Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10
587 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
8
37
85
181
182
74
16
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

587 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jonas Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

Udmærket rom, men ikke min favorit...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rocketman from United States with 9 ratings

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is a good rum. I see lots of bad reviews, but for a 15yr rum this is nice. Drink it straight, mix it. Sip it. It works for everything.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 14 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Notation Personnel : 6/10

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 203 ratings

Sugar: 5 gpl. Decent rum most suited as a high end mixer. It could be a sipping rum in a pinch. Caramel, oak, and perhaps a trace of tobacco or almonds in the taste. Smooth with little burn but it has a short finish. The 18 year old is a better pick for sipping but it's too pricey as a mixer. The 15 is a good all purpose rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Erik from Norway with 17 ratings

I like this rum, but it is a little to sweet. So one drink with this is enough

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 319 ratings

Společnost Matusalem & Company byla založena bratry Benjaminem a Eduardem Campovými, kteří opustili Španělsko a usadili se na Kubě za účelem zřízení lihovaru. V roce 1872 založili bratři Campové spolu se svým partnerem Evaristo Alvarezem značku Matusalem v Santiagu de Cuba. Campové využili svých znalostí systému Solera a destilace z výroby španělské brandy. Jméno "Matusalem" je španělská obdoba jména Metuzalém, což byl patriarcha zmiňovaný v bibli, přesněji ve Starém Zákoně, první knize Mojžíšově, který údajně žil 969 let. Jméno bylo vybráno jako odkaz na proces stárnutí a je narážkou na populární španělské rčení "Mas que Matusalem Viejo", což znamená "starší než Metuzalém."
V roce 1912 se Benjamin Camp vrátil do Španělska, takže společnost ponechal v rukou jeho bratra Eduarda. Rodiny Campů a Alvarezů se spojily, když se dcera Evaristy Alvareze provdala za syna Eduarda Campa. Firma se dále rozvíjela a dobré jméno získala ve třicátých letech během prohibice, kdy byla Kuba oblíbenou destinací amerických turistů.
Ve 40. letech už společnost ovládala polovinu produkce rumu na celé Kubě. Rodina však musela po kubánské revoluci v roce 1959 odejít do exilu ve Spojených státech. Kubánská vláda pokračovala ve výrobě rumu ve stejném lihovaru pod názvem Ron Santiago.
Značka pak byla dlouhá léta nevyužita, a to z důvodu svárů mezi jednotlivými větvemi rodiny. Až Dr. Claudio Alvarez Salazar, pravnuk zakladatele, v roce 1995 převzal po mimosoudním vyrovnání správu nad společností. V roce 2002 byla společnost Matusalem and Company obnovena a zařadila se opět mezi výrobce prémiových rumů v Karibiku. Dnes je Matusalem vyráběn v Dominikánské republice osvědčeným systémem Solera.
Zraje v sudech z francouzského dubu.Směs rumů starých až 15 let.
Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: První dojem po přivonění je podařená rumová vyzrálost, vůně je sametová, můžete rozpoznat melasu, čokoládu, koženou brašnu, dub. (85 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku napřed velmi jemný, po pár vteřinách se rozvine, probouzí se mírná nasládlost, dřevitost a začne hřát a lehce štípat. V dochuti je Matusalem štiplavý až lehce pálivý, suchý, výrazem připomíná spíš koňak. (83 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Testoval jsem nejdřív s Ron Barceló Imperial (soukmenovec z Dominikánské republiky) a pak s Abuelo Añejo (Panama). Skončil uprostřed, na Imperial, který je výraznější, nestačil. Přesto je moje první setkání s "kubánským" rumem podařené. Určitě stojí za vyzkoušení. Mě zaujal více svou vůní, než v chuti, ale tohle je už otázka vkusu, někomu svou jemností bude imponovat víc.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jipla from Belgium with 65 ratings

Good tasting rum for a reasonable price. Nice colorant older looking bottle design

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by OmrWout from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Ok rum, but not the best one in this price range...you better take el dorado or diplomatico

Small img 0819

Posted 5 months ago by Morten Graenge from Denmark with 71 ratings

Jeg drak denne rom rent, og jeg må sige at det ikke var nogen stor oplevelse. Den er alt for sprittet, med en lang og dårlig eftersmag.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by GioTheDrifter from Thailand with 5 ratings

One of the best aged rum at the price, dark, smooth almost dry. For straight or on the rock.