Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


526 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Makes a good rum and coke if you`re using Mexican cane cola.

Posted over 5 years ago by Marax from Netherlands with 41 ratings

my first taste to matusalems, like it..

Posted over 5 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

Strong alcohol and little else. Least favorite rum since I started investigating "good" rums. I'll reserve the lowest ratings for Bacardi, Myers, etc.

Posted over 5 years ago by Francesco Spataro from Italy with 3 ratings

Colore ambrato rossastro. Dolce e fruttato ma non troppo con sentore di csramello e legno. Ottimo da sorseggiare liscio e accompagneto da cioccolato fondente fino.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bryan Sprang from Denmark with 21 ratings

Smells of light smoke and a little strong on the alcohol. Taste is some what complex with a slow burn that kicks in after.

Posted over 5 years ago by DrNovelo from Mexico with 27 ratings

rico y acompañable para reuniones, sabor dulce y fuerte, gran aroma!

Posted over 5 years ago by Tomazet from France with 17 ratings

Bon rhum mais il ne m'a.pas laissé un souvenir impérissable. Goûté une seule fois dans un bar à Rome.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mingo from Denmark with 4 ratings

A good honest rom - no fuss - sweet taste - needs a ice cube.

Posted over 5 years ago by maurizio from Italy with 5 ratings

Buon rum ma la prima volta che lo ho provato sono rimasto deluso: all'olfatto prevalgono sentori di frutta secca, in bocca mandorle e tabacco con finale non proprio lungo.

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

I expected alot,and was a bit disappointed.This rum won many prices,the bottle and paperbox looks fantastic,but the rum itself reminds me on light cuban rums,not really Dominican style. It's still a great rum which i would recommend to anyone,easy to sip,a little oak at the end but it lacks of a taste-explosion like a Diplomatico.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott from United States with 13 ratings

I don't understand the lower rating for this Rum. I found it to be very tasty w/o having to become overly sweet to achieve it.

Brown sugar, spice and everything nice. I even get hints of banana and some cashew.

Price point in the US is excellent.

Posted over 5 years ago by Denis Mazzucato from Italy with 16 ratings

Poco complesso al naso, poco complesso in bocca. Poco intenso al naso, poco intenso in bocca.
Il poco che lascia non è male, ma tutto sommato è un rum abbastanza inutile.

Posted over 5 years ago by Thomas Tom from Denmark with 13 ratings

A bit to small and a bit to smokey taste for me.
You may think different.

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

A standard mid range rum, smooth enough to not need ice, good round flavour but no real defining characteristics to make it stand out from the crowd.

Posted over 5 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Nice spicy flavour amazing with coke and a slice of lime.

Posted over 5 years ago by Robin BERTHIER from Belgium with 21 ratings

Nice rum tot drink, tot my taste a bit beter on the rocks. A bit top dry tot my personal taste, I like more sweet rums. But for a nice change it suits me.

Posted over 5 years ago by Andreas Woelk from Germany with 65 ratings

Gewöhnungsbedürftig im Geschmack. Zum mixen mit Coke gut. Preis/Leistung ok

Posted over 5 years ago by Brian Bak from Denmark with 20 ratings

En meget let og ekstremt sprittet rom, der både i duft og smag er en tynd omgang. Der er lidt røgtoner i smagen, men den udvikler sig minimalt. Det er en rom der bider i kinderne uden at efterlade ret meget til ganen. Dette er til dato en af de ringeste rom jeg har prøvet.

Den kunne muligvis med held anvendes til drinks 👎

Posted over 5 years ago by -No-oN- from France with 20 ratings

Good quality for the price!Light rum, very pleasant, easy to drink, perfect with friends!

Posted over 5 years ago by Thijs Vrijburg from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Lekker rummertje prijs 34 euro zeker de moeite waard

Posted over 5 years ago by Jeroen from NL with 14 ratings

De lekkerste voor in de cola tot nu toe... Stuk duurder dan een Oakheart of morgan

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Nice aroma with butterscotch and vanilla. A light golden colour with thin but suprisingly clingy, oily legs. The palate is not paticulary sweet or complex but very smooth. You get a subtle tone of vanilla, tobaco and wood. The afterburn is short and smooth.

Posted almost 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I sampled this rum after an exceptional meal, at an exceptional restaurant, on an exceptional Caribbean island. Cuba, it said. Cuba, it promised. And Cuba it delivered. But only partly.

This rum is in fact not made in Cuba, rather the DR. It's also a solera rum, and that possibly accounts for why the Cuban lightness and smokiness are not as apparent here as in the truly-Cuba products from Havana Club and Varadero. Against those, it probably had more flavor complexity (though not aroma complexity), surely due to its age. But the practical guy in me can't light up the greater expense with the diminished Cuban-ness. Perhaps I should have judged it directly against some of its DR competitors? Not with that word on the bottle...

Posted almost 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Plutôt insipide au départ, en le laissant s'ouvrir un peu on découvre des notes de cacao, vanille, cannelle... en bouche ça reste très léger avec toujours la vanille et un boisé plutôt agréable.
Il s'agit d'un rhum de "tradition espagnole", donc assez léger, agréable mais qui manque un peu de corps à mon gout.

Posted almost 6 years ago by scornos from France with 14 ratings

Rapporté à son prix, ce rhum est une bonne affaire.