Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10 (555 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8
35
81
169
175
69
15
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


555 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

The nose is smooth with just a slight burn. Slightly nutty with some fruit but not the depth for a sipper. Mixed well with Coke but again not the depth to standout with a citrus soda. Enjoyed but will not stock.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rocketman from United States with 9 ratings

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is a good rum. I see lots of bad reviews, but for a 15yr rum this is nice. Drink it straight, mix it. Sip it. It works for everything.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 14 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Notation Personnel : 6/10

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erik from Norway with 17 ratings

I like this rum, but it is a little to sweet. So one drink with this is enough

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 308 ratings

Společnost Matusalem & Company byla založena bratry Benjaminem a Eduardem Campovými, kteří opustili Španělsko a usadili se na Kubě za účelem zřízení lihovaru. V roce 1872 založili bratři Campové spolu se svým partnerem Evaristo Alvarezem značku Matusalem v Santiagu de Cuba. Campové využili svých znalostí systému Solera a destilace z výroby španělské brandy. Jméno "Matusalem" je španělská obdoba jména Metuzalém, což byl patriarcha zmiňovaný v bibli, přesněji ve Starém Zákoně, první knize Mojžíšově, který údajně žil 969 let. Jméno bylo vybráno jako odkaz na proces stárnutí a je narážkou na populární španělské rčení "Mas que Matusalem Viejo", což znamená "starší než Metuzalém."
V roce 1912 se Benjamin Camp vrátil do Španělska, takže společnost ponechal v rukou jeho bratra Eduarda. Rodiny Campů a Alvarezů se spojily, když se dcera Evaristy Alvareze provdala za syna Eduarda Campa. Firma se dále rozvíjela a dobré jméno získala ve třicátých letech během prohibice, kdy byla Kuba oblíbenou destinací amerických turistů.
Ve 40. letech už společnost ovládala polovinu produkce rumu na celé Kubě. Rodina však musela po kubánské revoluci v roce 1959 odejít do exilu ve Spojených státech. Kubánská vláda pokračovala ve výrobě rumu ve stejném lihovaru pod názvem Ron Santiago.
Značka pak byla dlouhá léta nevyužita, a to z důvodu svárů mezi jednotlivými větvemi rodiny. Až Dr. Claudio Alvarez Salazar, pravnuk zakladatele, v roce 1995 převzal po mimosoudním vyrovnání správu nad společností. V roce 2002 byla společnost Matusalem and Company obnovena a zařadila se opět mezi výrobce prémiových rumů v Karibiku. Dnes je Matusalem vyráběn v Dominikánské republice osvědčeným systémem Solera.
Zraje v sudech z francouzského dubu.Směs rumů starých až 15 let.
Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: První dojem po přivonění je podařená rumová vyzrálost, vůně je sametová, můžete rozpoznat melasu, čokoládu, koženou brašnu, dub. (85 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku napřed velmi jemný, po pár vteřinách se rozvine, probouzí se mírná nasládlost, dřevitost a začne hřát a lehce štípat. V dochuti je Matusalem štiplavý až lehce pálivý, suchý, výrazem připomíná spíš koňak. (83 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Testoval jsem nejdřív s Ron Barceló Imperial (soukmenovec z Dominikánské republiky) a pak s Abuelo Añejo (Panama). Skončil uprostřed, na Imperial, který je výraznější, nestačil. Přesto je moje první setkání s "kubánským" rumem podařené. Určitě stojí za vyzkoušení. Mě zaujal více svou vůní, než v chuti, ale tohle je už otázka vkusu, někomu svou jemností bude imponovat víc.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by GioTheDrifter from Thailand with 4 ratings

One of the best aged rum at the price, dark, smooth almost dry. For straight or on the rock.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Mr Coone from Belgium with 7 ratings

Bottle has been open for several weeks before tasting

Light intense copper colour with small water edge.
Intense in the nose with aroma's of vanilla, brown sugar and some dusty hint I'm having the whole time with this bottle already. I think it's a flaw.
Very strong on the palate with alcohol which is a little bit out of balance.
Aroma's of wood, vanilla, orange peel, spices and a little bit brandy-ish
Long finish
Score: 83/100

This is the rum which made me fall in love with rum, when I first tasted it.
I still very much like this rum, but I think there is a flaw in this bottle (don't know if this is possible for distillates?), or I have already tasted too many others

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

15 Jahre Solera. Da hätte ich mehr erwartet. Guter Durchschnitt.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Worlks well in coctails or desserts. Strong nose pf vanilla. Alcohol burn is relatively strong and it is not very complex in taste or aftertaste. It is not bad though...

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 70 ratings

I drank this a long long time ago. The only thing I can remember is that I wasn't really surprides or pleased at all and it showed because I never bought it again.