Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


526 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Metuzalem 15 grand rez. Dominika. Panak 95
Pekne voni, ostrejsi az nasladla svezi chut 4b

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This one was a disapointment for me.. A bit overrated from my friends. The taste is to much ethanol for me.. And to thin. It almost feels like somebody thinned it out with pure alcohol. It tasted good in cola but for the hefty price i would prefer to drink it as a zipping rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Claudio from Italy with 30 ratings

It's important to know that this was the first rum produced to be a sipper.
The first rum to use solera aging system, previously used only in sherry and spanish brandy making.
This is an icon, a symbol of what rum is.
Can we find something better at the 30€ price? Yes we can.
But this is still a very good rum, balanced, nothing extraordinary but a flawless spirit.

Posted over 5 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

One of my favorite things about Matusalem is how they enjoy reminding us of their great history, which begin in Cuba. They have awesome ads and really do a good job of getting you excited. Now, we all know, when these rum companies spend millions of dollars on advertising, that they are trying to over compensate for their lack of complexity / taste or they want us to know that their brand is for making frozen cocktails.

Matusalem is a stupendous, refined rum that is slightly above average sipper and mixer. It's beautiful in everyday - beautiful bottle, color, smell - but to be honest, I've used it more to spice up ice cream, milkshakes and cake, than make a cocktail out of it. At about $35 a pop, I'd personally still buy it because it's one of a kind: smooth, light, fragrant. I would recommend trying it as a digestif, instead of the typical port wine. But hey, if I could, I would replace every beverage with rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob Saaby Nielsen from Denmark with 20 ratings

If this rum was a sound, imagine going into a small room with dirty beige walls.

You scream from the top of your lungs, and you expect the sound to reverberate and echo.

But nothing. No echo. The sound stops when you stop. And that's it.

That's this rum. It doesn't make a dent anywhere.

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

Too long ago to quite remember it, but I think it had too much of an ethanolic taste to me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A little on the sweeter side but smooth and enjoyable to sip neat. I look forward to trying Matusalem's older siblings! If they are anywhere as good as the 15 year, I will be very pleased and impressed. Great representation of how tasty and popular rums hailing from the Dominican Republic really are!
Rum this complex should not be mixed and watered down, especially when their is a plethora of rums on the market geared towards mixing and at half the price or better.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan K from Canada with 7 ratings

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

If you're a fan of lighter bodied, yet deep, oaky tastes, this is imo the best dark rum/cost there is. Either poured on rocks or with a splash to 1:1 ratio with Coke, this rum defines the dark rum genre for me. Very tasty caramel/sugarcane front with a hefty rum burn to follow up. Delectable aftertaste leaves the palate asking for more. A must have in a collection.

Posted about 5 years ago by massoni from France with 1 rating

very disappointed with this one, not cheap but not as good as the name, not complexe, short taste and thin, without any character, It tasted good but just sweet and annoying .. i won't buy it again

Posted almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

You definitely get hold of the toffee and creamy aroma which reminds of dark chocolate bar. Hint of smokiness and oaky.
Sweet spices once you sip in, creamy milk chocolate, light citrus mouth feel. Sort of reminds me of the sweetness of cognac.
Silky and medium finishing. Lightly smoked with dried apricot aftertaste.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rocketman from United States with 9 ratings

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite

Posted over 3 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is a good rum. I see lots of bad reviews, but for a 15yr rum this is nice. Drink it straight, mix it. Sip it. It works for everything.

Posted about 4 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 14 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Notation Personnel : 6/10

Posted about 5 years ago by Erik from Norway with 17 ratings

I like this rum, but it is a little to sweet. So one drink with this is enough

Posted 14 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

I drank this a long long time ago. The only thing I can remember is that I wasn't really surprides or pleased at all and it showed because I never bought it again.

Posted about 1 year ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Good but a bit light and thin, remain good for the price and nice to sip. I come back to it regularly.

Posted about 1 year ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

I love the Matusalem rums.
Nice sipping, not overly sweet.
If you like this try the 18yo for not much more money.
Hope to get the 23yo soon.

Posted over 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Lots of fruit on the nose, warm through the middle, with hints of oak

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

With that ambiguous age statement you straight away know that this rum is all about appearances and marketing. Sure the average age of the rums used is 15 years but what about the quantities? It is very cuban, light, sweet, lots of caramel, a bit boozy and a bit watery. Good as a mixer and fine if nothing else on hand but not your first choice.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Toto je rum, ktorý nejako nenadchne, ani väčšinu neurazí. Podľa mňa ale veľmi priemerné pitie, tvorcovia sa mohli viac vyhrať. Na prvý nádych, typická rumová, ale málo výrazná, nie príliž zaujímavá vôňa. Skrátka plochá. Môžete zacítiť stopy vanilky, hrozienok, citrusov. Vyvážené, ale nevýrazné. Pokiaľ rum nenecháte dlhšie postáť v pohári, po prvom ochutnaní zacítite veľa alkoholu, ktorý sa postupne vytráca. Mierne nasladlý na jazyku, postupne zhorkne, dlhší záver. Na to, aký má Matusalem silný marketing, rum je len priemerný. Ale s Colou a limetkou je v poriadku...=) Ani 23jka nie je nic extra. Ale to zas inokedy.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

I don't get a huge nose, nice and even - almost basic. Taste is very mild, not much spice, smooth, butterscotch, oaky. Long tingly finish is nice. Great for beginners who like whiskey, little boring for more advanced.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Ein runder Ron
Sehr elegant und weich in der Nase, Karamell und Toffee.
Im Gaumen sehr angenehm süss, leider keine Ecken und Kanten
wirkt ein wenig zu rund geschliffen aber super lecker !
Ein Ron für Jeden und alle Tage !

A round Ron
Very elegant and soft in the nose, caramel and toffee.
In the palate very pleasant sweet, unfortunately no corners and edges
Looks a little too round but super delicious!
A Ron for everyone and every day !

Posted over 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Tried this rum at Paladar Latin Kitchen and Rum Bar, which has several locations in the US. I found the rum quite enjoyable and would not hesitate to purchase a bottle if I find it in PA. Somewhat sweet and quite smooth.

Posted over 3 years ago by Miguel from Uruguay with 40 ratings

Aceptable, aunque considerando añejamiento y precio, hay opciones muy superiores. Sabor y aroma fuertes.