Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10 (535 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
33
78
164
167
66
15
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


535 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4eb36190a963506e34b5496e45e2d86e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Makes a good rum and coke if you`re using Mexican cane cola.

46b225d2af04c919aa49bebd9ea48b39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by David Dechene from Canada with 5 ratings

I prefer Demerara rums, but this is a great “Cuban style” rum that I will definitely buy again when the LCBO stocks it again.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

It’s a lovely smooth sipper, over a nice big ice cube.

04016fd9d8fc7e6efcd8510a82180363.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Nicola from Italy with 15 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15 is a piece of my personal collection.
I prefer to drink this rum mixed in a cocktail.

Ca51c9ca211e7d3f09f62ac2589fbfa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

After the first tasting you want to raise a pirate flag, shout Hooray! and go to the ocean to plunder the trading ships. With those words I rate the strength of this rum. In aroma and taste is very strong to aggressive, although it tastes quite sweet. Probably in the future it will not be my favorite, but it's not quite bad. He will surely find his fans, and he has a pretty nice bottle.

338cb8eceb0053308dbefde3845d68fa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Actually I kind a like this rum. The truth is it has a bit of ethanol taste but it is definitely not tasteless. Six and half would be adequate...

Ee16bb421fcc7f60ca214ec514c0259d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

This was my second rhum label what I ever tasted. So kind of second love for me. Still when I see this I'll have to take it! <3

B2ed782e0b04aa1a14c131dd74d21842.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

Perfectly flavoured with a edgy aftertaste that says “yes i drink rum”
Not as smooth as you might expect for a 15 year product but well priced to deliver excellent value for a regular “go to” rum

C5ab870fab8c05c1b2f73a9ca43fa0cf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Maybe someone likes it but I know I won't buy anymore.

Mot much smell, strong, no bouquet

E5a0397bd49a83143e23f695c3db691b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tof68 from France with 16 ratings

Assez déçu par ce rhum qui est très sur l'alcool et possède une complexité aromatique trop limitée à mon sens.

4241469f8b34c0b3c0c004b0fc40c3e3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Christian S Johansen from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I've had worse, I've had better, but it's definitely not bad.
Whilst it does have a slight alcoholic taste to begin with, if you let it air for a bit I found that it almost disappeared