Posting your rating...
Caroni 21-Year rum

Caroni 21-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

7.9/10
21 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
2
12
2

Rate Caroni 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

21 Caroni 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Harald from Germany with 37 ratings

Caroni 1996
Velier
Distilled: 1996
Bottled: 2017
Aged 21 Years
57,18%

Country of origin: Trinidad
Raw Material: Molasses

Color: Mahogany

Nose:
Powerful and dry. Smells like in a lumber mill, being smoky and tarry. Furthermore there are notes of chewing tobacco, leather, licorice, roast lamb, almond biscuit and fruitcake.

Taste:
Powerful and bold, complex and very spicy. Notes of chestnuts, almond biscuits, roasted almonds and tons of licorice. Furthermore I taste chewing tobacco and espresso.

Finish:
Medium long, dry and spicy with notes of old wood and tobacco.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 70 ratings

Jetzt versteh ich aber gar nix mehr. Wie kann man diesen Top Caroni so schlecht bewerten?
Klar ein Kirsch oder Blackadder ist noch etwas besser,aber der 21er spielt schon in der Caroni Oberliga.
Für mich noch einen Tick besser als der 17 jährige aus der Serie.
Daher gebe ich jetzt 10 Punkte,klar ,Das ist hoch ,ein Kirsch müsste dann 11 oder gar 12 Punkte haben ,aber a) gibt es kaum Welche und b) kennt ihn daher auch kaum Jemand.
Der 21er ist im Moment noch problemlos zu haben und der Preis ist mit 220 Euro in Ordnung.
In ein paar Jahren wird es solche Caronis nicht mehr geben und über 220 Euro wird man lachen

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Rei from Germany with 111 ratings

In the aroma of this rum (which matured for 21 years and is 100 Proof) you will find notes of tar, rubber, leather, smoke and oak together with the sweetness of molasses and caramel. The rum is very intense and complex on the palate either. Notes of dried fruit, eucalyptus, tar and raisins join oak. The finish is strong, long and slightly bitter.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 7 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 152 ratings

I’m surprised, I did not expect this sweetness from a Caroni?? It is actually mild and easy sipper, still it’s 57 abv ?? Amazing. No doubt my new Caroni favorit. All the classic notes are there, but it is so well balanced. Recommended !

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful mahogany color. On the nose, there are very fruity notes with very light aroma of classic caroni bitumen. After a while, empyreumatic notes of smoke and tobacco arrive. There are also wax notes of old oak furniture and also leather. In the mouth, the oak, wax, bitumen are always present with a beautiful complexity in the fruity aromas. A very nice final super long. A very nice rum, superior to the 17 years but it requires a very long aeration.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 348 ratings

Today I have an 21y old Caroni from Luka. It's not rare yet but maybe one day.

Wonderful dirty and fruity nose. The balance is very good with leather, tar, black currant and oak. It's smooth, not like 57 abv.
The taste is as balanced as the nose. In the initial taste are all the pretty Caroni flavors like leather, tar and black currant. The middle taste continues with tanins, medicine, firmint and dark fruits. In the end I get leather and dark fruits again.
The start of the finish is again with tannins instead of spice. After that I get all the beautiful and dirty aromas again.
It tastes old, but also smooth, very balanced and intensive. It's a very beautiful Caroni and represents the Velier bottlings in a very gently way. Would rate it with 92 points.

Nose: leather, tar, firmint, black currant, plum, oak, barrel
Taste initial: leather, tar, black currant, tanins, wood
Middle: medicine, firmint, leather, dry fruits, dark fruits
Finish: tanins, leather, tar, dark fruits
Aftertaste: leather, black currant, dry fruit

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (280€): 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

Had this at a bar off of the suggestion from the owner. I originally wanted Kirk and Sweeny but he was out of it. This was not good at all. Ordered beat, and felt the burn immediately. Went back after about 5 minutes and it was still the same. Added a few drops of water which made it worse. After about 30 minutes all I could taste were leather and ink notes. Had to chug the remaining and order Zacapa 23 to get the flavors out of my mouth. Not worth the cost this time around.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

Heavy, rich and complex, but with a disgusting taste of petrol

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tim East from Netherlands with 7 ratings

High on alcohol, very strong bite which goes straight through the nose. Killed my tongue and i couldnt taste more. Definitely not my thing.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Zubung from Korea, Republic of with 3 ratings

starts with characteristic petroleum then goes burnt wood, molasses, bourbonic vanilla, ...
The texture, sweet and purified(?) ester, long and deep finish is just awesome.
Very Caroni tasty rum but the price is ...

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by koomander from Singapore with 17 ratings

This is one of the best of this series. I can see myself drinking this.