Posting your rating...
Habitation Velier 2007 Last Ward rum

Habitation Velier 2007 Last Ward

Italy | Aged

7.9/10
16 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
6
3
3

Rate Habitation Velier 2007 Last Ward

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

16 Habitation Velier 2007 Last Ward ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Ok pour le côté historique de ce rhum mais je le trouve assez déséquilibré, les arômes me rappellent le travail à l’usine : produits chimiques et graisses.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 449 ratings

Aroma is smooth and nice. First taste is fruity (almost like foursquare 2008), after few seconds appear Caroni tones (oil, leather etc.) aftertaste is long and nice in jamaican (ester) style. This is almost like have 3 different rums in one ! Beginners and sweet rum lovers may not be able to appreciate this gem.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 400 ratings

Nice bronze color. The first nose is on strawberry sweets, pineapple or brewer's yeast. Candied fruits, plums, nuts and vanilla are also founded and the third nose is on ripe pineapple. In the mouth, alcohol is super-present but well integrated. It sticks well to the palate. Very pastry and fruity. Beautiful length in mouth. Nice one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Harald from Germany with 37 ratings

Mount Gay Distillery 2007 (Mount Gilboa)
Barbados
Last Ward
Habitation Velier
Distilled: 2007
Bottled: 2017
Aged 10 Years
59%
Triple Distilled in McMillan Potstills
Ex-Bourbon Casks
Raw Material: Molasses

Color: Red Gold

Nose:
Wow! Smells fruity and sweet, bold and complex.
Like an exotic fruit cocktail with mango ice-cream, orange-caramel, limoncello ...
Furthermore Toffee, nougat, cheesecake, custard, sandalwood and turkish delight.
A truly first class nose.

Palate:
Powerful and bold, fresh, sparkling and spicy.
There are notes of oranges and mangos, pepper, and chili, toffee, oak and bark.
Very tasty.

Finish:
Long and very spicy (pepper, chili) with sandalwood aromas.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by wayoutwest from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Drank this straight after Clairin Sajous, and yet found this much more challenging!
Liked the complexity and depth, but felt the concentration of flavours were just too much. On reflection, perhaps a drop of water might have opened it up.
Going to have to keep going to find a good sippy rum.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 371 ratings

I already had a MG 2009. Therefore I will compare it directly with it.

Almost the same nose, the 2007 is just a little bit more mellow I think. Hard to tell a difference.
Both are beautiful with same aromas. Gently nose, anise, grains, caramel, orange and much more. It opens up after 20min in the glas.

The taste is also very complex, thats why it hard to tell a difference again. I think the 2007 is a little bit more mellow and fruitier. The 2009 has a little bit more tanins, the cask was a little bit more active I think. But overall not that much difference. Would rate it with 94 points.

The 2007 is a little bit better, both are beautiful and complex rums. If you have a chance to buy one take the 2007 or the cheaper one.

Nose: wood varnish**, wood **, caramel**, anise**, herbs*, orange*, flowers **, grains**, vanilla, earth
Taste: wood varnish, caramel, wood and tanins, vanilla, grains
Middle: anise, orange peels, mint, wood varnish and tanins
Finish: spice, oak (tanins), orange, medicine, anise, earth, wild leather and mint
Aftertaste: orange peels, oak, leather, oranges, peppermint, anise seeds

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 2/5
Complexity: 5/5
Intensity: 5/5
Value (99€): 5/5
Experience level: expert

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 35 ratings

I obtained a free sample from the French shop rhumattitude.com. I first tried it straight, and it overpowered me. Too much flavour per cl! I then diluted it down with water to approximately 39% vol. And wow it tasted really good. Reminded me a lot of the Appleton 12 yo. Rare Blend. It's a delicious aroma that's hard to describe. I (native German speaker) would have called it chewy, but my dictionary tells me that's not the right word. But I wouldn't compare it to toffee either, it's a flavour quite on its own, sweetish and candy-like, but not like anything else I now.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by RumBeerQuests&Mead from United Kingdom with 34 ratings

Smooth caramel, warming, slight burnt sugar finish

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 216 ratings

A Mt. Gay distillery 10 yr old rum , bottled at a very strong 59%. 100% pot still , single blend rum. Nice spicey nose with stone fruits i.e plums..
Very hot in the mouth but not uncomfortably.. notes of plums , oak, spices and thankfully not cherries like the 2009 version !
Strangely not much burn in the throat ? Very well made but a bit of a struggle to keep sipping neat.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Smovens from United States with 103 ratings

Great for the style. Tons of oak and spice up front, followed by some vanilla and caramel. Not overwhelming with the alcohol, but helps with some dilution. Amazing sipper

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by AndReginald from Italy with 48 ratings

This is very strong (59) so if you are not into strong rum you should avoid this one. Otherwise a true Barbadian rum, lot of exotic fruit, almonds, vanilla. Very nice.