Posting your rating...
Matusalem Platino rum

Rate Matusalem Platino

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Matusalem Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

nu inteleg de ce are nota asa mare. este o bautura fara personalitate. prea spirtoasa. n-am simtit nici o aroma mai deosebita.

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

started out straight of course.. a fairly delightful rum I must say. This is closer to the Brugal line of whites produced in the DR but less spice a bit smoother an lighter in the mouth, throat, and less spicy on the tongue.

Very light, yet has a bold rum flavor, very well done rum great for straight up tasting. If you like a white rum that tastes like rum and not over distilled or filtered then this is it. Also one that does not add sugar or additives I might add. Pure rum not bogus stuff in this one!

At this price range it is slightly lower cost than white rums close to it and also much tastier. One of the best white rums at this price point for sipping or mixing.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Matusalem Platino describes itself as a "dry rum" but it doesn't seem to be so. It does have a crispness normally associated with dry white rums but at the same time has more sweetness than one would expect. It does resemble agricole rum slightly. There seems some vanilla to it along with a nice medium burn to it. It also appears to have a little butteriness to it as well. Now the finish is pretty dry leaving a little tingle on the tongue. Overall a good mixing rum. Definitely recommended for fruit-based cocktails, especially those heavy on citrus.

A6288cb2a1b7803c201a8ed9e501aae4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Josifiend from Australia with 10 ratings

This has a kind of floral perfume to it, a light vanilla note and a TOUCH of sweetness - a grassy sugarcane sweetness. It is really rounded. This is the favourite in my bar atm!

9aceec1e6f714e9699e0cadc40846308.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

One of few white rums I enjoyed drinking straight. Very smooth, very pleasant, very rum-like. Of course there are batter ones, but not for this price.

446d4b23a4cf7da4296ddb144029d0cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

This is a great plata/ white rum. It has a decent flavor on the palate and the nose, albeit a bit of alcohol. You will feel a bit of burn from this, but I've yet to find a white rum that you won't. It mixes seamlessly into cocktails, almost too much so at times. Careful what flavored you pair with it if you want to taste the rum. If you have someone who doesn't like rum, this is the rum for them in a cocktail. Inexpensive at around $12 a bottle. Can't beat this for drink mixing.

6f2206527999794eb48db9d1834829cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

The taste of this rum is many steps above the other white rums in the under $20 category. Made in the Dominican Republic closely following an old Cuban recipe passed down through this family for generations.
I recommend this for anyone that wants a good rum to mix with, but I would stay away from drinking this straight.
I've had success with this one in mojitos.

71c0aa27d65afd8fe024c88988f6d012.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

In my opinion, this is a good white rum that is better than lower tier rums and brands, but I like many other whites better. Try the 3 year El Dorado. Try the Plantation 3 Star. Spend just a little more and get the Pritchard's Chrystal rum - yes from the US of A!

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Along with El dorado 3 yr, one of the best I have tried for mixing. Not quite as complex or interesting as Banks 5 Island but much cheaper.

7b29cbcc8d664f37f09c1e45a71691cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Passie from Netherlands with 48 ratings

Good white rum for in the mix. Not smooth enough for a neat sipper. Little complex plata, nothing overwhelming.

75a8270a730648a260b64331993924b8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 24 ratings

A smell of sugary ethanol, flat and simple. Taste is harsh and a bit like cough syrup. Finish is short and bitter. To me this is pretty much comparable to Bacardi Superior, maybe just a tad better.