Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.4/10 (547 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8
35
79
166
173
68
15
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


547 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 14 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Notation Personnel : 6/10

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This one was a disapointment for me.. A bit overrated from my friends. The taste is to much ethanol for me.. And to thin. It almost feels like somebody thinned it out with pure alcohol. It tasted good in cola but for the hefty price i would prefer to drink it as a zipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Claudio from Italy with 30 ratings

It's important to know that this was the first rum produced to be a sipper.
The first rum to use solera aging system, previously used only in sherry and spanish brandy making.
This is an icon, a symbol of what rum is.
Can we find something better at the 30€ price? Yes we can.
But this is still a very good rum, balanced, nothing extraordinary but a flawless spirit.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

One of my favorite things about Matusalem is how they enjoy reminding us of their great history, which begin in Cuba. They have awesome ads and really do a good job of getting you excited. Now, we all know, when these rum companies spend millions of dollars on advertising, that they are trying to over compensate for their lack of complexity / taste or they want us to know that their brand is for making frozen cocktails.

Matusalem is a stupendous, refined rum that is slightly above average sipper and mixer. It's beautiful in everyday - beautiful bottle, color, smell - but to be honest, I've used it more to spice up ice cream, milkshakes and cake, than make a cocktail out of it. At about $35 a pop, I'd personally still buy it because it's one of a kind: smooth, light, fragrant. I would recommend trying it as a digestif, instead of the typical port wine. But hey, if I could, I would replace every beverage with rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jacob Saaby Nielsen from Denmark with 20 ratings

If this rum was a sound, imagine going into a small room with dirty beige walls.

You scream from the top of your lungs, and you expect the sound to reverberate and echo.

But nothing. No echo. The sound stops when you stop. And that's it.

That's this rum. It doesn't make a dent anywhere.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

Too long ago to quite remember it, but I think it had too much of an ethanolic taste to me.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A little on the sweeter side but smooth and enjoyable to sip neat. I look forward to trying Matusalem's older siblings! If they are anywhere as good as the 15 year, I will be very pleased and impressed. Great representation of how tasty and popular rums hailing from the Dominican Republic really are!
Rum this complex should not be mixed and watered down, especially when their is a plethora of rums on the market geared towards mixing and at half the price or better.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan K from Canada with 7 ratings

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

If you're a fan of lighter bodied, yet deep, oaky tastes, this is imo the best dark rum/cost there is. Either poured on rocks or with a splash to 1:1 ratio with Coke, this rum defines the dark rum genre for me. Very tasty caramel/sugarcane front with a hefty rum burn to follow up. Delectable aftertaste leaves the palate asking for more. A must have in a collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by massoni from France with 1 rating

very disappointed with this one, not cheap but not as good as the name, not complexe, short taste and thin, without any character, It tasted good but just sweet and annoying .. i won't buy it again

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

You definitely get hold of the toffee and creamy aroma which reminds of dark chocolate bar. Hint of smokiness and oaky.
Sweet spices once you sip in, creamy milk chocolate, light citrus mouth feel. Sort of reminds me of the sweetness of cognac.
Silky and medium finishing. Lightly smoked with dried apricot aftertaste.