Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


526 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

It's not overwhelmingly sweet. I see what others are talking about with the ethanol taste but it is not overwhelming, either. It has a unique aftertaste - vanilla? - but it's long after the booze leaves your tongue. Would buy if it was on sale, probably wouldn't pay full price for a bottle.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Yannick from Belgium with 36 ratings

Il n'est pas mauvais....mais pas aussi bon que le nom ou la bouteille le laisse supposer.
Au nez on retrouve, comme pour beaucoup d'autres, des notes de vanille et avec un peu d'originalité des notes de noyau.
En bouche rien d'extraordinaire, le feu de l'alcool gâche un peu le plaisir.
Au final on s’ennuie... comme avec le Botran 15 ans.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomas from Slovakia with 38 ratings

I think you can get much nicer rum for this price. Haven't provide anything what would catch my attention in this bottle. By saying this I don't want to sound like this is some garbage, still decent rum, just you can get better.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

Very nice rum. Sweet and litle bit spicy. This is very good party rum for me.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

Rien à dire de plus !

5/10, prix un peu trop cher pour la qualité du produit

Posted about 4 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

So happy to have found it on sale with my student budget. Still the great quality I expect from Matusalem. Very smooth, slightly sweet, no overwhelming wood.

Posted about 4 years ago by CHARLES NOCKELS from Luxembourg with 5 ratings

Starker rum .
Könnt vieleicht ein bischen mehr mild und süss sein .
Aroma sehr gut .
Mein lieblins rum für cocktails.

Posted about 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

This is a great value rum; at only 40 bucks I usually find myself drinking this as an everyday rum.
It's smooth and tasty and maybe the only negative comment is; it doesn't have much depth.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Very sweet with vanilla flavor no complexity and no aftertaste. Square and simple, good exemple of solera method. Good for beginners and to finish a dinner but no more. Need to taste 18Y & 23Y to refine my assessment of Matusalem rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jakub Hrebenar from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Not too sweet in tastem but with a nice sweetish smell. I just love this rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Smells and tastes of oak, caramel, spice, with a touch of honey. Aftertaste is a little harsh, but not too bad.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 5 gpl. Decent rum most suited as a high end mixer. It could be a sipping rum in a pinch. Caramel, oak, and perhaps a trace of tobacco or almonds in the taste. Smooth with little burn but it has a short finish. The 18 year old is a better pick for sipping but it's too pricey as a mixer. The 15 is a good all purpose rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by karl from United States with 10 ratings

good it as a present, checked it out but it 's not my taste
also the price seams to be good but lacks quiet a bit.

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Slyly just a little sweet, smooth, and a nice finish. Ron Matusalem 15 is very well done.

