Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10 (565 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8
35
82
173
178
71
15
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

565 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Think the wife brought me this back from a girls weekend in Spain so can't grumble too much. Wouldn't replace it if it gets finished although oddly it's one of my friends favourites.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Titomm from Canada with 64 ratings

Good but a bit light and thin, remain good for the price and nice to sip. I come back to it regularly.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Lots of fruit on the nose, warm through the middle, with hints of oak

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

With that ambiguous age statement you straight away know that this rum is all about appearances and marketing. Sure the average age of the rums used is 15 years but what about the quantities? It is very cuban, light, sweet, lots of caramel, a bit boozy and a bit watery. Good as a mixer and fine if nothing else on hand but not your first choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Toto je rum, ktorý nejako nenadchne, ani väčšinu neurazí. Podľa mňa ale veľmi priemerné pitie, tvorcovia sa mohli viac vyhrať. Na prvý nádych, typická rumová, ale málo výrazná, nie príliž zaujímavá vôňa. Skrátka plochá. Môžete zacítiť stopy vanilky, hrozienok, citrusov. Vyvážené, ale nevýrazné. Pokiaľ rum nenecháte dlhšie postáť v pohári, po prvom ochutnaní zacítite veľa alkoholu, ktorý sa postupne vytráca. Mierne nasladlý na jazyku, postupne zhorkne, dlhší záver. Na to, aký má Matusalem silný marketing, rum je len priemerný. Ale s Colou a limetkou je v poriadku...=) Ani 23jka nie je nic extra. Ale to zas inokedy.

Small 0

Posted over 3 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 110 ratings

I don't get a huge nose, nice and even - almost basic. Taste is very mild, not much spice, smooth, butterscotch, oaky. Long tingly finish is nice. Great for beginners who like whiskey, little boring for more advanced.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 389 ratings

Ein runder Ron
Sehr elegant und weich in der Nase, Karamell und Toffee.
Im Gaumen sehr angenehm süss, leider keine Ecken und Kanten
wirkt ein wenig zu rund geschliffen aber super lecker !
Ein Ron für Jeden und alle Tage !

A round Ron
Very elegant and soft in the nose, caramel and toffee.
In the palate very pleasant sweet, unfortunately no corners and edges
Looks a little too round but super delicious!
A Ron for everyone and every day !

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Tried this rum at Paladar Latin Kitchen and Rum Bar, which has several locations in the US. I found the rum quite enjoyable and would not hesitate to purchase a bottle if I find it in PA. Somewhat sweet and quite smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Miguel from Uruguay with 42 ratings

Aceptable, aunque considerando añejamiento y precio, hay opciones muy superiores. Sabor y aroma fuertes.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Yannick from Belgium with 36 ratings

Il n'est pas mauvais....mais pas aussi bon que le nom ou la bouteille le laisse supposer.
Au nez on retrouve, comme pour beaucoup d'autres, des notes de vanille et avec un peu d'originalité des notes de noyau.
En bouche rien d'extraordinaire, le feu de l'alcool gâche un peu le plaisir.
Au final on s’ennuie... comme avec le Botran 15 ans.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomas from Slovakia with 38 ratings

I think you can get much nicer rum for this price. Haven't provide anything what would catch my attention in this bottle. By saying this I don't want to sound like this is some garbage, still decent rum, just you can get better.