Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10 (567 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8
35
82
174
178
72
15
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

567 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20201218 210910

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 59 ratings

The first sipping rum I ever purchased. Nice and smooth. Not too sweet. One I'll happily go back to.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by David from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Nice and spicy. Ethanol smell and tast is a little too much. Light body. But i liked it for one bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tommaso from Italy with 14 ratings

I edited my previous review because I purchased a bottle for the Year's Eve. It's quite plain tasting, with a sweetish vanilla aftertaste that reminds me of Captain Morgan's, albeit better and with less burn. I think it would be ok to mix with Cola, as I did, and certainly better than the aforementioned Morgan or Bacardi, yet I wouldn't recommend it alone.
An important side note: it doesn't come cheap, at least in my country. I believe that its price doesn't reflect its worth.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from Italy with 18 ratings

It has a bad strong taste that leaves nothing but bitterness. There are way better rums that come with the same price.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I like this rum. On the nose, it is oak, ethanol and toffee. It has a powerful leading alcohol kick, but then mellows back to oak and a creamy toffee. It has a certain amount of smokiness - which one associates with Cuba. It is a good rum to have with a cigar. I may raise this to a 7 in time, but for now, I'll just say that I liked in about the same as some of the Havana Clubs (even though it is different, being oakier and less smokey), but not as much as the best of them. It's weak point is probably it's after-taste - there is not as much of it as I'd hoped.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by dd639 from United States with 3 ratings

OK, I like it. I drink rum on the rocks and don't like 'em too sweet. My fallback rum is Myers and this is just a little better. I've had the Bacardi's low end, which I can't take, and the smoother rums (like Zacapa) which I like but are usually too sweet. So, this one's better than average, but my search continues. I hope that helps :-)

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Rhum pas mauvais mais pas extraordinaire. Bon prix, souvent bu en Cuba libre!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Am looking forward to sampling Matusalems other expressions at the upcoming Cardiff Rum Festival I am told there are a total of 6 there so also hoping try an older expression.

Purchased from Amazon for around the £32 mark. I really enjoy this rum, im a fan of dominican rums but not usually solera expressions. But this is delicious wonderful as a sipper with cacao and coffee on the nose and the palate and rather smooth too I find it reminds me of a coffee liqueur at 15% rather than the 40% this is bottled at. It's ok as a mixer but I feel you can't really taste the rum with the flavours being too subtle but its rather nice on its own.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 128 ratings

:-)
Smell is ok.
Taste is ok.
Aftertaste is ok.
;-)

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Luka from Croatia with 17 ratings

Firstly it is not expensive.

The color is a little blend and a lot of rum reviewers will say as is the taste, but not for me.

The smell is cognacy complex and very gentle. I drank it neat and it was super complex, smooth jet gentle. It is at the same time woody, fruity and dry but in a very gentle pleasant way. Try not to sip at least 5 glasses in a row, I could not stop. I think I could drink the whole bottle in one sitting. I would also recommend to keep it in a fridge so when you drink it’s already cold.

Now, rocks and mixing is a big no no on this one. It loses all its gentle complexity.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Na tomhle jsem zacinal. Urcite zajimava vec za ty penize,ale rumova lahudka to neni. Da se z nej dobre michat.