Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10
576 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
37
84
175
180
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

576 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20201218 210910

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 61 ratings

The first sipping rum I ever purchased. Nice and smooth. Not too sweet. One I'll happily go back to.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Christian S Johansen from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I've had worse, I've had better, but it's definitely not bad.
Whilst it does have a slight alcoholic taste to begin with, if you let it air for a bit I found that it almost disappeared

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by JRR from Canada with 37 ratings

I love Solera rum ... ! This is it ! Great spices and kick

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Philippe from Canada with 3 ratings

Some "expert" thought this bottle would be a good addition to my collection. He couldnt be more wrong. Lacks complexity and isnt my style of rhum. Happy for those who like it!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Bon rhum, rien d'incroyable, pas dispendieux alors ça vaut la peine d'avoir pour une collection

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Undefined from Sweden with 6 ratings

Smooth but still with a sticky aroma.
Smokey taste.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Angel from Mexico with 6 ratings

This is not an excellent rum but it's a good choice for beginners who want to start sipping. It's taste is acceptable and doesn't have a strong ethanol presence as other cheaper mixers. It is cheap, easy to find and tastes great with coke.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Матусалем 15 определённо уже отличается от 7и летнего и 10ти летнего Матусалема.
Этот матусалем уже можно посмаковать.
Запах спокойный, не жжет, совершенно «не бьет в нос».
В сущности своей это такой классический ром. Он определённо не ароматизированный. У напитка не будет очень насыщенного вкуса (в сравнении с другими Ромами, которые я пробовал из этой же ценовой категории). Но пьётся он очень легко. Его легко можно смаковать и по долгу держать во рту.
Но вот ещё одно личное наблюдение: когда бутылка заканчивалась уже, под конец вечера дегустации было ощущение, что и матусалем 15 превращается в матусалем 10. Из этого следует что напиваться этим напитком пожалуй не стоит. Можно только ухудшить его подоенную оценку.
Все три представленных рома на вчерашней дегустации были очень схожего окраса, но матусалем 15 все же был наиболее темным (в то время как 7ку и 10тку не отличить на вид).

Matusalem 7: 5+
Matusalem 10 Classico: 6
Matusalem 15 : 7 (6,7-6,8 ;) )

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Serge Dufresne from Canada with 17 ratings

Ce rhum n'a rien de particulier. Il existe de meilleurs rhums à prix égal.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Iván Plata from Mexico with 32 ratings

El olor me permite catalogarlo en un ron dulce, se puede beber con un para de hielos o con refresco de cola sin ningún problema.
Es un ron con un fuerte olor a caramelo y sabor dulce, la sensación de alcohol será perceptible pero no durará mucho.
Definitivamente recomendable.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 126 ratings

Bien, bon rhum qui se boit facilement. Mais déçu pour un 15 ans