Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10(572 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
36
83
174
179
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

572 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

The nose is smooth with just a slight burn. Slightly nutty with some fruit but not the depth for a sipper. Mixed well with Coke but again not the depth to standout with a citrus soda. Enjoyed but will not stock.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Matthew Murrey from United States with 2 ratings

Like many other reviewers on here, I found the Matusalem 15 decent all around but not spectacular. The aroma is fairly sweet and it has a light honey color. There is a bit of bite initially, but the aftertaste is better than expected. Overall, this is a rum I would share with casual acquaintances, but my best friends would get something better.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

good job for this money, of course it is not premium 15 Solera, looks like 8

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted over 2 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 177 ratings

Je n' étais pas attire par ce rhum moyennement noté mais un ami le l à proposé en apéritif.j ai étais surpris qu il ne soit pas mieux noté.car à 24€ en Espagne ce rhum cette assez simple fait ressortir des notes pruneaux sur un fond qui ressemble à un pampero et même si l'alcool reste un peu agressif en fond de bouche l ensemble reste sucré et globalement agréable.bien pour débuter dans le rhum.un rhum sans prétention mais qui vaut 7.2 pur moi.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

I bought this bottle after finnishing another Dominican Republic rum (Presidente-15 Year). After paying approximately the same amount of money and drinking the very first sip, I knew that buying this rum was a mistake. Very flat taste with something idescribable in the background, which I found very disturbing. I definitely do not recommend, the rum is not worth the money. Buy Presidente-15 Year instead. 40%

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Průměrný jehož vůně ani chuť nijak výrazně nezaujme

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by David from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Nice and spicy. Ethanol smell and tast is a little too much. Light body. But i liked it for one bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tommaso from Italy with 14 ratings

I edited my previous review because I purchased a bottle for the Year's Eve. It's quite plain tasting, with a sweetish vanilla aftertaste that reminds me of Captain Morgan's, albeit better and with less burn. I think it would be ok to mix with Cola, as I did, and certainly better than the aforementioned Morgan or Bacardi, yet I wouldn't recommend it alone.
An important side note: it doesn't come cheap, at least in my country. I believe that its price doesn't reflect its worth.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from Italy with 18 ratings

It has a bad strong taste that leaves nothing but bitterness. There are way better rums that come with the same price.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I like this rum. On the nose, it is oak, ethanol and toffee. It has a powerful leading alcohol kick, but then mellows back to oak and a creamy toffee. It has a certain amount of smokiness - which one associates with Cuba. It is a good rum to have with a cigar. I may raise this to a 7 in time, but for now, I'll just say that I liked in about the same as some of the Havana Clubs (even though it is different, being oakier and less smokey), but not as much as the best of them. It's weak point is probably it's after-taste - there is not as much of it as I'd hoped.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by dd639 from United States with 3 ratings

OK, I like it. I drink rum on the rocks and don't like 'em too sweet. My fallback rum is Myers and this is just a little better. I've had the Bacardi's low end, which I can't take, and the smoother rums (like Zacapa) which I like but are usually too sweet. So, this one's better than average, but my search continues. I hope that helps :-)