Posting your rating...
Bacoo 5-Year rum

Bacoo 5-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.4/10 (7 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
2

Rate Bacoo 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


7 Bacoo 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 45 ratings

Anyone who's has Bumbu Original and thought it too sweet would enjoy this rum. Similar in taste, but far less sweet. Alcohol is very present in this rum, which will warm you up on those cooler nights on deck. Decent tasting, great price, perfect for the crew members you want to hang onto.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by MapsAreCool from United States with 3 ratings

A bit sweet but priced well. This is a relatively new rum that capitalized on hints of vanilla and butterscotch to an otherwise basic flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Bacoo 5y Rum on a very cloudy afternoon. Unique bottle and label design. Golden color. Alcohol, butterscotch and vanilla to your nose and palate. Strong kick at the end. Better mixed that neat sipped.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by James from United States with 14 ratings

I liked the look of the bottle which inspired me to try it. I liked it and look forward to trying the more agee versions.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joe from United States with 6 ratings

At first taste, room temp, neat straight from the bottle I was admittedly a bit disappointed. I thought the taste was somewhat artificial and seemed overly "flavored". However with some chill, a cube, or cold water this really opens up. Soft, round, & light-bodied. Lots of cinnamon, spice, butterscotch, and light caramel and vanilla notes. Pretty damn good for sub $20 and very good with ginger beer!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Nice. Reallllly nice...
Smells like vanilla and butterscotch, with some oakiness to it, and tastes basically the same. The butterscotch hits a huge swell on the finish though before the oak comes back. Very smooth. Somewhat sweet. It's basically Kirk and Sweeney, but younger, with a little sugar. WHICH IS FREAKING AWESOME!!
Yes, this rum lacks power. No, it's not unique. But guess what?? It's super friendly, can be sipped or mixed, and it's $25 a bottle. What part about that can you not love??

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

There are three Bacoo rums available...the 5-year, the 8-year, and the 12-year. Since I have a bottle of each I am going to review all three today. They have a website (http://bacoorum.com/) which contains the legend of the Bacoo along with various information concerning the company.

The aroma in the snifter is quite nice. A bit sweet. Warm amber in color. Swirling it in my snifter reveals good legs.

The flavor is nice but seems a bit too sweet for a 5-year old rum but not cloyingly sweet I makes me think it has been sugared a bit. It feels a little oily on the tongue and has distinct butterscotch and vanilla flavors. There is some oak flavor via tannin in the wood barrels. A mild burn in the throat but nothing harsh.

At around $20 a bottle it is a decent rum for the price. Not a bad rum by any stretch of the imagination. Just nothing that stands out.