Posting your rating...
Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva Rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

7.4/10
60 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
24
23
4
2

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

60 Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by frohikey from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Nice one for sipping especially on rocks. It's not perfect but I appreciate it is an overall nice experience - not lacking in any of the rum aspects. And it kinda grows on me so I may rank it even higher later.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 8 gpl. I had my doubts but they went away once this was in the glass. A very nice aroma of butterscotch, vanilla, and a hint of coconut and raisins. Oak is in the background aroma as well as the taste. Very smooth with a nice finish. Not harsh at all but just the right amount of heat. Nice sipping rum. I wouldn't mix this as I don't like too sweet a drink, but if you wanted to it would be a great drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Someone handed me a nip of this one the other day, thinking it was going to be something quite special. I wasn't thrown back by it, just a good standard rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rhum Man from United States with 8 ratings

I tasted this Matusalem and found it to be a textbook example of Cuban ron. I was very impressed with both the nose and lack of alcohol burn. The absence of alcohol burn was achieved without being sweet. Although not able to at the time, I imagine the Matusalem would go well with a Cuban cigar.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 76 ratings

Aye, as sippin' rums go, this one be fairly decent. She not be a true 18 year-old tho. Trust the Captain on that [wink] She smells sweet with vanilla, caramel, oak, peppery spices, and just a hint of tobacco. As taste goes, she be a bit drier, not as sweet. The vanilla is still on board, but not so much for the caramel. There be a slight earthy bitterness about her, along with the peppery spices, oak, and a wee bit of tobacco from before. Still, she be fairly smooth and tasty with very little burn goin' down the hatch. Not terribly sweet, not terribly complex, not terribly honest about her age, but she still be a decent rum! arrrgh!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 304 ratings

Poured a little of this in my snifter and immediately noted a nice subtle vanilla scent. Very nice legs indicative by the rum clinging to the sides of the snifter after a good swirl. The color is a rich amber. The flavor supports the vanilla aroma and also has a pepperiness to it and a noticeable oakiness which I presume come from the barrels in which it is aged. It does have some sweetness to it that seems to be natural and not sugared (but that's just my opinion). Definitely a nice sipping rum which also could be effective as a mixer. This is a good, all-purpose rum but I think it is better suited for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 228 ratings

Love this rum just as much as the other in the Matsulem line. Smooth, refreshing, crisp, complex falcons for the nose and palate. Not a bad price considering what your buying...a high class rum from the DR.
Please drink this neat or add an ice cube to evoke other flavors.
I have to try the 23 next.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 482 ratings

Very similar to the Matusalem 15. Smells and tastes of oak, caramel, spice, with a touch of honey. The biggest difference is that the aftertaste isn't as harsh. Has a touch of sweetness, but still a bit on the dry side for my liking.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Elbert Bakker from Netherlands with 19 ratings

Smooth and gentle, sweet and powerful, for all occasions

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 102 ratings

Was given as a present to me. I did smell the vanilla and slight caramel on the nose. Tasted somewhat light to me, with a clean finish and not much burn. Not too complex but overall a nice sipping rum.

Small 20201224 130652

Posted 8 months ago by Traypark76 from Canada with 15 ratings

Good sipping rum , not too sweet decent price range