Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


525 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

It's not overwhelmingly sweet. I see what others are talking about with the ethanol taste but it is not overwhelming, either. It has a unique aftertaste - vanilla? - but it's long after the booze leaves your tongue. Would buy if it was on sale, probably wouldn't pay full price for a bottle.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Its uneventful for 15 years.
15 year rum should be a smooth sipper at this age, but its not. Very harsh upfront burn which shouldn't be existent in this age of a rum. So I highly recommend drinking it with cola (I prefer diet coke). Even in coke its only So-So the last guy said "thin" and I think that is an amazing description. Some rums are bold and have distinctive flavors.Which makes sense because even sniffing the rum from the bottle you dont get any distinct smell besides some alcohol. This is similar to appleton estate v/x rum with a different cask taste. So the choice is yours go appleton estate v/x which is 17$ a fifth or this which is around 40$ a fifth with limited availability.
Cliff Notes
-Harsh upfront burn (not a great sipper)
-No real bold flavor
-Sweet Finish
-No smell from bottle (which translates into the no flavour)
-Similar to appleton estate v/x (I think appleton estate is better however)

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

I started my rum hobby with this one and I have a special relation ship to it. I even offered it at my wedding in stead of cognac and a lot of people tried their first sipping rums with the 15 yo Matusalem as well. It is in no means a bad rum, but in retrospect after tasting so many good rums this can't hold up to many standards. It is not smooth not balanced and burns in the finish. It still has some charm and is still too good to be a mixer. It is priced reasonable, therefore still worth a 7.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Christer Johansen from Norway with 3 ratings

To much ethanol taste and not overly complex.
Decent for sipping but there are better ones out there.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Very hot, average flavors, and too hot of a finish. Not worth your time.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Ron Zacapa Centenario 15 Rum - er lige skrap nok i smagen

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I admit I have not had the opportunity to try an actual Cuban rum. Maybe those days are over as the US thaw's our relationship with that island country. I want to know if reality of rums and cigars are as good as the mystique. I liked this and the 18 year very much.

Posted about 5 years ago by DUJ from France with 18 ratings

Lui, j'ai du mal a finir la bouteille.
Il n'est pas mauvais, mais il est trop fort en bouche pour moi. Je préfère les rhums plus doux et plus parfumés.

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

trop d'alcool sur le palais, manque de longueur et de caractère.
il faut privilégier le 23 ans pour se faire vraiment plaisir.

Posted about 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

It does what it can do, but It just wont ever be "up there". I like the older brother for beeing different than many other rums, even though its still not up there. But this is something funny in between.
Nose: Vanilla, Dried fruit (maybe figns?)
Taste. Too much alcohol for my liking, yet some caramel and sweetness after.
Aftertaste: Short and semi-dry.

All in all drinkable, but wont be a rebuy on my account. Would imagine this would be really good in drinks though. But my ratings are as always, as a sipper.

Posted about 5 years ago by Qban aficionado from Canada with 9 ratings

I know the solera system but this solera 15 did not meet any of my expectations when looking for a sipping rum. Its thin and leaves a strong alcohol flavor (the harshness is well received on average by Cubans but is not my thing). I suppose this matusalem will be good for mixing but for the price ~44CAD in Ontario, Canada is not worth for such purpose. Next!...

Posted about 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Agree with most reviewers on this site. Drinkable but in middle of the pack.

Posted about 5 years ago by laurent from France with 14 ratings

bon rhum mais dans la même gamme de prix lui préférer l'abuelo 12 ans qui est vraiment meilleur

Posted about 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Recommended for everyday siping. Possible to have it for better price, than similar rums. Nice, but nothing special.

Posted about 5 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

J'ai offert (puis goûté!) cette bouteille il y a 2 ans.
Ce rhum est agréable à boire mais ses arômes manquent d'ampleur pour un 15 ans.
Pas un incontournable.

Posted about 5 years ago by Henrik Krogh from Denmark with 26 ratings

Lidt for kedelig og klart overvurderet rom. Prisen er for høj til smagen.

Posted about 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

For a 15yo, the price is very reasonable. Too reasonable. Too commercial.

Posted about 5 years ago by Prter Dreier from Denmark with 18 ratings

A rum that lacks the flavours to make up for the strong alcohol-taste.

I don't think it is good with cola either.

Posted about 5 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

En klar favorit! Komplex lukt och smak, kryddig likaså.
Dessutom en trevlig flaska

Posted about 5 years ago by rexet from France with 24 ratings

Je reproche à ce rhum d'être un peu trop "plat", ça manque un peu de caractère, de complexité. Je suis obligé de bien me concentrer pour détecter les arômes et saveurs de ce rhum. Il est bon mais ne m'a pas marqué plus que ça et risque de finir en cocktail. Une fois la bouteille terminé je n'en rachèterai pas je pense.

Posted about 5 years ago by pearl from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

another big dispointment from december. expected much more. Very thin taste, that reminded me of plantation 5. Not a rum to remember and to try it again - you can find much more better rums for this value.
51/100

Posted about 5 years ago by Jens E Buur from Denmark with 11 ratings

Tastet it first time in the factory Santiago de Cuba. and added to my collection A good spicy rum vith a long taste

Posted about 5 years ago by cedrichuchette from France with 2 ratings

I bought this rhum mainly because after a trip to cuba it became a mystic rhum which they spoke a lot about there.unfortunately all of them where fake. So i'm a bit disappointed although it's nice to sip it it doesn't have much complexity in taste and smell

Posted over 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

I'm a little bit delusion about this rum. Nothing to special, is tannic with no character.

Posted over 5 years ago by Marax from Netherlands with 41 ratings

my first taste to matusalems, like it..