain rich and strong but never cloying.

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Didnt know what to expect, glad I had low expectations - made the reality that much better.

Molasses and oak on the nose for me. Great dark color and thick syrupy juice.

Flavor profile starts off with butter amd then melds into caramel and cocoa with a light oak finish. The taste lingers a bit for me, a little leathery on the aftertaste but not overpowering. Maybe a hint of some burnt sugar in there.

Overall, a solid drink at a great value.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Had this straight very good rum
Got for under 30 not overly sweet
Good rum good price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 8 ratings

Overall Ok, but it seemed to be spiced, which i did not expect. Its not overly sweet. It would be better mixed and i was looking for a sipper.