Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10(572 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
36
83
174
179
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

572 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

The nose is smooth with just a slight burn. Slightly nutty with some fruit but not the depth for a sipper. Mixed well with Coke but again not the depth to standout with a citrus soda. Enjoyed but will not stock.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Rhum pas mauvais mais pas extraordinaire. Bon prix, souvent bu en Cuba libre!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Am looking forward to sampling Matusalems other expressions at the upcoming Cardiff Rum Festival I am told there are a total of 6 there so also hoping try an older expression.

Purchased from Amazon for around the £32 mark. I really enjoy this rum, im a fan of dominican rums but not usually solera expressions. But this is delicious wonderful as a sipper with cacao and coffee on the nose and the palate and rather smooth too I find it reminds me of a coffee liqueur at 15% rather than the 40% this is bottled at. It's ok as a mixer but I feel you can't really taste the rum with the flavours being too subtle but its rather nice on its own.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 128 ratings

:-)
Smell is ok.
Taste is ok.
Aftertaste is ok.
;-)

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Luka from Croatia with 17 ratings

Firstly it is not expensive.

The color is a little blend and a lot of rum reviewers will say as is the taste, but not for me.

The smell is cognacy complex and very gentle. I drank it neat and it was super complex, smooth jet gentle. It is at the same time woody, fruity and dry but in a very gentle pleasant way. Try not to sip at least 5 glasses in a row, I could not stop. I think I could drink the whole bottle in one sitting. I would also recommend to keep it in a fridge so when you drink it’s already cold.

Now, rocks and mixing is a big no no on this one. It loses all its gentle complexity.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Na tomhle jsem zacinal. Urcite zajimava vec za ty penize,ale rumova lahudka to neni. Da se z nej dobre michat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

I got this rum as a birthday gift and I must say I like it more than expected. It is not as powerful and full of flavours as a cuban, but neither as simple and smooth as a domincan quality rum. It's a like something between a Santiago 11 or Cubay 10 and a Barcelo Imperial. Ok for sipping, and very good in Cuba Libre. But the price is maybe a bit high for what it offers. Anyway, I would drink it again and again with pleasure.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Justin Wheeler from United States with 1 rating

Good sipperrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by David Dechene from Canada with 5 ratings

I prefer Demerara rums, but this is a great “Cuban style” rum that I will definitely buy again when the LCBO stocks it again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

It’s a lovely smooth sipper, over a nice big ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nicola from Italy with 15 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15 is a piece of my personal collection.
I prefer to drink this rum mixed in a cocktail.