Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


529 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F85c7ff2693845c9da5f90f1aa46f3cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 51 ratings

It's not overwhelmingly sweet. I see what others are talking about with the ethanol taste but it is not overwhelming, either. It has a unique aftertaste - vanilla? - but it's long after the booze leaves your tongue. Would buy if it was on sale, probably wouldn't pay full price for a bottle.

1259a856564d5d83774ba379fa830766.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Serge Dufresne from Canada with 17 ratings

Ce rhum n'a rien de particulier. Il existe de meilleurs rhums à prix égal.

6c5e03b2ac485babead7f62e9bf9e929.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Iván Plata from Mexico with 32 ratings

El olor me permite catalogarlo en un ron dulce, se puede beber con un para de hielos o con refresco de cola sin ningún problema.
Es un ron con un fuerte olor a caramelo y sabor dulce, la sensación de alcohol será perceptible pero no durará mucho.
Definitivamente recomendable.

4b0ab8327dad1f72500d412b3f88dc4e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Bien, bon rhum qui se boit facilement. Mais déçu pour un 15 ans

D41cbdee48eb0bb20dd9e80666d63d04.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Good rum, average taste, nothing specific standing out.

Df4e5bfc648953f70e6d54dc63cd1c81.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom Campbell from Canada with 8 ratings

I really enjoy this one but it is too heavy on the vanilla for my palate. It overwhelms the taste but doesnt have a long finish. Its good but not great.

256e67e3172548e25c4d7f800a62721b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Nick clare from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This rum is a bit harsh for me and does not fill the mouth with flavour. A little light and thin.
However it is a great rum once paired with ginger beer or coke.

66bb1f841da1b3d8970dae744cb07bdd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

Too expensive for it's price, there is not like other rums of its category. Soft taste and poor notes of vanilla and tobacco.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I went through various phases in my life when it came to distilled spirits, such as single malt scotch, bourbon, and now rum again. Any time I wanted a very good affordable rum that was readily available in most fine supermarkets, Matusalem Gran Reserva 15 was it. I only drink it on the rocks and sometimes neat. I would not dream of wasting it as a mixer. The only problem with each bottle that I bought was that it never lasted more than a few days because it was so delicious as well as being an easy drinker. Since then, I have found several others that I rated equally and one other that I rated better (so far).

Update July 22, 2019: After writing reviews on here for the past 19 months, this one ranks in my upper 23% out of 260 reviews. However, from reading fellow reviews on Rum Ratings, I have found 58 rums that I like better than this one that I had never known about before (except for El Dorado 12). I hereby thank fellow reviewers for relegating this one to the lower end of my favorites. Go for the 18 year, which is much better. I have yet to find their 23 year.

03a4e5068d271526101a45553a24dc73.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

A bit pale in color, nice smoky taste with a bit of vanilla.. Dry. Pronounced alcohol after taste.

4251003213e4a7cf9791ad8d1f62712b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Van Reckem / Olivier over 2 years ago by UncleT from Belgium with 10 ratings

Niet uitzonderlijk maar gewoon lekker puur. Niet bombastisch vol en niet complex, niet overdreven kruidig maar toch te lekker om er gewoon een mixer van te maken. Minpunt, een heel korte nadronk. pluspunt, gewoon simpel lekker