Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10
576 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
37
84
175
180
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

576 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20201218 210910

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 61 ratings

The first sipping rum I ever purchased. Nice and smooth. Not too sweet. One I'll happily go back to.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 52 ratings

Good rum, average taste, nothing specific standing out.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Tom Campbell from Canada with 8 ratings

I really enjoy this one but it is too heavy on the vanilla for my palate. It overwhelms the taste but doesnt have a long finish. Its good but not great.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This rum is a bit harsh for me and does not fill the mouth with flavour. A little light and thin.
However it is a great rum once paired with ginger beer or coke.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

Too expensive for it's price, there is not like other rums of its category. Soft taste and poor notes of vanilla and tobacco.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I went through various phases in my life when it came to distilled spirits, such as single malt scotch, bourbon, and now rum again. Any time I wanted a very good affordable rum that was readily available in most fine supermarkets, Matusalem Gran Reserva 15 was it. I only drink it on the rocks and sometimes neat. I would not dream of wasting it as a mixer. The only problem with each bottle that I bought was that it never lasted more than a few days because it was so delicious as well as being an easy drinker. Since then, I have found several others that I rated equally and one other that I rated better (so far).

Update July 22, 2019: After writing reviews on here for the past 19 months, this one ranks in my upper 23% out of 260 reviews. However, from reading fellow reviews on Rum Ratings, I have found 58 rums that I like better than this one that I had never known about before (except for El Dorado 12). I hereby thank fellow reviewers for relegating this one to the lower end of my favorites. Go for the 18 year, which is much better. I have yet to find their 23 year.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

A bit pale in color, nice smoky taste with a bit of vanilla.. Dry. Pronounced alcohol after taste.

Ffffff

Posted at Van Reckem / Olivier over 3 years ago by UncleT from Belgium with 10 ratings

Niet uitzonderlijk maar gewoon lekker puur. Niet bombastisch vol en niet complex, niet overdreven kruidig maar toch te lekker om er gewoon een mixer van te maken. Minpunt, een heel korte nadronk. pluspunt, gewoon simpel lekker

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Allano from Canada with 22 ratings

Nothing overly special with this rum but still makes for some nice sipping over ice cubes.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un gran reserva imperdible en el bar de casa.
Delicioso aroma a roble con un sabor fuerte pero conserva su dulzura principal

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Not much here for 35 dollars was hoping for a little more