Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


529 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3f7c434aa73b0f3e3634f7bbeb79deb0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Can't really put my finger on it, but it's not to my liking.

F8a9726912ee66d032eff9be774fd71d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Luka from Croatia with 16 ratings

Firstly it is not expensive.

The color is a little blend and a lot of rum reviewers will say as is the taste, but not for me.

The smell is cognacy complex and very gentle. I drank it neat and it was super complex, smooth jet gentle. It is at the same time woody, fruity and dry but in a very gentle pleasant way. Try not to sip at least 5 glasses in a row, I could not stop. I think I could drink the whole bottle in one sitting. I would also recommend to keep it in a fridge so when you drink it’s already cold.

Now, rocks and mixing is a big no no on this one. It loses all its gentle complexity.

8b743d8e231b54b0ecd07f46b18a9f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Na tomhle jsem zacinal. Urcite zajimava vec za ty penize,ale rumova lahudka to neni. Da se z nej dobre michat.

05bfee6062577bac2283c84f0529f122.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

I got this rum as a birthday gift and I must say I like it more than expected. It is not as powerful and full of flavours as a cuban, but neither as simple and smooth as a domincan quality rum. It's a like something between a Santiago 11 or Cubay 10 and a Barcelo Imperial. Ok for sipping, and very good in Cuba Libre. But the price is maybe a bit high for what it offers. Anyway, I would drink it again and again with pleasure.

9dade50df865bae22eccb8b23ecb2842.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Justin Wheeler from United States with 1 rating

Good sipperrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

46b225d2af04c919aa49bebd9ea48b39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by David Dechene from Canada with 5 ratings

I prefer Demerara rums, but this is a great “Cuban style” rum that I will definitely buy again when the LCBO stocks it again.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

It’s a lovely smooth sipper, over a nice big ice cube.

04016fd9d8fc7e6efcd8510a82180363.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Nicola from Italy with 15 ratings

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15 is a piece of my personal collection.
I prefer to drink this rum mixed in a cocktail.

Ca51c9ca211e7d3f09f62ac2589fbfa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

After the first tasting you want to raise a pirate flag, shout Hooray! and go to the ocean to plunder the trading ships. With those words I rate the strength of this rum. In aroma and taste is very strong to aggressive, although it tastes quite sweet. Probably in the future it will not be my favorite, but it's not quite bad. He will surely find his fans, and he has a pretty nice bottle.

338cb8eceb0053308dbefde3845d68fa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Actually I kind a like this rum. The truth is it has a bit of ethanol taste but it is definitely not tasteless. Six and half would be adequate...

Ee16bb421fcc7f60ca214ec514c0259d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

This was my second rhum label what I ever tasted. So kind of second love for me. Still when I see this I'll have to take it! <3