Posting your rating...
Doctor Bird Pot Still rum

Doctor Bird Pot Still

United States | Aged

6.8/10 (30 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
2
3
3
10
6

Rate Doctor Bird Pot Still

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Doctor Bird Pot Still ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

A weak seven. I would say this rum needs to be used as a mixer. Only recommendable as a sipper if you truly love rum. It's very very funky but a little too harsh to sip. Still, the funk is delicious and would spice up any cocktail wonderfully.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

As west-coaster who's sadly spent almost no time in Michigan, I'd never heard of Two James Spirits before this bottle appeared on the shelves of my (well-known) local chain. I didn't need more Jamaican rum on my tiny shelf, but the specs alone were enough to convince me to pick a bottle up anyway:
- Jamaican (we're off to a good start)
- Pot Still (oh yeah...)
- Worthy Park (*drools...)
- Aged 8 years (ooo, fancy...)
- "Moscatel" finish (ok, let's not get *too* fancy...)
- 50% ABV (yes yes yes...)
- $25 (shut up and take my money!)

Clearly Two James, despite focusing on their full lineup of other spirits (bourbon, whiskey, gin, vodka, absinthe, and mezcal), also have their ear on the rum appreciation scene (though, strangely, their rum isn't featured anywhere on their website). They're the only US (whiskey etc.) distiller I'm aware of the doesn't seem to be adding a rum to their menu simply as an add-on, because they have access to a still and some sugar, and because they're tried a few other things and wanted to design another label to slap on a bottle and sell to their friends (usually with disastrous results). The Jameses where to source good juice, and managed to take a risk (with the trendy but wholly unnecessary sweet wine cask finish) without ruining it. It's encouraging to see!

So yes, the rum is good. It's got a big, funky nose that tickles your... nose. Lots of fruit, a good amount of wood. Some cherry, maple, hint of brandy. Though rather dry overall, it enters sweetly on the tongue, with a bit of a bite. It ends with moderately short finish on the throat, but the flavors do linger in the mouth for some time. The proof is just right—perfectly drinkable as-is, but a few drops of water don't kill it.
Compare to Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still.

It's eminently sippable for funk fans, but I love mixing with this, often using a 50-50 blend with Coruba in classic cocktail recipes calling simply for "dark jamaican" rum. It also makes a splendid Daiquiri, and I can only imagine the kind of funky Mai Tai you could get pairing it with something like La Favorite Couer de Ambre (for the record, I'm a Denizen guy, but I never turn down a Mai Tai using some respectable version of the "original" recipe). Haven't tried it yet, either, but I'll bet this would shine in a Planter's Punch.

Again, I could have done without the wine cask finish (it's still a bit too young, and moscatel is dangerously sweet). It works well enough for cocktails, but the finish doesn't do the rum any favors when sipped neat. I'm just glad it didn't ruin it.

I'm simply amazed that somehow, Two James managed to get so much right with their first rum release. It's funky, un-sugared, at-proof, competently aged, truly unique in the market, and reasonably priced to boot (their other offerings do appear to be pricier). As long as they continue in this pattern, I'll be coming back for more!

8, 8-

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

This is the first rum expression from Two James Spirits craft distillers, based in Detroit's Corktown neighborhood. A blend of Worthy Park pot still rums, blended and aged in St. Catherine Jamaica, then shipped to Detroit to be finished in Moscatel Sherry casks. It is bottled at 50% abv, making it a hit with tiki bartenders and afficionados alike. This is classic Jamaican funk with a distinct wood finish. The higher proof makes it an ideal tiki mixer. That said, pour it into a glass neat, let some of the alcohol evaporate, then add ice, and let the flavors come alive. Add a little lime, sugar and water and you've got yourself a quintessential and very tasty classic grog.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 38 ratings

