Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10(572 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
36
83
174
179
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

572 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

The nose is smooth with just a slight burn. Slightly nutty with some fruit but not the depth for a sipper. Mixed well with Coke but again not the depth to standout with a citrus soda. Enjoyed but will not stock.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Not the best sipping rum around, but at it's price it's worth using for drinks like Cuba Libres, as it by far smashes standard rums like Bacardi etc.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

Vil hellere skyde pengene efter 23'eren

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

I purchased on a lark and was pleasantly surprised by this lighter dark rum. I had straight up but would not recommend. It was delicious with cola...a nice froth and sweet finish. Good value too.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by John Papas from United States with 16 ratings

The Solara method really makes this rum quite smooth. Smooth rum at a budget price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Bought this once when in Mexico and couldn't ring my favorites. I think it's best used in mixed drinks. Was hoping to dip in a lime and sip it. A bit too harsh for that so went to the old standby of half Coke and half rum. The next day I couldn't say how good it was. A 7 from me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by toto2974 from Italy with 7 ratings

Il colore e' oro brillante.
Al naso si presenta con un ricco bouquet di frutta esotica dove la fa' da padrone la banana,e anche una buona nota di vaniglia.
Assolutamente l'odore che emana ti invita a bere questo nettare che evoca nell'immaginazione il caldo e i colori dei caraibi.
In bocca non si percepisce lo spessore del distillato,quello che precedentemente l'olfatto ne ha percepito ,svanisce come un'ape che punge e vola via!!!!

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Giuseppe from Italy with 33 ratings

alone or with chocholate...... very good

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Gerry from Switzerland with 15 ratings

great quality price, smell wonderfull and taste delicately.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Mads Bärenholdt from Denmark with 11 ratings

it has notes of raisins and dried fruit. Its also a little sharp for the nose. The taste of this rum is quite good if you are into rom who has a sharp body of alcohol.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Bruger kun min til cola.