Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10(572 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
36
83
174
179
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

572 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20201218 210910

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 61 ratings

The first sipping rum I ever purchased. Nice and smooth. Not too sweet. One I'll happily go back to.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by karl from United States with 10 ratings

good it as a present, checked it out but it 's not my taste
also the price seams to be good but lacks quiet a bit.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

Slyly just a little sweet, smooth, and a nice finish. Ron Matusalem 15 is very well done.

edited to add sugar test results- 5g

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

I was recently disappointed to find that this is flavored with prune and vanilla - and to make it worse, the original practice of using macerated prunes has been replaced by extract.

It is still a great tasting rum and a bargain at around $20, but I find it harder to consider it a serious contender to other genuine rums in the same style, such as Seales 10 year.

Edit : to reviewer Robin - you seem to give this rum a decent though not glowing review but then a rating of 1??? Did you make a mistake?

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

I enjoy using a pretty good rum to make my rum and coke (diet coke). This one works great, at a decent price.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by slawekr from Poland with 15 ratings

Compared to standard Matusalem seems very sweet, more delicate and less alcoholic taste.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Róbert Bezák from Slovakia with 28 ratings

Nothing special, as this is a 15yo reserva. Pale color, average nose, but for it's price about 25 EUR is not so bad 55%

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Vio from Romania with 6 ratings

Hmmm... it's a cognac, a good one, so the rating is irrelevant

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Mournroosirahc from Finland with 9 ratings

I have consumed couble of bottles, but it is not great or remarkable. I am not likely to buy more, because of rum scandal issue and personal incompatility with the taste.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Hemodypsea from United States with 20 ratings

It’s ok but not worth the cost. Steer towards the 10 year if you can find it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by jan291985! from Canada with 1 rating

It’s not superb sweet. It’s not full of junk. It’s just a smooth rum that you can drink on the rocks or pair with cola, gingerale, soda water etc.

It’s good with almost anything. I appreciate this rum because you can enjoy it several different ways.