edited to add sugar test results- 5g

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Společnost Matusalem & Company byla založena bratry Benjaminem a Eduardem Campovými, kteří opustili Španělsko a usadili se na Kubě za účelem zřízení lihovaru. V roce 1872 založili bratři Campové spolu se svým partnerem Evaristo Alvarezem značku Matusalem v Santiagu de Cuba. Campové využili svých znalostí systému Solera a destilace z výroby španělské brandy. Jméno "Matusalem" je španělská obdoba jména Metuzalém, což byl patriarcha zmiňovaný v bibli, přesněji ve Starém Zákoně, první knize Mojžíšově, který údajně žil 969 let. Jméno bylo vybráno jako odkaz na proces stárnutí a je narážkou na populární španělské rčení "Mas que Matusalem Viejo", což znamená "starší než Metuzalém."
V roce 1912 se Benjamin Camp vrátil do Španělska, takže společnost ponechal v rukou jeho bratra Eduarda. Rodiny Campů a Alvarezů se spojily, když se dcera Evaristy Alvareze provdala za syna Eduarda Campa. Firma se dále rozvíjela a dobré jméno získala ve třicátých letech během prohibice, kdy byla Kuba oblíbenou destinací amerických turistů.
Ve 40. letech už společnost ovládala polovinu produkce rumu na celé Kubě. Rodina však musela po kubánské revoluci v roce 1959 odejít do exilu ve Spojených státech. Kubánská vláda pokračovala ve výrobě rumu ve stejném lihovaru pod názvem Ron Santiago.
Značka pak byla dlouhá léta nevyužita, a to z důvodu svárů mezi jednotlivými větvemi rodiny. Až Dr. Claudio Alvarez Salazar, pravnuk zakladatele, v roce 1995 převzal po mimosoudním vyrovnání správu nad společností. V roce 2002 byla společnost Matusalem and Company obnovena a zařadila se opět mezi výrobce prémiových rumů v Karibiku. Dnes je Matusalem vyráběn v Dominikánské republice osvědčeným systémem Solera.
Zraje v sudech z francouzského dubu.Směs rumů starých až 15 let.
Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: První dojem po přivonění je podařená rumová vyzrálost, vůně je sametová, můžete rozpoznat melasu, čokoládu, koženou brašnu, dub. (85 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku napřed velmi jemný, po pár vteřinách se rozvine, probouzí se mírná nasládlost, dřevitost a začne hřát a lehce štípat. V dochuti je Matusalem štiplavý až lehce pálivý, suchý, výrazem připomíná spíš koňak. (83 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Testoval jsem nejdřív s Ron Barceló Imperial (soukmenovec z Dominikánské republiky) a pak s Abuelo Añejo (Panama). Skončil uprostřed, na Imperial, který je výraznější, nestačil. Přesto je moje první setkání s "kubánským" rumem podařené. Určitě stojí za vyzkoušení. Mě zaujal více svou vůní, než v chuti, ale tohle je už otázka vkusu, někomu svou jemností bude imponovat víc.

Posted about 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I was recently disappointed to find that this is flavored with prune and vanilla - and to make it worse, the original practice of using macerated prunes has been replaced by extract.

It is still a great tasting rum and a bargain at around $20, but I find it harder to consider it a serious contender to other genuine rums in the same style, such as Seales 10 year.

Edit : to reviewer Robin - you seem to give this rum a decent though not glowing review but then a rating of 1??? Did you make a mistake?

Posted over 7 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

I enjoy using a pretty good rum to make my rum and coke (diet coke). This one works great, at a decent price.

Posted 2 days ago by tmsharp from Puerto Rico with 11 ratings

Good memories with this one. Good for a Tuesday evening drink.

Posted 14 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Love this rum! Very affordable, great balance, really nice! Will be always refilled.

Posted 21 days ago by quadramon from Italy with 1 rating

Quite good rum with a good price/qualità ratio. Nice smell of vanille, long lasting in mouth, smooth. To much alcoholic at the beginning. After some minutes and warm up, It works Better.

Posted 24 days ago by sergiulescu from Romania with 6 ratings

Nice taste, but it doesn't make it in the Champions League

Posted 25 days ago by Indian1 from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Sweeter rum, with dark colour and well balanced taste. But The rum taste is not intensive. Very good neutral taste rum.

Posted 27 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

První ochutnávka přináší velmi příjemný pocit, jak se postupně dostáváme z pevnosti měkkého, lehkého pálení k chuti citrusů a koření, následované karamelem a tmavým ovocem. Je to skoro jako bych pil dva rumy najednou – mladý a starý. Jak objevuji víc, cítim papriku, všehochuť a trochu prachové tóny dubu. Rum se trefuje do zadní strany krku chutí zralých švestek s náznakem čutní. Když se pozastavím, abych si mohl užít závěr, má ústa se zůstávají v pocitu radosti, a jak postupně mizí lehké tóny, vyplývá na povrch chuť koření na pečení a karamelizovaného cukru.

Posted about 1 month ago by TempleOfSunset from Italy with 32 ratings

Golden spirit, quite industrial alcholic note. Solera aging, so nothing special at all... it is a very basic rum, I’ve tried both the cuban and the rest of the world version and the cuban one is slightly better. Very entry level and basic one, good choice only if you don’t have much money to spend since it has a good quality/cost range.

Posted about 1 month ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 6/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 6/10