Posting your rating...
Caroni 21-Year rum

Rate Caroni 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Caroni 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Jetzt versteh ich aber gar nix mehr. Wie kann man diesen Top Caroni so schlecht bewerten?
Klar ein Kirsch oder Blackadder ist noch etwas besser,aber der 21er spielt schon in der Caroni Oberliga.
Für mich noch einen Tick besser als der 17 jährige aus der Serie.
Daher gebe ich jetzt 10 Punkte,klar ,Das ist hoch ,ein Kirsch müsste dann 11 oder gar 12 Punkte haben ,aber a) gibt es kaum Welche und b) kennt ihn daher auch kaum Jemand.
Der 21er ist im Moment noch problemlos zu haben und der Preis ist mit 220 Euro in Ordnung.
In ein paar Jahren wird es solche Caronis nicht mehr geben und über 220 Euro wird man lachen

Posted almost 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful mahogany color. On the nose, there are very fruity notes with very light aroma of classic caroni bitumen. After a while, empyreumatic notes of smoke and tobacco arrive. There are also wax notes of old oak furniture and also leather. In the mouth, the oak, wax, bitumen are always present with a beautiful complexity in the fruity aromas. A very nice final super long. A very nice rum, superior to the 17 years but it requires a very long aeration.

Posted 28 days ago by django from Germany with 12 ratings

...with a full proof abv
find some sweet fruits and a little bit oil in the nose and it smell good but hope to find some like the 30th version from velier

normally i would give this rum 8.5 points, but it is not possible

Posted 7 months ago by laurent from France with 40 ratings

More or less the same style as the 15y blend, which means less petrol-y and phenolic than some other Caronis. But if it is not an extreme one the balance is just perfect in this bottle. A great rum with all the complexity you are expecting for. The wood is of course very present but not so much after 21 years, after all. Only the pricetag was a joke, but just the sad consequence of years of stupid speculation on the previous Caroni bottles.

Posted about 1 year ago by GA34 from France with 13 ratings

Une puissance et complexité qui s'affine avec le temps d'aération. un passe par tellement d’arômes en prenant son temps (30min)

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Caroni 21y after I got back home from London. Deep mahogany color. Old school bottle and label design. Surprisingly dry and woody and super fruity notes mixed with oak. Very strong burn at the end. Expensive gimmick rum to me.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bengt from Sweden with 7 ratings

Amazing taste. Like no other.
Between whisky and rum but it is rum !

Posted about 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Lidt for stærk til mig... men helt klar i familie med den fantastiske 15’er Dog mere potent....

Posted over 2 years ago by Cameron from Australia with 19 ratings

Wow - this gear has more grunt than a truck load of pigs! Not for everyone - High on alcohol and it does have some bite - But a great piece of Trinidad`s rum history that once gone is gone forever. I got one bottle to drink and one to collect, along with the 17 yo and the 15 yo. I personally enjoyed this a lot but my wife does not agree! :)

Posted over 2 years ago by Quin from Germany with 25 ratings

Eigentlich ein Rum wie man ihn sich wünscht. Zumindest bisher kann ich mit den Caroni-Aromen aber nicht viel anfangen. Bei diesem hier war es besonders "schlimm".

Posted over 2 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Au nez on retrouve forcement les hydrocarbures propres aux Caroni mais dans une juste mesure, ça n’emporte pas tout sur son passage et une place est laissée à la vanille.
En bouche la térébenthine est plus présente mais est mêlée à un boisé et une touche floral qui rafraichie le tout.
C’est plus fruité sur la finale avec l’arrivé de saveurs de prune, pruneau et anis.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

Heavy, rich and complex, but with a disgusting taste of petrol

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim East from Netherlands with 7 ratings

High on alcohol, very strong bite which goes straight through the nose. Killed my tongue and i couldnt taste more. Definitely not my thing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Harald from Germany with 37 ratings

Caroni 1996
Velier
Distilled: 1996
Bottled: 2017
Aged 21 Years
57,18%

Country of origin: Trinidad
Raw Material: Molasses

Color: Mahogany

Nose:
Powerful and dry. Smells like in a lumber mill, being smoky and tarry. Furthermore there are notes of chewing tobacco, leather, licorice, roast lamb, almond biscuit and fruitcake.

Taste:
Powerful and bold, complex and very spicy. Notes of chestnuts, almond biscuits, roasted almonds and tons of licorice. Furthermore I taste chewing tobacco and espresso.

Finish:
Medium long, dry and spicy with notes of old wood and tobacco.




#