Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10 (569 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8
36
82
173
179
72
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

569 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

The nose is smooth with just a slight burn. Slightly nutty with some fruit but not the depth for a sipper. Mixed well with Coke but again not the depth to standout with a citrus soda. Enjoyed but will not stock.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 66 ratings

Nice and smooth, hints of coffee, toffee, and baking spice- yum!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Eloi from Canada with 9 ratings

A friend offered me this bottle so I didn't really know what to expect, and at my first taste I thought it was great ! It's smooth, not too strong on the alcohool and great for sipping neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

bon rhum, plutot sec, agréable a boire, un peu plat

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ian Mack from United States with 5 ratings

I am always trying to buy a "gem" under $30, so I bought Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year. It was not a gem. It had overpower alcohol smell, dry....It is probably ok to mix with something, but would you wait 15 years to mix it with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Sam from Netherlands with 14 ratings

Very smooith, a bit of a harsh nose at first,but mellows out a bit over time. Very sippable and not too expensive. Also a great rum in the cocktail Dr. J, by Dave Arnold (not milkwashed).

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Bon rhum, goût de caramel, un peu astringent. Plus sec que le 18 ans mais bon a déguster avec ou sans glace.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 20 ratings

The rum is a SMOOTH sipping rum... more like a Rhum. It has a bit of a warmth or burn.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Matthew Murrey from United States with 2 ratings

Like many other reviewers on here, I found the Matusalem 15 decent all around but not spectacular. The aroma is fairly sweet and it has a light honey color. There is a bit of bite initially, but the aftertaste is better than expected. Overall, this is a rum I would share with casual acquaintances, but my best friends would get something better.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

good job for this money, of course it is not premium 15 Solera, looks like 8

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted over 2 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 163 ratings

Je n' étais pas attire par ce rhum moyennement noté mais un ami le l à proposé en apéritif.j ai étais surpris qu il ne soit pas mieux noté.car à 24€ en Espagne ce rhum cette assez simple fait ressortir des notes pruneaux sur un fond qui ressemble à un pampero et même si l'alcool reste un peu agressif en fond de bouche l ensemble reste sucré et globalement agréable.bien pour débuter dans le rhum.un rhum sans prétention mais qui vaut 7.2 pur moi.