Posting your rating...
Caroni 1994 23-Year rum

Rate Caroni 1994 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Caroni 1994 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Neville Midwood from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

I was able to try a generous sample of this at the Velier stand at London 2017 Rum Fest. It was memorable and complex and that single sample wasn't enough to do it justice.
I do remember petrol notes mixed with the fruits and a hint of bike grease that created something unlike anything else I tried that day (including another Caroni).
Sadly Velier hadn't released it in the UK at the time so I couldn't buy a bottle at the show. It did appear briefly on La Maison Du Whisky website and a few other european sites.
I assumed I'd missed my chance but it became available on a UK website and I ordered immediately. I will ask Santa to wrap it for me, and then looking forward to Boxing Day. Provisionally a 9.

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I tasted this Caroni 23 years right after the 21, to have a comparison. Many rum lovers have been able to taste this rum and the critics go in every direction. Either it is a superb rum, or they have been unable to understand this rum. Again, people have detested it more in relation to the price and the speculation made around Caroni & Vellier. So I tried to understand this rum knowing that some people took two days to taste and let open this rum !
A superb dark amber color pulling on the mahogany with gray green reflections. On the first nose there are notes of almonds and marzipan. The woodland is present with the classic notes of bitumen. There are also beautiful floral and fruity notes. It evolves continuously and takes a lot of time, it is very complex.

On the palate, it explodes ! Its glue on the palate, it's fat, it's beautiful. You will keep it in your mouth for the entire evening seeing all night! It remains in the mouth for a long time. we arrive on medicinal notes, aromatic herbs with always the almond well present. But there is a saturation of aromas. It is becoming increasingly difficult to understand the complexity of this rum. It is as if taste buds were in saturation.
I admit that I have not yet identified the aromatic structure of this rum but it is heavy. I do not give a 10 because I still have not gone back down to earth.

Posted about 1 month ago by django from Germany with 12 ratings

...aber definitiv nichts für mal zwischendurch am abend. dieser caroni braucht seine zeit im glas und vielleicht auch ein oder zwei tropfen wasser, soweit man etwas panschen mag.
er ist sehr komplex und doch angenehm.....aber leider gibt es auch noch ein paar bessere...

schade das die heavy variante so schwer zu bekommen ist und wenn, dann zu unwirklichen preisen

.

Posted 7 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Gentle warm aroma. First taste is warm, fruity, not much burning. After comes leather, wood and tannin. Aftertaste is longer, bitter with peach seed tones but not somehow special...

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Caroni 23y 1994-2017 while in London. Very nice packaging, bottle and label design. Deep amber color. Oak and cherries to your nose and palate. Typical whisky like burn at the end. If you are a whisky lover, you can easily add 3 points to the score.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bengt from Sweden with 7 ratings

Amazing taste. Like no other.
Between whisky and rum but it is rum !

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- A dark velvet, elegantly sweet with fine seasoned leather, bisquity yeasty milky note. Rounded up with rip mashed maraschino cherry. Savoury double boiled chicken essence, unusual in a very tasty way. (23/25)

P- Savoury, firm and solid bites of oak that unleashed the wild herb bitterness. Glad the big oak steal the shows in this one with the boiling sweet distillate echoing at the back. (23/25)

F- Long, raw mushroom, authentic and aggressive. Heavy phenol and spicy oak linger with velvet dark sweetness. (22/25)

Balanced:- An unusual oak beast. (23/25)

Weighted Rate:- 91pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted about 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Puhaaaa.... lige så dårlig som 12’eren....
Køb 15’eren.... den er super

Posted about 2 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Smakar som ingen annan typ av rom. Fudge och diesel. Mandel/marsipan i eftersmaken.

Posted about 2 years ago by fcpchampagne51 from France with 10 ratings

le nez est equilibrė éPicė on y revient sans cesse si complexe
la bouche est epicee tres changeante d.une complexite incroyable la longueur en bouche inegalėe ++++

Posted about 2 years ago by Dino from Germany with 43 ratings

This is a hard to describe rum. Wood and petrol are fighting each other, you definitely recognize the typical Caroni aromas of oil and also some glue. Some bitterness comes up and disappears (maybe too long in the cask as someone mentioned before?), a hidden sweetness accompanies the whole scenario until it fades away and leaves you with a wish to start all over again. Not for beginners, not the best Caroni ever but still one of a kind! If it just wasn't that expensive...

Posted over 2 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Das hier ist ein schwieriger Caroni,zugegeben, einem Kirsch Caroni kann er das Wasser nicht reichen,aber mit rund 250 Flaschen ist der Kirsch eh so gut wie nicht zu bekommen und extremste Oberliga,sozusagen der Bugatti Veyron.
Das Problem dass er oft,anfänglich auch von mir,schlecht bewertet wird liegt darin dass er ungewöhnlich lange atmen mus um seine wunderbaren Caroni typischen Aromen zu entfalten und die Schärfe zu verlieren. Eine halbe Stunde mindestens,eher mehr sollte er sich entfalten bevor man ihn geniesst.
Dann ist es ein ganz toller Caroni,aber ganz klar Nix für Anfänger

Posted over 2 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

On est en plein dans les senteurs empyreumatique (réglisse, grillé) mais pas que…c’est aussi gourmand grâce à des notes de beurre et caramel, mais aussi un petit quelque chose de fruité (banane ?). Vraiment un super nez qui fait saliver.
La bouche attaque sur du vernis et énormément de bois, puis s’installent des fruits (cerise, myrtille) mais il y a une amertume boisée qui gâche un peu le plaisir.
La finale reste dominée par le boisé et les hydrocarbures.
Quel dommage que les saveurs en bouche ne soient pas à la hauteur de celles du nez…

Posted over 2 years ago by Quin from Germany with 25 ratings

Caroni ist (zumindest noch) nicht so ganz mein Fall. Die Aromen liegen mir bisher nicht. Dieser 23jährige war allerdings der leckerste von meinen bisher verkosteten Caronis. (17, 21, 23)

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

As the other Caronis, with hints of petroleum, but much less than the 21 yrs.