Posting your rating...
Bundaberg Solera rum

Bundaberg Solera

Australia | Aged

8.5/10 (15 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
3

Rate Bundaberg Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Bundaberg Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rhei from Australia with 10 ratings

As good as any sipping rum I have tried and cheaper than many. Right now it is my number 1 drop. Smoooth. Honey, maybe vanilla. A soothing warmth. Deserves to be alongside any other top shelf rum. Distinctive square bottle without being ostentatious.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Matt from Australia with 17 ratings

For All the gimmicky limited editions and well overpriced rums with little age or pedigree they have finally managed to make one good rum. I was very sceptical when finding out about the world drink awards they had won and purchased a 3 pack of their award winners directly. Containing one mdc, one small batch and the solera.
The first 2 would taste fine drowned in cola like every rum they have made to date but then there is the solera. I have multiple rums at twice the price that are nowhere near as good as this. At under 200 aud a bottle this is one to stock up on. A very UN Bundy kind of rum. A smooth sipper, expertly blended no doubt, sweet molasses, vanilla and Christmas pudding. Totally unexpected. A real credit to who ever blended this.
It's about as good as it gets. Around the same price as zacapa xo but this has the edge as far as 170 dollar soleras go. If I blind tasted this I would expect a much higher price.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Opened a bottle of Bundaberg Solera Master Distillers Edition with my Aussie friend who found it in tax free for $160. Very nice and sturdy box surrounds a rectangular thick bottle. Label is minimal and printed on the bottle. Color is dark golden indicating no added sugar. Very mild vanilla to the nose, much stronger wood to the nose. Toffee and fruitcake to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Extremely smooth to the palate with no burn at all. Add 2 points if you like your rums dry. Strong 8 in my books after well over 2,500 aged dark rums later.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tim from Australia with 4 ratings

Rich, bold, delicious. One of the finest rums that I've had the pleasure of sipping.

Notes of vanilla and butterscotch.

Normally I can't stand Bundaberg rums, but they have really knocked it out the ballpark with this one. Apparently I'm not the only one that thinks this as its recently won Best Dark Rum in the World at the 2017 World Drinks Awards in London

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Xpommy from Australia with 14 ratings

Don’t really like basic Bundaberg rums and apparently half the world doesn’t either but this surprised me . Nice sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Dwev (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 6 ratings

Perfect caramel color, vanilla and berry notes, smooooth and nothing like what I expected from “Bundy”

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

Aroma is sweet. Taste is molasses and honey tones. Could be a bit stronger tohave bigger an fuller body. Aftertaste is average with sweeter tones including maple syrup.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Very smooth with a great sweet aroma and some nice varied flavours. Can't believe Bundaberg made something this good! But, I'd expect more for $180. Finish not long or complex enough for a 9.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

I'd like to give this a 6.5 to be nice, but don't have option. This is the best rum to come out of Bundaberg but given the the availability of exceptional rums from other places, it just doesn't hit the mark. I've chosen to rate this the same as Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva and Angostura 1919. I'd pay $100 AUS for this just because it's Australian but no more considering other runs available in that price range. It needs more time on the wood to mellow. Quite honestly, I'm a unfortunately little disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Mark from Australia with 6 ratings

Great to see this world-standard rum come out of Queensland - deep, rich, smooth nectar.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ross from Australia with 10 ratings

While I wouldn't agree with the numerous, howling 10/10 ratings listed, Bundaberg has absolutely placed a winner here.

A beautiful golden/amber colour (almost identical to Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva), the scent is sweet, with vanilla and caramel standing out and some smokey notes. The taste is fairly sweet, but not sickly, and there's a nice heat on the way down.

If, like me, Bundaberg rums are typically something you'd drown in mixers or hide in cocktails, you can rest assured that Solera is a worthwhile investment for sipping.

Certainly worth trying alongside Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva - which says a lot!