Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


526 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Makes a good rum and coke if you`re using Mexican cane cola.

Posted about 2 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 22 ratings

Enjoyable to do drink. Very smooth with a slight molasses taste. Good to sip on or mix.

Posted about 2 months ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 12 ratings

Beautiful date. Looks great, composed, pretty, smells nice. But when it comes down to it, there's no personality here! Especially for an expensive rum, there is so much more to be had! It does everything right. It's inoffensive, no off-odor and minimal funk as a Cuban-style rum normally has. The only problem is that it stops there. I would at least expect some interesting oak spice or round caramel notes, or maybe something interesting about the mouthfeel at this price point.

I have nothing to complain about in terms of taste or experience with this rum. Then again, I have nothing to praise either. And for above $50, there should definitely something to be praised. If you can find it for cheaper, maybe $30-$35, then it's definitely a steal. But for what I spent ($65) you should definitely get more.

Posted about 2 months ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 23 ratings

Good sipper. For my taste too much burn. For the price i think there's more rums to choose.

Posted about 2 months ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

No disappointments here
Strong flavour and powerful taste to sip on as you chill out mmmmm

Posted about 2 months ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

Back when I was just starting with rum this was a go to one. Living in Spain back then I had this all the time, but mostly mixed. But is worth sipping on its own occasionally

Posted about 2 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 12 ratings

I think that rum deserves 7 points, but I give 8 points because of the price! Little sweetness, vanilla, oak, tipical solera. Perfect for sip, and the brand have a great history from Santiago de Cuba, until the resurrection in Dominika, it’s a good choice.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Très bon rapport qualité/prix pour le boire seul sans accompagnement.

Posted 2 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

Opi ions vary, but i like it with a cube or two to mellow the sweetness and burn. Certainly worth a try. A bit more vanilla and fruit vs wood, but it works well.

Posted 2 months ago by Steve from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Nice, smooth, slightly sweet. Easy sipping and good sprouts flavour that lingers and fills your senses. I like it. It’s often in the cabinet.

Posted 2 months ago by Carbon from Denmark with 6 ratings

Decent for the price and a great smell, but it's a bit too harsh to really enjoy the flavours.

Posted 3 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

Not as good as the 23, but pretty solid non the less. Probably one of the best 15 year rums out there. Rich and full bodied. Molasses is right there...

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

First ever made to sip on the solera system... if anything try it for the history... more towards the sweet side a lot of chocolate on the taste.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

No good for this money. .

Posted 3 months ago by Miguel from Germany with 11 ratings

This is the rum that got me started on rum. Straight or with coke, just a great all rounder. I always have a bottle in my bar. Can't go wrong with 30 euros a bottle neither. Great beginners rum.

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

Rien de plus rien de moins. Je m'attendais à quelque chose de plus original !

Posted 3 months ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

Wanneer alle andere gekende mixers op zijn kan je zeker op deze terug vallen. Lekker, simpel en in evenwicht. Laat de zomer maar komen.

Posted 4 months ago by Samson from France with 10 ratings

Tres belle couleur dorée, gout tres fruité et agreable

Posted 4 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

A decent rum with good flavor. A little burny, when you sip. The harshness overpowers the flavors. I wound up using it as a mixer.

Posted 4 months ago by chris009 from Poland with 20 ratings

There is nothing special about this - to much alcohol in nose.
125pln/0,7 Auchan PL

Posted 4 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

I did not have big expectations from this one so it was solid suprise at the end. Aroma of vanilla, sugar cane and oak. In mouth has full body with flavours of vanilla, fruit and oak. Alcohol burn at the end.

Posted at Restaurante El Velero 4 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 40 ratings

Para un ron con tanto nombre esperaba más, esos 15 años no los he encontrado los tonos son bastante sutiles y el alcohol se nota bastante, por los 17'50 que pagué esperaba más

Posted 4 months ago by Terzi from Italy with 13 ratings

I didn't like the taste of the rum. It was to sweet.

Posted 4 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

An average rum. Not something to remember. If theres nothing to drink its a safe choice.

Posted 4 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 35 ratings

Mild rum with a truckload of vanilla !
Short finish...