Posting your rating...
Matusalem Platino rum

Rate Matusalem Platino

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Matusalem Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

started out straight of course.. a fairly delightful rum I must say. This is closer to the Brugal line of whites produced in the DR but less spice a bit smoother an lighter in the mouth, throat, and less spicy on the tongue.

Very light, yet has a bold rum flavor, very well done rum great for straight up tasting. If you like a white rum that tastes like rum and not over distilled or filtered then this is it. Also one that does not add sugar or additives I might add. Pure rum not bogus stuff in this one!

At this price range it is slightly lower cost than white rums close to it and also much tastier. One of the best white rums at this price point for sipping or mixing.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Matusalem Platino describes itself as a "dry rum" but it doesn't seem to be so. It does have a crispness normally associated with dry white rums but at the same time has more sweetness than one would expect. It does resemble agricole rum slightly. There seems some vanilla to it along with a nice medium burn to it. It also appears to have a little butteriness to it as well. Now the finish is pretty dry leaving a little tingle on the tongue. Overall a good mixing rum. Definitely recommended for fruit-based cocktails, especially those heavy on citrus.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Josifiend from Australia with 10 ratings

This has a kind of floral perfume to it, a light vanilla note and a TOUCH of sweetness - a grassy sugarcane sweetness. It is really rounded. This is the favourite in my bar atm!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

One of few white rums I enjoyed drinking straight. Very smooth, very pleasant, very rum-like. Of course there are batter ones, but not for this price.

Posted almost 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

This is a great plata/ white rum. It has a decent flavor on the palate and the nose, albeit a bit of alcohol. You will feel a bit of burn from this, but I've yet to find a white rum that you won't. It mixes seamlessly into cocktails, almost too much so at times. Careful what flavored you pair with it if you want to taste the rum. If you have someone who doesn't like rum, this is the rum for them in a cocktail. Inexpensive at around $12 a bottle. Can't beat this for drink mixing.

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

The taste of this rum is many steps above the other white rums in the under $20 category. Made in the Dominican Republic closely following an old Cuban recipe passed down through this family for generations.
I recommend this for anyone that wants a good rum to mix with, but I would stay away from drinking this straight.
I've had success with this one in mojitos.

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

In my opinion, this is a good white rum that is better than lower tier rums and brands, but I like many other whites better. Try the 3 year El Dorado. Try the Plantation 3 Star. Spend just a little more and get the Pritchard's Chrystal rum - yes from the US of A!

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Along with El dorado 3 yr, one of the best I have tried for mixing. Not quite as complex or interesting as Banks 5 Island but much cheaper.

Posted 27 days ago by Passie from Netherlands with 46 ratings

Good white rum for in the mix. Not smooth enough for a neat sipper. Little complex plata, nothing overwhelming.

Posted 4 months ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

A smell of sugary ethanol, flat and simple. Taste is harsh and a bit like cough syrup. Finish is short and bitter. To me this is pretty much comparable to Bacardi Superior, maybe just a tad better.

Posted about 1 year ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

Удачное название, простая и оригинальная бутылка.
Аромат: сладость, затхлое дерево и свежая столовая зелень, сливочное масло, спирт.
Во вкусе мало удовольствия, но что-то интересное есть кроме сладости, горечи и ванили.
Закуска обязательна, но при этом ром очень приглаженный, мирный и хорошо играет амплуа светлого рома.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joselitopach from Mexico with 2 ratings

Es sin duda uno de mis rones favoritos blancos, super fresco y de buen sabor se combina con todo.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I had a few drinks of Matusalem Platino while vacationing in Oaxaca Mexico. Pretty decent bottle and label design. Very strong alcohol to the nose and palate if neat sipped. Mixes rather well with your favorite soda drinks.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

In my quest to find a better white rum than Plantation 3 Star Artisinal, I chose this one only because Vizcaya Cristal is not available where I live. Both of them are Cuban style and made in the neighboring Dominican Republic, but the 3 Star is from several different islands. A side by side comparison was the only way to test them. The 3 Star is still the clear cut winner with flavors, but the Matusalem Platino will add no flavors at all to your authentic Cuban daiquiri. It is also more readily available than the 3 Star.

Update March 2, 2019: This rum will not add any flavors to your mixed drinks. Then again, so will Don Q Cristal achieve the same goal at a lesser price.This one is also probably another white rum with no hangover penalty. There are so many other white rums that one should consider buying unless one is stuck onto the dumb mentality of Bacardi or Captain Morgan.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dante De Rubin from Mexico with 42 ratings

Its a good product for the Cubas Libres, it has an excellet price and you can find it everywere!

Posted about 3 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Relativ weich, eher trocken mit etwas fruchtiger Note und etwas Bitterschokolade.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ronald Broers from Netherlands with 17 ratings

My preference for mixing with coke. Higher quality rum than common the Havana club or Bacardi options...

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

No lo recomiendo ni para hacer coctelería, no tiene las escencias basicas de un ron.

Posted almost 4 years ago by DrNovelo from Mexico with 27 ratings

Ron que siempre hay que tener en el bar, excelente para convinar con lo que sea, sabor definido y fuerte, resistente a lo que se le convine.

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

nu inteleg de ce are nota asa mare. este o bautura fara personalitate. prea spirtoasa. n-am simtit nici o aroma mai deosebita.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

Not to much of a fan. has to be mixed with something to enjoy it at all. I think that there are much better options for the price range. Was looking forward to it and was disappointed.

Posted about 5 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

Good for mixing drinks, but I can get Don Q for less $.

Posted over 5 years ago by netswitch from Belgium with 12 ratings

This is an amazing rhum. The best for me to taste it is in a ti punch with lime, sugar cane and ice. It gives a very good and typical taste.

This is also an ideal rhum for mojitos if you want to some change.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 71 ratings

Good cocktail rum but still I would choose Havana Club 3.