Posting your rating...
Lemon Hart Blackpool Spiced rum

Rate Lemon Hart Blackpool Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Lemon Hart Blackpool Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Maximilliano from United States with 5 ratings

Tried this new spiced rum recently and was pleasantly surprised. Honestly, this is probably one of the tastiest spiced rums you'll ever have. Very thick and rich with a mouthful of smoke and oak. Figs, black pepper and vanilla run through the notes and the finish is bold and lingering. The aroma is quite unique (smoky and pencil eraser-like) with back notes of leather, nutmeg, and ginger. Going down, pot still notes are prevalent, as is the slight twang of cardamom. Worked effortlessly with Coca-Cola and even better on the rocks. An extremely complex rum!

Posted 5 months ago by One808 (PREMIUM) from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is surprisingly good, especially considering the price. It needs to be aired a bit before drinking, but then it’s really good. Vanilla, caramel and spice galore. Definitely worth the money.

Posted 6 months ago by Jannino from United States with 23 ratings

Essence of fall on the nose with strong nutmeg. Vanilla forward with a sweet caramel after the vanilla and finishing with Allspice and a gentle warm heat. Overall very smooth. Drink on ice to break down the sugars.

Posted 9 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

This rum has been on my wish list for so long that I just forgot about it until I saw it on the bottom shelf of a favorite liquor store when I was in there to buy something else. It also included a glass Tiki tumbler turned upside down on the neck. One side was the classic smiling Tiki face and the other said " I (heart) Rum" with an anchor placed into the middle of the heart. Of course the rhyme at the bottom was for Lemon Hart. Spending $30 for this rum with a nice Tiki glass was a no brainer. This glass holds 14 ounces, which is even more than my largest hurricane glass.

I let it breathe for 10 minutes as advised from other reviewers. The aroma can only be described as "seductive and floral" and the taste matched it. Only a slight burn at 86 proof, but this rum sipped neat is not for wimps. Yes, it is adulterated, but all spiced rums are adulterated. As long as they are spiced similar to how great chefs use their secret methods to achieve perfection, then this is perfectly fine. Adding a few ice cubes as others have suggested only improves the flavors while removing the slight burn.

Since this was a close contest with my top rated spiced rum of Brinley Gold Shipwreck Spiced Rum, I had no choice except to open one of those bottles that I had been saving for leaner times. Comparing side by side, this Lemon Hart Blackpool Spiced Rum now easily takes the top spot among the 21 spiced rums that I have rated so far. And no, the free Tiki glass had no bearing upon my rating.

After note: If you are stupid enough to drink a half bottle of this stuff in one night, then you deserve all of the bad results the next day like I did. I blame it on the high nutmeg content.

Also, since I had to reclassify my Blackwell's Reserve from a Black Rum to a Spiced Rum, that one is now my new favorite spiced rum. However, people of my age should stay the hell away from any spiced rums because of the really bad surprises the next day..

Posted over 1 year ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

I have been a Lemon Hart fan for years, however I was not aware of the Blackpool Spiced Rum until recently.
Quite dark in the glass with good, long lasting legs.
Don't drink it right away. Let it sit in the glass for 5 or 10 minutes.
The aromas become both complex and intriguing.
The mouth feel is far more substantial than most.
The flavors move up and to the back of the mouth leaving a long, enjoyable after taste.
This is a truly complex and intriguing spiced rum. All the more enjoyable given the low price.

Posted over 2 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

I mixed it in a Dark and Stormy. If the aromas and flavors can stand up to the Ginger Beer they should shine in any mixed drink. The smell of this was enticing enough I may try a pour on ice. But really, I've got enough fine aged rums to sip.This brings the spice and vanilla I'm looking for in cocktails that need a good spiced rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I really like this spiced rum, and some other reviewers said this was even better than the Kraken. It's close. I find it better than the Kraken Black Label (35%), but I prefer the Kraken White Label (47%) to this. All three are very close in my opinion.

Smells and tastes of spice, vanilla, butterscotch, and cocoa. It's a very nice spiced rum!

Posted over 2 years ago by True2Rum from United States with 21 ratings

Sipped over 2" clear ice in rocks glass
86 proof, dark amber color
Nose - heavy. Cola and ripe banana
Palate linger - heavy. Multiple spice linger
Bite - none
LH Blackpool deserves a place on my rum shelf. After 5 minutes on ice, additional (unidentifiable by me) spice flavors emerged on palate. Definitely an adulterated rum, but in the best Guyana way.

Posted over 2 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Much better than expected. Drinkable on it's own, very nice with a splash of cola on ice. Reasonably priced. Much nicer than the standard Lemon Hart rums.

Posted 2 months ago by NobleEskimo from Canada with 11 ratings

A lot of different flavours going on that mix really well with one another. I enjoy it on it’s own, in mixed drinks, and even in specific cocktails.

Posted 3 months ago by Loud from Canada with 13 ratings

This is my go-to weeknight rum, or 2nd drink rum. It is really smooth and complex but doesn’t break the bank.

I frequently find myself comparing some of the more expensive runs to this and in my opinion, many come up short.

I love turning friends into this little hidden gem. Everyone I’ve shared it with so far has loved it.

Posted 4 months ago by nofa93 from Canada with 7 ratings

Incredible smell of toffee and superior to The Kraken in my opnion.

Posted 8 months ago by Olivier27 from Canada with 18 ratings

It reminds me the El Dorado 12 years which I gave an 8/10, but with a way too much present cheap vanilla flavour that completely ruins the taste for me. You must love vanilla to enjoy it. Much creamy than spicy. Really smooth though, not burning. It’s the only positive aspect of this rum.

Posted 11 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

Lemon Hart automatically gets a 10 for every one of their rums, they are all different and have different uses. This is no exception, it is amazing on the rocks, or try it in a rum punch with lime , a bit of honey syrup and Elemakule Tiki bitters, or in a Cuba Libre. Demerara rums are the best in my opinion and this is another great one.

Posted about 1 year ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Excellent rum, overall very tasty, good neat or as a mixer if you are looking for a high end cocktail. Very complex, crisp and tastes like rum. No hiding what it is, lots of potent ABV that is there but not overpowering. Nice mouth and finish with a prolonged amount of time to enjoy it after you send it to mingle with the other contents in your gut.

Posted over 1 year ago by Frank Zheimer from Canada with 4 ratings

Nez; miel, tabac, vanille, cannelle et même de barbe-à-papa. Bouche; épicé et très semblable au nez avec finale douce sucrée. Rien de sophistiqué mais un rhum très dangereux tant il est facile à boire. Sans modération... il vous enverra au tapis... prenez garde!

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

Very good demerara spiced rum. Vanilla comes through with that typical demerara flavour.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Lemon Hart Blackpool Spiced Rum bottle and label design looks dull. Deep brown color from artificial flavorings. Super strong glue and plenty of alcohol to the nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end, so better skip this one altogether.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Rhum foncé, très épicé, goût de cannelle prononcé. Comparable au Black spice captain Morgan mais en mieux.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Scotty from Canada with 3 ratings

My little sister put me onto this. Very nice full flavor spiced for a dark rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 54 ratings

I had hoped for more given the storied name, but no luck. Fair enough in a mix, fine with coke, happiest with ginger beer, but beyond that a let down of cloying vanilla syrup.




#