As a huge fan of all Jamaican rums, this was a long sought out find for me. I finally found it online from Blackwells. A gold rum in color, which was surprising, I assumed it was a dark rum. Nose definitely Jamaican pot still funk, overripe banana and molasses. Tasting notes were not as funky as I expected, definitely a nice light smoothness, with a sweet natural wine and grape flavor underlying the pot still hogo. I mixed with it a bit but trust me, as a sipper with the wine cask aged flavor, it should always be sipped! One of my favorite sippers ever.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by El Cap from United States with 60 ratings

I take a sip of this now and then but it will really make a cocktail shine. Inexpensive but hard to find. I love it!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Not sure where to start on this one. I purchased this purely to use in tiki cocktails as I'd seen it referenced by name in some recipes. I'm afraid this is going to be long winded! Sorry!
As soon as the cork was pulled the pot still aromas literally exploded out of the bottle! Although there is a lot of alcohol in the nose it's not hot or solvent like. A lot of fruit with hints of strawberry, kiwi, perhaps ripe banana and some of the muscatel coming through. Perhaps a hint of sour or tartness as well.
After letting it breathe for a few minutes I dropped a cube in, swirled, let it rest and then revisited the aroma. Very similar but perhaps a bit less intense. Very smooth and pleasing aroma (if you like Jamaican funkiness) with some sweet aromas coming out. I swear that as this opens up I get hints of mint!!
For 50% alcohol I find this very, very smooth. Warming but not hot in my opinion. Quite different than I imagined. The flavor is full and funky but less in your face than I at first thought when getting the first aromas from the snifter. Still a big flavorful fully aromatic pot still rum but somehow well rounded. Some sweetness late leading into the finish most likely from the muscatel barrels but it's definitely not a sweet rum. Hints of dry woody character but less than I expected for an 8 year rum.
This is a really surprising rum. Although funky and mostly dry it's well balanced and has great body and flavor.
Definitely not for everyone. I think if you like funky Jamaican rum then you can't go wrong even if only using as a mixer in tiki cocktails but I like this one on the rocks! If you don't like Jamaicans or think that Appleton is too funky then run for the hills and leave this to those who appreciate the funk and flavor of pot still Jamaican rum.
At $28 (from Binny's in Chicago) this is quite a bargain. A solid must for tiki and funk enthusiasts! I give it a solid 8 for it's unique character and wonderful complexity. As is stated by many other reviewers this is not a rum for everyone so if you only like sweet sugar bomb rums or shy away form other funky Jamaican rums then don't try this one and give it a poor rating. It is what it is!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Two James Doctor Bird Jamaican rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design look nice and unique. Golden color. Very strong and offputting glue and funk straight to your nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end. Can't even mix this one to hide the nasty taste. Not my cup of tea.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

As a lover of the Jamaican funk, I was pleased to discover this rum at Lost Lake in Chicago. Well balanced and integrated pungency, like over-ripe banana, keeps me craving... Didn't have the pleasure of trying it in a Maita'i or Jungle Bird, but something tells me it would be fantastic. I'll be looking to add it to my collection as soon as I can find a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

Fantastic. Lots of raisin and grape notes of course. Super funky worthy park distillate. Worth a buy. Maybe more than a few times.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

I didn't always like Jamaican rums, but as I've come to understand the process I've also come to appreciate the funky taste. I found this on a visit to Detroit. Two James is a local distillery there, who brought in barrels of rum from Jamaica, and bottled it in Detroit (basically using their distillery/bottling license to get around Michigan's outdated alcohol import laws).

I poured it neat, and could smell the rum as soon as I started to pour. It has a strong aroma of over-ripe apricots with a slight tickle of the nose. The first sip has an interesting blend of sweet and tart with just a little burn on the back of the tongue. It leaves behind a fruity aftertaste like dried apricots and raisins.

I added an ice cube, and it brought out even more of the fruitiness.

This is a great sipper, especially if you enjoy the funk. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Robustly full of flavor, and yes, funky as all get-go. But all in a good way. A fine, fine mixer to bring out some Jamaican spin. I drink it neat, as well. Not for everyone, but that's the whole point.

Update: The more I drink this stuff, the more I like it. Try it in light cocktails, like a funky daiquiri, to bring out its flavors and let it shine. Again, it's not for everyone.