Posting your rating...
Matusalem Platino rum

Matusalem Platino

Dominican Republic | Light

6.2/10
34 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
5
12
2
4

Rate Matusalem Platino

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

34 Matusalem Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

No lo recomiendo ni para hacer coctelería, no tiene las escencias basicas de un ron.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by carl from United States with 53 ratings

I ordered this at a restaurant in La Jolla, CA. I was expecting to get one of the darker Matusalem rums. I was disappointed at first when they brought out a white rum, but I gave it a chance. It actually tasted great neat, lots of character. I added ice but it didn’t hold up well... It was definitely better neat.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

Bought it after reading relatively good reviews but all regular agricoles shit over this. Seriously. It’s ok and has some unexplained character but it’s plain and boring. Something is not right. Had an open Mount Gay Eclipse next to it and the MG felt like a 9 star rum.

Performs badly in coctails as well. Will stash it under the bed and try again in a couple of years

Small img 20201109 183045

Posted 9 months ago by Michal Ernest from Czech Republic with 55 ratings

Toto je moje ochutnávka třetího bílého rumu v životě. Objednal jsem jej spolu s Matusalem 15 Gran Reserva v akci 1+1. Už jeho vůně nebyla moc příjemná a byl moc cítit alkohol. Chuť to jen potvrdila a tak jsem zbytek nedopité skleničky na ochutnání, smísil s kolou, kterou mám naštěstí skoro pořád doma. Pak už chuť byla vynikající. Nikdy bych nevěřil, že to takto může dopadnout.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Rhum for making cocktails. Is good for people do not want to have a strong rhum taste in their rhum-cola. Very soft taste

Small 88

Posted 12 months ago by Passie from Netherlands with 55 ratings

Good white rum for in the mix. Not smooth enough for a neat sipper. Little complex plata, nothing overwhelming.

Small rivers

Posted 1 year ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 26 ratings

A smell of sugary ethanol, flat and simple. Taste is harsh and a bit like cough syrup. Finish is short and bitter. To me this is pretty much comparable to Bacardi Superior, maybe just a tad better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 162 ratings

Удачное название, простая и оригинальная бутылка.
Аромат: сладость, затхлое дерево и свежая столовая зелень, сливочное масло, спирт.
Во вкусе мало удовольствия, но что-то интересное есть кроме сладости, горечи и ванили.
Закуска обязательна, но при этом ром очень приглаженный, мирный и хорошо играет амплуа светлого рома.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joselitopach from Mexico with 2 ratings

Es sin duda uno de mis rones favoritos blancos, super fresco y de buen sabor se combina con todo.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

I had a few drinks of Matusalem Platino while vacationing in Oaxaca Mexico. Pretty decent bottle and label design. Very strong alcohol to the nose and palate if neat sipped. Mixes rather well with your favorite soda drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

In my quest to find a better white rum than Plantation 3 Star Artisinal, I chose this one only because Vizcaya Cristal is not available where I live. Both of them are Cuban style and made in the neighboring Dominican Republic, but the 3 Star is from several different islands. A side by side comparison was the only way to test them. The 3 Star is still the clear cut winner with flavors, but the Matusalem Platino will add no flavors at all to your authentic Cuban daiquiri. It is also more readily available than the 3 Star.

Update March 2, 2019: This rum will not add any flavors to your mixed drinks. Then again, so will Don Q Cristal achieve the same goal at a lesser price.This one is also probably another white rum with no hangover penalty. There are so many other white rums that one should consider buying unless one is stuck onto the dumb mentality of Bacardi or Captain Morgan.