Posting your rating...
Bundaberg Solera rum

Bundaberg Solera

Australia | Aged

8.5/10 (17 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
7
4

Rate Bundaberg Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Bundaberg Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Matt from Australia with 17 ratings

For All the gimmicky limited editions and well overpriced rums with little age or pedigree they have finally managed to make one good rum. I was very sceptical when finding out about the world drink awards they had won and purchased a 3 pack of their award winners directly. Containing one mdc, one small batch and the solera.
The first 2 would taste fine drowned in cola like every rum they have made to date but then there is the solera. I have multiple rums at twice the price that are nowhere near as good as this. At under 200 aud a bottle this is one to stock up on. A very UN Bundy kind of rum. A smooth sipper, expertly blended no doubt, sweet molasses, vanilla and Christmas pudding. Totally unexpected. A real credit to who ever blended this.
It's about as good as it gets. Around the same price as zacapa xo but this has the edge as far as 170 dollar soleras go. If I blind tasted this I would expect a much higher price.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Xpommy from Australia with 14 ratings

Don’t really like basic Bundaberg rums and apparently half the world doesn’t either but this surprised me . Nice sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Dwev (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 6 ratings

Perfect caramel color, vanilla and berry notes, smooooth and nothing like what I expected from “Bundy”

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Opened a bottle of Bundaberg Solera Master Distillers Edition with my Aussie friend who found it in tax free for $160. Very nice and sturdy box surrounds a rectangular thick bottle. Label is minimal and printed on the bottle. Color is dark golden indicating no added sugar. Very mild vanilla to the nose, much stronger wood to the nose. Toffee and fruitcake to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Extremely smooth to the palate with no burn at all. Add 2 points if you like your rums dry. Strong 8 in my books after well over 2,500 aged dark rums later.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tim from Australia with 4 ratings

Rich, bold, delicious. One of the finest rums that I've had the pleasure of sipping.

Notes of vanilla and butterscotch.

Normally I can't stand Bundaberg rums, but they have really knocked it out the ballpark with this one. Apparently I'm not the only one that thinks this as its recently won Best Dark Rum in the World at the 2017 World Drinks Awards in London

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 208 ratings

Tastes like a proper rum should..
It does have caramel added im sure but it goes nicely with the flavour profile , do not mix this , just sip neat or with one small icecube .. very , very nice.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Scott from Australia with 1 rating

The awards associated with this Rum are more than deserving.
Blended exceptionaly, It's Aged well with clear sweet Vanilla notes and a hint of fruity highlights.
I tried this both mixed with Cola and Neat.
Given the depth of flavours I would highly recommend drinking Neat or on the rocks to appreciate it's unadulterated taste.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 336 ratings

Aroma is sweet. Taste is molasses and honey tones. Could be a bit stronger tohave bigger an fuller body. Aftertaste is average with sweeter tones including maple syrup.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Very smooth with a great sweet aroma and some nice varied flavours. Can't believe Bundaberg made something this good! But, I'd expect more for $180. Finish not long or complex enough for a 9.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

I'd like to give this a 6.5 to be nice, but don't have option. This is the best rum to come out of Bundaberg but given the the availability of exceptional rums from other places, it just doesn't hit the mark. I've chosen to rate this the same as Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva and Angostura 1919. I'd pay $100 AUS for this just because it's Australian but no more considering other runs available in that price range. It needs more time on the wood to mellow. Quite honestly, I'm a unfortunately little disappointed.