Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


526 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

It's not overwhelmingly sweet. I see what others are talking about with the ethanol taste but it is not overwhelming, either. It has a unique aftertaste - vanilla? - but it's long after the booze leaves your tongue. Would buy if it was on sale, probably wouldn't pay full price for a bottle.

Posted over 4 years ago by Brian Spange from Denmark with 3 ratings

God rom og ret sød. Ikke den store smag men stadig god.

Posted over 4 years ago by -Kars- from Italy with 9 ratings

Per un 15 anni di invecchiamento mi aspettavo di più. Buono ma non riesco a trovare una nota decisa. Non troppo dolce, alla fine piacevole ma non sento nessuna nota persistente in bocca. Non è troppo costoso ma a questo prezzo si trova anche di meglio. Buono accompagnato da cioccolato.

Posted over 4 years ago by Christophe from France with 10 ratings

A quality rum but too much vanilla aroma and taste... Smells vanilla, Tastes vanilla... which overtake every other sensation... But a good choice if you like that type of drink, for a reasonnable price.

Posted over 4 years ago by europoint from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Poprvé jsem tento rum ochutnal před několika lety v jedné restauraci, kdy mi docela chutnal, dnes v jiné na zkoušku znovu. Ostřejší, pronikavější vůně po alkoholu bez náznaků čehokoliv idenitifikovatelného. Chuť příjemná, stejně jako vůně ostřejší, ale těžko spojitelná s něčím známým. Za mně cena neodpovídá kvalitě, respektivě cena je vyšší než chuťová kvalita.

Posted over 4 years ago by Antti Setälä from Finland with 7 ratings

Taste is straight up very ethanolly and thin. Tried adding a few drops of water which cut down the ethanol but made the drink overwhelmingly sweet. Sadly no other tastes to be enjoyed of. Maybe as a mixer but seems as a waste if used so.

Posted over 4 years ago by Volter from Estonia with 7 ratings

MATUSALEM GRAN RESERVA 15Y... tõesti on tunda et seda rummi on hoitud liiga pikalt tammevaadis ja liigne viskiņe maitse on võtnud võimust... aga jäägu igale maitsejale oma arvamus. Hind oli vist 30 euro alla

Posted over 4 years ago by Stefano from Italy with 12 ratings

Matusalem 15 solera is a good rum, particolar, smooth.

Posted over 4 years ago by Hornet from Germany with 18 ratings

...especially for hot drinks like grog or coffee!!

Posted over 4 years ago by DrMajki from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Jantarová barva. Rum lehce výraznější alkoholického chuti,ale vyvazeny

Posted over 4 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

I very disappointed with this rum. 15 years old and without any character.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The saying goes "don't judge a book by its cover". I shouldn't judge a rum by its bottle. It is a cool label and the bottle is nice but the rum is simply average and has a rather unpleasant "bite" to it when sipping it straight. It does work well in Coke Zero and I expect it works well as a mixer, too. That's why I didn't give it a lower score. If it's the only one available then it wouldn't hurt getting it but there are so much better rums out there.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonas from Denmark with 20 ratings

Denne rom kan jeg ikke anbefale at drikke ren. Men det er fin i en dark'n stormy

Posted over 4 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

Given the score this thing has my expectations were quite low however I didn't think it to be to bad especially for the price point. Don't get me wrong I wouldn't buy a bottle of it or even think about trying it's 23 year brother on the back of this one however compared to Santa Teresa 1796 or Pampero Aniversario which people rate a fair bit higher I'm struggling to see why people love them more than this

Posted over 4 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Je m'attendais à plus fin et goûteux pour un 15 ans, ce n'est pas un mauvais ron, mais on en attend un peu plus tout de même pour le siroter seul. Très classique et basique. Devrait faire des merveilles en cocktails.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

There's nothing fancy about this rum. I enjoy it but don't love it

Posted over 4 years ago by MartinH from Slovakia with 10 ratings

dont like the taste, very woody, thin, without sweetness, dont buy again

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Der Rum hat einen starken Alkohol-Geschmack und ist sobald man ihn auf der Zunge hat auch schon schon wieder weg. Sehr dünn und ohne Charakter.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andrea D'DeRum from Italy with 10 ratings

Qui il Matusalem inizia a prendere corpo.
Fratello maggiore del Matusalem 7 Year, si presenta più maturo e complesso.
Dolce ma, non troppo.
Sapore di caramello.
Vaniglia.
Legno invecchiato nel finale.
Con una bella ossigenazione, si esalta il caramello e compaiono sapori fruttati tropicali.
Particolare, molto buono da abbinare a cioccolato al latte.
Rum da assaporare durante le giornate di pioggia e freddo per coccolarsi.

Posted over 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

I would like to taste him one more time. But when I tried him, I didnt like it. Maybe I will get hand on it sometimes later and change my opinion.

Posted over 4 years ago by Joosef from Switzerland with 4 ratings

Alkoholgeschmack ist zu stark. Leichter Taste, für mich fast zu leicht, so dass der Alkohol zu stark zur Geltung kommt

Posted over 4 years ago by BIGBEN from France with 13 ratings

Pour moi, un des meilleurs rapport/qualité/prix !
Vraiment une réussite à ce prix là, j'adore ce Matusalem... je ne m'en lasse pas.

Posted over 4 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

Grei rom til å lage drinker av,men ikke noe å drikke rent

Posted over 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

Ein Rum bei dem das Preisleistungsverhältnis passt !

Posted over 4 years ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

Bestemt en go rom til prisen. Sød blød og afstemt.