Posting your rating...
Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK rum

Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK

Italy | Overproof

8.1/10(23 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
6
10
2

Rate Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

23 Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by AndReginald from Italy with 48 ratings

67% is really strong, especially on the nose. My personal advice is to let it rest a bit, then go at it slowly, giving your mouth some time. Strong molasses in the end, coffee and tobacco and exotic fruit.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful golden color going towards bronze. On the nose, this rum delivers notes of exotic fruits like ananas, the ripe banana typical of Jamaica. It is very floral, vegetal, very elegant. I also detect Sarawak pepper. On the palate, it is very floral, always on the exotic fruits going towards the spices. The final is on the banana. Very beautiful Hampden. But my favorite is the HLCF

Small e209bc5e 5a5b 4380 87d3 5431d22d229d

Posted 5 months ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 23 ratings

Heavy rum for the more experienced rumlover. Taste of benzine, leather and dark chocolat. With almost 70 degrees its one of the havier rums in the world. Enjoy and drink with caution.

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 2 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 41 ratings

Funky hobo flavor for days, citrus fruit, grassy, very Unique

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 293 ratings

Today I have a 6y old LROK in the glas. I already tasted LFCH, HGML, C<>H, <>H and some DOKs.
I'm curious what LROK can offer.

The nose is strong with a bite. I get the pineapples from the high ester smell first. The nose is fruity and also sour. A typical Hampden nose. After some time in the glas the apples are rising.
Around the fruits is also some solvent, some oak and grasy notes with fresh bananas.

The taste starts with pineapple and glue, then I get a bitter note from tannins. It's like a typical high ester Hampden. Then the taste turns very sour, acid is rising on the palet with some solvent.
In the middle the taste became more saturated, I get honey, again the acid with solvent, then papaya and apples.
The finish starts with spice and pineapple, not I get hints of white oak and some grasy notes. Not much malt in the aftertaste, because the esters are more present.
The aftertaste is with pineapples, apples and malt. Thats tasty.

Overall a good high ester Hampden. I would prefer more malt in the taste and less acid. Therefore 87 points.

Nose: acid, apples ***, pineapple**, white oak, some glue or solvent, banana**, grasy note, papaya*
Taste: pineapple, glue, some tannins, acid, acid, acid, solvent
Middle: honey, acid, solvent, papaya, apples
Finish: spice, pineapple, white oak, grasy note
Aftertaste: pineapple, apple, some malt

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 4.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (110€): 3.5/5
Experience level: expert

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

The first sip burns a bit but it smoothens in the end.
Oak, molasses spice, cinamon, smoke, funk, floral, exotic fruits, dark berries, wood, sugarcane... Almost everything I like in a rum! :)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 41 ratings

This is a serious expression of what Jamaican rum is all about. Sweet, not so smooth, with a double Hongo kick to your saggy ass. To me, It’s a bit much,all alone in your mouth.... but I’ve made some incredible drinks using this as a backbone. Strong funk, long legs and a aftertaste that carries on. Unique for sure.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by laurent from France with 50 ratings

At 67° it is maybe not intended to be sipped straigh... with some drops of water it reveals all the usual Hampden flavours = ananas, olive, dry wood, earth... Not as extreme and maybe not as excellent as the HLCF of the same bottlings but still very good. If you like this style only.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Good stuff, this one. Powerful as a Hampden ever is, but - somehow more civilized high-ester stuff. The age has taken off the biggest jolt of the esters, and left us with a fine, funky Jamaican rum. Voila!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by HCL from Sweden with 3 ratings

Habitation Velier, the brand that doesn't insult your intelligence. An example how rum should be presented for consumers.

Notes: Glue. And surprisingly aged agricole Martinique style.

Not so delicious as expected. Also not so intense aroma as expected. Not my favorite Jamaican rum. But still interesting. An educational comparison with its unaged brother LROK white.

Small 20210106 185826

Posted over 1 year ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

One of the Velier limited editions - carefully crafted and well presented.
Nice card board box with plenty of info on the rum.
Medicinal-style brown bottle typical of this series, screw cap.
Gold colour, looks like no colouring added.
In the glass not as funky as I expected. Definitely more esters and aromas of over ripe fruit compared with Appleton, but not as in your face as the green label Hampden estate rum itself.
In the mouth the complex aromas of ripe and dried fruit are overwhelmed by the 62% alcohol.
Aromas don't linger on account of this.
Dry rum, Sweetness 1/5.
Strong burn.

In summary - undoubtedly top quality, but I was disappointed by the flavours being drowned out by the alcohol content. However admittedly I'm not a great fan of cask strength rums. It probably does better with a drop of water.