Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10 (530 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
32
76
164
166
66
14
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


530 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3f7c434aa73b0f3e3634f7bbeb79deb0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Can't really put my finger on it, but it's not to my liking.

996810baf7e6e67c8baf4e876bc5e639.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rocketman from United States with 9 ratings

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite

5f97a13fbf6ef970976f8b3342f9dc7c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is a good rum. I see lots of bad reviews, but for a 15yr rum this is nice. Drink it straight, mix it. Sip it. It works for everything.

39a5db5e1ba4874c8e8ce1c7621ec48a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 14 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Notation Personnel : 6/10

3f4fe3cb4463be7d3691def72931df2a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Erik from Norway with 17 ratings

I like this rum, but it is a little to sweet. So one drink with this is enough

D75811ab508d09a5c9536970094367a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

I drank this a long long time ago. The only thing I can remember is that I wasn't really surprides or pleased at all and it showed because I never bought it again.

96e9bc451b80b665b4c1df57bbee2e8d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Good but a bit light and thin, remain good for the price and nice to sip. I come back to it regularly.

1c6488ee1589ac2651db079b802e06d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Lots of fruit on the nose, warm through the middle, with hints of oak

3e75be6535cc7342c01331905c8e3036.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

With that ambiguous age statement you straight away know that this rum is all about appearances and marketing. Sure the average age of the rums used is 15 years but what about the quantities? It is very cuban, light, sweet, lots of caramel, a bit boozy and a bit watery. Good as a mixer and fine if nothing else on hand but not your first choice.

Cb1e81b1fc20faf14cdd80e1b946b272.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Toto je rum, ktorý nejako nenadchne, ani väčšinu neurazí. Podľa mňa ale veľmi priemerné pitie, tvorcovia sa mohli viac vyhrať. Na prvý nádych, typická rumová, ale málo výrazná, nie príliž zaujímavá vôňa. Skrátka plochá. Môžete zacítiť stopy vanilky, hrozienok, citrusov. Vyvážené, ale nevýrazné. Pokiaľ rum nenecháte dlhšie postáť v pohári, po prvom ochutnaní zacítite veľa alkoholu, ktorý sa postupne vytráca. Mierne nasladlý na jazyku, postupne zhorkne, dlhší záver. Na to, aký má Matusalem silný marketing, rum je len priemerný. Ale s Colou a limetkou je v poriadku...=) Ani 23jka nie je nic extra. Ale to zas inokedy.

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

I don't get a huge nose, nice and even - almost basic. Taste is very mild, not much spice, smooth, butterscotch, oaky. Long tingly finish is nice. Great for beginners who like whiskey, little boring for more advanced.