Posting your rating...

7.4/10 (32 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
7
17
1
1

Rate Bacoo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Bacoo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

This really is a great rum to nose in the glass. Oak and wood spices provide a nice backdrop for the sweet baking spices (vanilla, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves) and rich molasses that rises into the breezes above the glass. There are hints of spicy orange peel, and fresh citrus fruit which appear and disappear within the aroma.

Deep dark brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, cloves and hints of orange peel and citrus fruit lay upon a foundation of oak and wood spices. Rich tobacco accents the flavour and some luscious dark fruit. The overall flavour is sweet but not overwhelmingly so, and a soft nuttiness lies under the other flavours giving the rum just a hint of bitterness which offsets that sweetness nicely.
Good stuff ...I’ve not seen it very often but it’s tasty and well worth having in a collection of quality rum

What I truly love about this rum is how I seem to like it just a little more every time I pour another glass. The flavours remain rich and strong but never cloying.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

A mysterious new rum from the Dominican Republic. For a new brand on the market this one is my pick for Rookie of the Year. At less than $30 for a bottle it is a bargain. It comes in 5, 8, and 12 Year old versions in a stylish bottle. The version I tried was the 12 Year old and it's very good. Nice blend of vanilla, caramel, oak and traces of spice from aging in bourbon barrels. Sweet and smooth. Estimated sugar is 20 GPL. I found it to be an excellent sipping rum but it didn't last long as friends scooped it up for mixed drinks.
Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

There are three Bacoo rums available...the 5-year, the 8-year, and the 12-year. Since I have a bottle of each I am going to review all three today. They have a website (http://bacoorum.com/) which contains the legend of the Bacoo along with various information concerning the company.

As with the 5-year & 8-year Bacoo rums the aroma in the snifter is quite nice. Still a bit sweet with other more noticeable complex aromas which I cannot specifically identify. The amber color is deeper than both the 5-year and 8-year rums. Just as with the 5-year and 8-year swirling it in my snifter reveals good legs.

I was expecting something better than what is delivered with this rum. The extra aging merely reveals the sugaring. It too feels a little oily on the tongue and has distinct butterscotch and vanilla flavors. As with the others is some oak flavor via tannin in the wood barrels. A mild burn in the throat but nothing harsh.

As far as rums go and at $30 a bottle I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this rum. Granted it is not a bad rum but the extra aging exposes the sugaring which detracts from the product quite a bit. For $30 there are many rums that are better.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Cliff from United States with 5 ratings

I am giving this rum a 10 because it has a beautiful character and a wonderful flavor and mouthfeel. For an Agricole 12 year old rum at this price you can't beat it (Don't change that! Don't change that!). In addition, the rum is eco friendly and every aspect of Bacoo from growing the cane to bottling the finished product takes place in the Dominican Republic. I love that. Just discovered Bacoo, and it has instantly become my "house rum". Looking forward to trying the others.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 37 ratings

My neighbor knows I like rum on the rocks. We stopped over to check out his new motorcycle and I got a taste. Never heard of this one but I was quite pleased. Not quite my favorite taste, but quite smooth. I like it

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason from United States with 1 rating

Picked this up while on vaca in Key West, FL. Bought this one based on the bottle, which I do more often than I should admit (what can I say, i'm a sucker for packaging). 12 year, copper stills, oak aged from the DR though, not exactly shabby. All info garnered from the bottle. Relatively new, not much of an internet presence.

On the nose I was immediately excited. Sweet, but a subtlety that hinted at depth of character. Bright and sweet. Ok, not ready for another Zaya. Tell me there's more.

Initial taste had a slight burn i wasn't quite expecting. Molasses and oak. The foundation. Vanilla. Sweet yes, but not sticky, fruity sweet.

But the finish! It lingers. It builds. I expected less, it gave me more. Like a hidden bit of wasabi on my yellowtail sashimi. A sip left me satisfied for longer than I expected. One sip was satisfying, complete. But of course who would stop there?

I'm going to enjoy drinking this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Robert from United States with 58 ratings

Respectable rum for the price. A decent mixer but a touch harsh to have neat in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 40 ratings

very mellow, nothing exciting, but easy to drink and a good price point for a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Slee from United States with 4 ratings

Nice sipper on ice. My wife really liked this also
Not to sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Rotten John from United States with 3 ratings

This is becoming my favorite. I like the color in the glass and the aroma. I didn’t find it too sweet, not too much of a burn. I did find the finish and aftertastes making me want more. Pleasantly surprised given the price!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Jacob.cash from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth, great blend of flavors. Very enjoyable. This definitely goes on my buy again list