Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10
576 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
37
84
175
180
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

576 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es un ron dulce con tonos a vainilla, antes me gustaba mucho pero ahora que conozco más rones ya lo me gusta tanto

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 27 ratings

Worlks well in coctails or desserts. Strong nose pf vanilla. Alcohol burn is relatively strong and it is not very complex in taste or aftertaste. It is not bad though...

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 11 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 79 ratings

I drank this a long long time ago. The only thing I can remember is that I wasn't really surprised or pleased at all and it showed because I never bought it again!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 65 ratings

Good but a bit light and thin, remain good for the price and nice to sip. I come back to it regularly.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 217 ratings

Too weak and thin with too much alcohol taste in my opinion. Works quite well as a mixer, but nothing I can recommend for zipping.
It was one of the first so called zipping Ron that I tasted and it’s more or less a miracle that my zipping rum journey didn’t stop there.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Lots of fruit on the nose, warm through the middle, with hints of oak

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

With that ambiguous age statement you straight away know that this rum is all about appearances and marketing. Sure the average age of the rums used is 15 years but what about the quantities? It is very cuban, light, sweet, lots of caramel, a bit boozy and a bit watery. Good as a mixer and fine if nothing else on hand but not your first choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Toto je rum, ktorý nejako nenadchne, ani väčšinu neurazí. Podľa mňa ale veľmi priemerné pitie, tvorcovia sa mohli viac vyhrať. Na prvý nádych, typická rumová, ale málo výrazná, nie príliž zaujímavá vôňa. Skrátka plochá. Môžete zacítiť stopy vanilky, hrozienok, citrusov. Vyvážené, ale nevýrazné. Pokiaľ rum nenecháte dlhšie postáť v pohári, po prvom ochutnaní zacítite veľa alkoholu, ktorý sa postupne vytráca. Mierne nasladlý na jazyku, postupne zhorkne, dlhší záver. Na to, aký má Matusalem silný marketing, rum je len priemerný. Ale s Colou a limetkou je v poriadku...=) Ani 23jka nie je nic extra. Ale to zas inokedy.

Small profile 1

Posted over 3 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 112 ratings

I don't get a huge nose, nice and even - almost basic. Taste is very mild, not much spice, smooth, butterscotch, oaky. Long tingly finish is nice. Great for beginners who like whiskey, little boring for more advanced.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 410 ratings

Ein runder Ron
Sehr elegant und weich in der Nase, Karamell und Toffee.
Im Gaumen sehr angenehm süss, leider keine Ecken und Kanten
wirkt ein wenig zu rund geschliffen aber super lecker !
Ein Ron für Jeden und alle Tage !

A round Ron
Very elegant and soft in the nose, caramel and toffee.
In the palate very pleasant sweet, unfortunately no corners and edges
Looks a little too round but super delicious!
A Ron for everyone and every day !

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

Tried this rum at Paladar Latin Kitchen and Rum Bar, which has several locations in the US. I found the rum quite enjoyable and would not hesitate to purchase a bottle if I find it in PA. Somewhat sweet and quite smooth.