Posting your rating...
Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK rum

Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK

Italy | Overproof

8.0/10 (21 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
5
9
2

Rate Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 45 ratings

67% is really strong, especially on the nose. My personal advice is to let it rest a bit, then go at it slowly, giving your mouth some time. Strong molasses in the end, coffee and tobacco and exotic fruit.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 17 ratings

Heavy rum for the more experienced rumlover. Taste of benzine, leather and dark chocolat. With almost 70 degrees its one of the havier rums in the world. Enjoy and drink with caution.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful golden color going towards bronze. On the nose, this rum delivers notes of exotic fruits like ananas, the ripe banana typical of Jamaica. It is very floral, vegetal, very elegant. I also detect Sarawak pepper. On the palate, it is very floral, always on the exotic fruits going towards the spices. The final is on the banana. Very beautiful Hampden. But my favorite is the HLCF

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

The first sip burns a bit but it smoothens in the end.
Oak, molasses spice, cinamon, smoke, funk, floral, exotic fruits, dark berries, wood, sugarcane... Almost everything I like in a rum! :)

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 34 ratings

This is a serious expression of what Jamaican rum is all about. Sweet, not so smooth, with a double Hongo kick to your saggy ass. To me, It’s a bit much,all alone in your mouth.... but I’ve made some incredible drinks using this as a backbone. Strong funk, long legs and a aftertaste that carries on. Unique for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by laurent from France with 42 ratings

At 67° it is maybe not intended to be sipped straigh... with some drops of water it reveals all the usual Hampden flavours = ananas, olive, dry wood, earth... Not as extreme and maybe not as excellent as the HLCF of the same bottlings but still very good. If you like this style only.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Good stuff, this one. Powerful as a Hampden ever is, but - somehow more civilized high-ester stuff. The age has taken off the biggest jolt of the esters, and left us with a fine, funky Jamaican rum. Voila!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by HCL from Sweden with 3 ratings

Habitation Velier, the brand that doesn't insult your intelligence. An example how rum should be presented for consumers.

Notes: Glue. And surprisingly aged agricole Martinique style.

Not so delicious as expected. Also not so intense aroma as expected. Not my favorite Jamaican rum. But still interesting. An educational comparison with its unaged brother LROK white.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

One of the Velier limited editions - carefully crafted and well presented.
Nice card board box with plenty of info on the rum.
Medicinal-style brown bottle typical of this series, screw cap.
Gold colour, looks like no colouring added.
In the glass not as funky as I expected. Definitely more esters and aromas of over ripe fruit compared with Appleton, but not as in your face as the green label Hampden estate rum itself.
In the mouth the complex aromas of ripe and dried fruit are overwhelmed by the 62% alcohol.
Aromas don't linger on account of this.
Dry rum, Sweetness 1/5.
Strong burn.

In summary - undoubtedly top quality, but I was disappointed by the flavours being drowned out by the alcohol content. However admittedly I'm not a great fan of cask strength rums. It probably does better with a drop of water.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Hampden 6y 2010 Edition Habitation Velier with my friend during a vacation. Unique bottle and label design. Light golden color. Jamaican funk mixed with plenty of oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Long and dry burn at the end. Funk rum lovers can easily add 2 points to my score.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Durbs from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Strong, distinct nose - almost petrol like, and carries a heft punch too at 67%.

You can add a dash of water to create a smoother, but still very pungent classic Jamaican sipper, or just keep as is and treat with respect.

The strength of flavour also makes it a winner in cocktails as it never gets lost - Corn 'n Oil is particular is amazing.

Certainly not for everyone, but if you like Appletons or Smith & Cross, this is worth seeking out.