Posting your rating...
Matusalem Clasico 10-Year rum

Rate Matusalem Clasico 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


66 Matusalem Clasico 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Rum bol pomerne nevýrazný, bez nejakej dominujucej chuti. Chuť sa podobala na kapitána.

Posted about 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

I really liked the 15 but this one is not really close to it. Light colour , quite dry and sweetish , was okay to sip , bit of a burn , but like many middle of the road rums i thought it would make a good mixer... But not for me ! Don't know why but it just didn't gel for me , maybe it was my taste buds ? Will give it a second chance tonight...

Posted about 2 years ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Матусалем 10 классико -
Несколько приятней, чем матусалем 7.
Он жгуч, весьма, но и у него весьма выраженный вкус. В сравнении с матусалем 7 , у которого вкус менее выражен, но все так же жгуч, как и десятка.
За весь вечер дегустации не сумел уловить ничего особенного в этом напитке, говоря об это вкусе.
К слову запах, точно так же: несколько приятней чем матусалем 7, но все же при глубоком вдохе не очень приятно...
этот ром не для того что бы им наслаждаться и по истине смаковать его.
Я ставлю ему твёрдую 6, но не более.

Matusalem 7 : 5+
Matusalem 10 Classico : 6
Matusalem 15 : 7

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

Truly a high end drink for a discriminating rum connoisseur. A little high on the sweetness scale for me but it is a quality rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Dominující složkou je kůže, pak trocha vanilky a laku. Vůně je dost výrazná, to se mi líbí. (84 b)
Chuť: Příjemně nasládlý rum, vanilkový. Mísí se v něm jak jemnost, tak ostrost, která je znát zejména v dochuti. (82 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: V přímém souboji s kostarickým Centenario 9y Conmemorativo u mě vyhrál Matusalém díky lepší a výraznější vůni, v chuti byly oba rumy srovnatelné, s podobným chuťovým profilem.

Posted 11 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

I have tried this rum, but it is too harsh and strange for me in a negative way. Tried sipping it and tried to mix it but it dominates my mixed drink and ruins my Coca-Cola.

Posted 15 days ago by MerMama from United States with 21 ratings

I have tried to find a way to enjoy this rum, but it comes off as too harsh and funky (in a bad way). It is too pungent for sipping, and it dominates my mixed drinks in a bad way. I'm partial to caramel, vanilla and tobacco notes so I guess I will put this back on the shelf and try it again after a while to see if my palate has matured.

Posted about 2 months ago by Loud from Canada with 13 ratings

I’ve got a bit of a sweet tooth but I really like this rum. I couldn’t find it for awhile so I bought the 15 instead, which is smoother with similar flavours, but not the same. The 10 seems to have a touch more bite, but a lot more labour, and sweeter - like caramel. I dig it. To each their own!

Posted 3 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

While vacationing in Acapulco I picked up a bottle of Matusalem 10 yr, which is not available in my area. It was actually quite cheap (250 Mexican Pesos) and I didn’t expect much given the price. This rum is dry, as I expected’ but surprisingly to my liking. Certainly not a top of the line Rum but definitely acceptable even drank neat. Well done. (I wish this was available in my area)

Posted 5 months ago by Lorano from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Caramel geur en best wel lekker. Maar t kan beter.

Posted 6 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This is a run of the mill Spanish rum. Not sweet but nothing special about it

Posted 8 months ago by vkostrom from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Orange and vanilla aroma, taste is okay, almost no finish

Posted 9 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Lots of vanilla flavour. Good for a Cuba libre on a hot summer evening. To drink neat is oké but not great.

Posted 11 months ago by cjames from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

It's an average rum I would say. I buy it when I go to Mexico just because it's nice enough for the price. There is definitely better drums out there but not for the same price in my opinion.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ron Tyaon from United States with 12 ratings

Both their 10 and 15 year rums are very good, but I give the edge to the 10 year. Both are medium color and have vanilla and wood notes, but the 15 was a bit more acidic and the 10 was a bit more vanilla.

Posted about 1 year ago by luciekal from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Very nice smell and taste that is quite balanced. Would recommend.

Posted about 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

A bit too sweet for me, we enjoy Matusalem with cuban friends who look for it when we invite them to our home. It reminds them of the good old days in Miramar and Jacks in Havana 1950s

Posted about 1 year ago by iana from Canada with 11 ratings

Best rum for rum and coke! I enjoy with a lime wedge with this one

Posted over 1 year ago by René from Netherlands with 31 ratings

Classic dark, smooth rum. Best enjoyed neat or on the rocks.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

This 10 Year Solera rum from Matusalem is only $21 US, which is about $12 cheaper than their 15 Year Soloera Reserva. I have been a fan of that older brother for years and before I started writing reviews on here, I considered that 15 Year Reserva as a luxury rum. I still love it, but have found quite a few that I like even better.

This one is a very good dry rum distilled from the original Cuban formula. Like it's older brother, it can be sipped neat, on the rocks, or used as a fantastic mixer. There is absolutely nothing offensive about it and this one just makes me wanting to sip it neat because it is so pure.

Update April 14, 2019: I have had this one in my collection for almost 4 months and it still tastes the same because of no added sugar. That is the good news. The bad news is that this rum is so boring that I have no desire to go back to it even to be used as a mixer. I now drop my rating from a 7 to a 5, which means that I will never buy this one again, especially since their much better 15 year and 18 year are more easily available. No amount of mixer can tame this rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Trelony from Russian Federation with 32 ratings

I'm not fan of cuban-slyle rum but this one I like. It have not so much vanilla and caramel like Extra Anejo so it quite tasty. Right proof and a little bit oak. It is easy to drink neat so it's good rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

Hard to rate...room temperature to much of alcohol in taste...even cold....even on the rocks...still to strong alcohol fragrance...But on the end you can feel nice, sweet caramel.

Posted over 1 year ago by aztropic from United States with 16 ratings

A well rounded,well blended,smooth rum,as close to the Cuban style rums that you can buy in the U.S.A. without having to cross the border. Very drinkable on it's own.Has a slightly sweet taste with a light barrel char.I actually like it better than their 15 or 18 year expressions which are less sweet.

Posted about 2 years ago by Kordi from Latvia with 2 ratings

Good
Taste smooth
Nice color. Nice nice nice nice nice nice some text for 50 char

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a light yellow/golden colour to it along with a pleasant caramel smell. Sipping it is too harsh for my liking, although I do like the mild syrupy sweet aftertaste on my lips. Having just picked up a book on Rum (written by a whiskey guy), I went with his suggestion for drinking (some) Spanish Caribbean rums and tried it with a little clementine juice - wow - pretty good combo. I would rate this rum a 6.5, or higher if it had less of an alcohol smell and burn...