Posting your rating...
Bundaberg Solera rum

Bundaberg Solera

Australia | Aged

8.4/10
20 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
9
4

Rate Bundaberg Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

20 Bundaberg Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 424 ratings

Aroma is sweet. Taste is molasses and honey tones. Could be a bit stronger tohave bigger an fuller body. Aftertaste is average with sweeter tones including maple syrup.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 85 ratings

Very smooth with a great sweet aroma and some nice varied flavours. Can't believe Bundaberg made something this good! But, I'd expect more for $180. Finish not long or complex enough for a 9.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

I'd like to give this a 6.5 to be nice, but don't have option. This is the best rum to come out of Bundaberg but given the the availability of exceptional rums from other places, it just doesn't hit the mark. I've chosen to rate this the same as Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva and Angostura 1919. I'd pay $100 AUS for this just because it's Australian but no more considering other runs available in that price range. It needs more time on the wood to mellow. Quite honestly, I'm a unfortunately little disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark from Australia with 6 ratings

Great to see this world-standard rum come out of Queensland - deep, rich, smooth nectar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ross from Australia with 11 ratings

While I wouldn't agree with the numerous, howling 10/10 ratings listed, Bundaberg has absolutely placed a winner here.

A beautiful golden/amber colour (almost identical to Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva), the scent is sweet, with vanilla and caramel standing out and some smokey notes. The taste is fairly sweet, but not sickly, and there's a nice heat on the way down.

If, like me, Bundaberg rums are typically something you'd drown in mixers or hide in cocktails, you can rest assured that Solera is a worthwhile investment for sipping.

Certainly worth trying alongside Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva - which says a lot!

Small img 20200119 073948

Posted 2 years ago by Mark Halse (PREMIUM) from Australia with 34 ratings

Fantastic rum from Bundaberg, better than I expected and will be purchasing another soon

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Rhei from Australia with 10 ratings

As good as any sipping rum I have tried and cheaper than many. Right now it is my number 1 drop. Smoooth. Honey, maybe vanilla. A soothing warmth. Deserves to be alongside any other top shelf rum. Distinctive square bottle without being ostentatious.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rick from Netherlands with 21 ratings

Echt een overheerlijke rum, die je echt puur moet drinken. In de mix is echt heel zonde.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Steve Henman from Australia with 1 rating

All is forgiven! This is a truly outstanding rum. I went on a mission to find the best rums on the planet and who would have thought that a rum of this calibre was in Australia. Deserves the title of 2017 worlds best rum.

Small img 20210318 181935441

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from United States with 27 ratings

Normally, I wouldn't go anywhere near a Bundaberg rum as their 'every day' rums taste like turpentine to me. I took a gamble at duty free after reading the reviews and purchased a bottle of the solera Master distillers collection and am happy to say I am not disappointed, now why can't they make anything else that tastes like this!
I'll be picking up another bottle next time I fly even though it was $170 tax free. On par with my all time favourite 21yr old El dorado